Silvia Steiner, President

Silvia Steiner


"The University of Zurich is a beacon in national and international higher education, and our canton can be proud of the University’s practiced excellence. As President of the Board of the University and as Minister of Education, I am committed to further strengthening Zurich as a place of higher learning. Research and scholarship provide the foundation for innovation. Or, phrased differently: Our society and economy rely on impulses from universities in order to develop positively and to find the best answers to today’s pressing questions."

Career and Education

2005–2015 public prosecutor, head of division (specialist and lead attorney in the area of human trafficking). 2004 doctorate in law at the University of Lausanne. 2002–2005 head of criminal investigations, police department Zug. 1995–2002 police officer, head of criminal investigations, city police Zurich. 1988–1995 regional prosecutor. 1984–1988 auditor and clerk of court. 1984 degree in law at the University of Zurich.

Political Career

2007–2015 member of Parliament of the Canton of Zurich (member of the following committees: Justice, economics and labor, parliamentary investigation committee). 1986–1998 member of the district school board.

General Information

Born on 14 March 1958, grew up and lives in Zurich (Oerlikon), widowed, two adult children.

Silvia Steiner, Präsidentin

Silvia Steiner


«Die Universität Zürich ist ein Leuchtturm in der nationalen und internationalen Hochschullandschaft, auf den unser Kanton stolz sein kann. Als Präsidentin des Universitätsrats und Bildungsdirektorin setze ich mich dafür ein, den Hochschulstandort Zürich weiter zu stärken. Forschung und Wissenschaft bilden die Grundlage für Innovationen. Oder anders gesagt: Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft sind auf die Impulse der Hochschulen angewiesen, um sich weiter zu entwickeln und auf neue Fragen zeitgemässe Antworten zu finden.»

Beruf und Ausbildung

2005 - 2015 Staatsanwältin, Abteilungsleiterin (Spezialistin und federführende Staatsanwältin im Bereich Menschenhandel). 2004 Doktorat der Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Lausanne. 2002 - 2005 Chefin Kriminalpolizei, Zuger Polizei. 1995 - 2002 Polizeioffizierin, Chefin Kriminalpolizei, Stadtpolizei Zürich. 1988 - 1995 Bezirksanwältin. 1984 - 1988 Auditorin und Gerichtsschreiberin. 1984 Abschluss des Studiums der Rechtswissenschaft an der Universität Zürich.

Politik

2007- 2015 Mitglied des Kantonsrates (Mitglied der Justizkommission, der Kommission für Wirtschaft und Arbeit, der parlamentarischen Untersuchungskommission PUK-BVK). 1986 - 1998 Bezirksschulpflegerin in Zürich.

Persönlich

Geboren am 14. März 1958, aufgewachsen und wohnhaft in Zürich-Nord, verwitwet, zwei erwachsene Kinder.