Gender Policy Code of Conduct

Guaranteeing equal opportunities for women and men is an important issue at the University of Zurich and the principle of establishing equality between the genders has been anchored in numerous legal and strategic documents. In 2006 the university administration resolved upon implementing the Gender Policy Code of Conduct. The code contains seven principles that set a signal for a practiced culture of equal opportunity. - The text runs as follows:

Core principle:

All staff and students at the University of Zurich should ensure that women and men have equal rights and development opportunities at the University. The Code of Conduct applies to all who work or study here. The University supports the promotion and implementation of genuine equality between women and men.

  1. The interests of both genders must be optimally served at all levels and in all functions. This includes equal representation as well as due consideration of any specific gender interests in all working contexts.
  2. The University aims to achieve a balanced representation of women and men at all levels and in all functions. If either gender is strongly underrepresented in a given context, the Code of Conduct recommends preferential treatment of candidates of the underrepresented gender, given equivalent qualifications. Promoting junior female academics is a particular concern.
  3. Nobody may suffer negative consequences due to their sex, gender identity or gender transition.
  4. The University supports forms of employment that enable staff and students to combine work or studies with family commitments. The University provides childcare facilities for staff and students.
  5. Each individual’s dignity and integrity must be respected. Sexual harassment and sexist behaviour are violations of human dignity.
  6. At the University, written and spoken language should express equal treatment of women and men while maintaining precision and elegance
  7. Data relevant to the achievement of equal opportunities are collected regularly, linked with the University’s management tools, and analysed with a view to monitoring progress as well as providing a basis for further measures. The Commission on Gender Equality and the Office for Gender Equality advise staff and students on all questions of gender policy.

Code of Conduct Gender Policy (PDF, 567 KB)

Verhaltenskodex Gender Policy

Die Chancengleichheit von Frauen und Männern ist der Universität Zürich ein wichtiges Anliegen, und der Grundsatz der Gleichstellung der Geschlechter ist in mehreren rechtlichen und strategischen Basisdokumenten verankert. 2006 beschloss die Universitätsleitung die Implementierung des Verhaltenskodex Gender Policy, der in sieben Grundsätzen ein Signal setzt für eine gelebte Kultur der Chancengleichheit. – Der Wortlaut:

Grundsatz:

Die Angehörigen der Universität Zürich setzen sich mit Entschlossenheit und Kreativität dafür ein, dass Frauen und Männer gleiche Rechte und gleiche Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten haben. Der folgende Verhaltenskodex gilt für alle, die an der Universität Zürich arbeiten oder studieren. Die Angehörigen der Universität Zürich werden von den leitenden Gremien der Universität Zürich darin unterstützt, die tatsächliche Gleichstellung von Frau und Mann zu fördern und zu praktizieren.

  1. Die Anliegen beider Geschlechter sind auf allen Stufen und in allen Funktionen optimal wahrzunehmen, sowohl durch personelle Vertretung als auch durch anderweitigen Einbezug der jeweiligen Interessen.
  2. Die Universität Zürich strebt eine ausgewogene Vertretung beider Geschlechter in allen universitären Funktionen und Gremien an. Wo ein Geschlecht stark untervertreten ist, wird bei gleicher Qualität grundsätzlich den Kandidierenden des jeweils untervertretenen Geschlechts der Vorzug gegeben. Der gezielten Förderung des weiblichen akademischen Nachwuchses wird besondere Beachtung geschenkt.
  3. Das Geschlecht bzw. die Geschlechtsidentität sowie ein Wechsel derselben dürfen keine nachteiligen Folgen für die betreffenden Personen haben.
  4. Die Universität Zürich fördert Anstellungsformen, die der Vereinbarkeit von Beruf, Studium und Familie dienen. Sie stellt Betreuungsplätze für die Kinder der Universitätsangehörigen zur Verfügung.
  5. Die Würde und Integrität der menschlichen Person ist zu respektieren. Sexuelle Belästigung und sexistisches Verhalten stellen eine Verletzung der Würde dar.
  6. Der Sprachgebrauch der Angehörigen der Universität Zürich strebt grösstmögliche Sach- und Geschlechtergerechtigkeit sowie Eleganz an.
  7. Die für die Chancengleichheit relevanten Daten werden regelmässig erhoben, mit den Führungsinstrumenten der Universität Zürich verknüpft und im Blick auf Erreichtes und zu Planendes analysiert. Die Gleichstellungskommission beziehungsweise die Abteilung Gleichstellung berät die Angehörigen der Universität Zürich in Fragen der Gender Policy.

Verhaltenskodex Gender Policy (PDF, 553 KB)