Research

Goal 1:

UZH holds a leading position in the European research area.
In selected domains, the University is among the world’s best research institutions. UZH Faculties set research priorities, thereby strengthening their individual profiles and heightening UZH’s overall standing.

Measure 1.1:

UZH establishes new University Research Priority Programs (URPP) to strengthen the profile of research throughout the University, especially in strategically important areas.

Measure 1.2:

Each Faculty develops an overall strategy and names areas of research to be promoted more actively. Based on the overall strategy, the Faculties develop a plan for professorships. The plan includes all professorships in the near future which will become vacant due to retire- ment, or which will be newly created.

Measure 1.3:

UZH promotes strategic collaboration with the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETH Zurich). The University fosters relations with further selected partner institutions, initiates joint projects and shares facilities.

Forschung

Ziel 1:

Die UZH nimmt in der europäischen Forschungslandschaft eine führende Position ein. In ausgewählten Bereichen gehört sie zur Weltspitze. Die Fakultäten akzentuieren durch Schwerpunktsetzung in der Forschung ihr Profil und erhöhen damit die Sichtbarkeit der UZH.

Massnahme 1.1:

Die UZH etabliert neue Universitäre Forschungsschwerpunkte (UFSP) zur Profilierung der Forschung auf gesamtuniversitärer Ebene und in strategisch wichtigen Bereichen.

Massnahme 1.2:

Die Fakultäten erarbeiten je ein strategisches Gesamtkonzept. Sie bestimmen stärker zu fördernde Forschungsfelder und nehmen eine am Gesamtkonzept ausgerichtete Professurenplanung vor. Diese schliesst alle Professuren ein, die mittelfristig durch Emeritierung frei werden oder neu geschaffen werden sollen.

Massnahme 1.3:

Die UZH fördert die strategische Zusammenarbeit mit der ETH Zürich. Sie pflegt die Beziehungen zu weiteren ausgewählten Partnern und initiiert und beteiligt sich an gemeinsamen Projekten und Einrichtungen.