Peter Debye
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1936

Matter’s Secrets

Peter Debye was often described as the “Leonardo da Vinci” of the 20th century. Many methods and laws in physics bear his name, for instance the “Debye temperature” for his theory on the specific heat of solid bodies, which he developed at the University of Zurich.

Peter Debye was just 26 years old when, in 1911, he took on his first academic appointment as professor for theoretical physics. Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen, who was teaching in Munich, gave him an outstanding reference, saying Debye represented “an excellent acquisition” for the University of Zurich.

The young researcher’s outstanding talent quickly became apparent in Zurich. On 10 December 1911, Debye wrote to his mentor Arnold Sommerfeld in Munich: “Dear Sommerfeld, in the last 48 hours I have discovered something really quite special.” This “something special” was to occupy Debye for 40 years and to become the basis for his Nobel Prize in 1936. It was the idea that there are molecules that are permanent electrical dipoles. The “dipole moment” of a substance can be measured, thus enabling conclusions as to its molecular structure. The brief period of Debye’s activity at the University saw more fundamental work based on the hypothesis of permanent dipoles, for example, on the behavior of molecules when temperatures change.

Peter Debye left the University of Zurich and Switzerland in 1912, but returned to Zurich in 1920. Now famous, the physicist took on a professorship at ETH for some seven years.

Peter Debye
Nobelpreis für Chemie 1936

Das Geheimnis der Materie

Peter Debye war ein wissenschaftliches Universalgenie. Den Nobelpreis erhielt er für die Entdeckung verschiedener Verfahren, mit denen sich die molekularen Strukturen von Stoffen bestimmen lässt.

Peter Debye hatte den Ruf, ein «Leonardo der Physik» zu sein. Viele physikalische Verfahren und Gesetze tragen seinen Namen. So leitet sich etwa die «Debye-Temperatur» von  seiner Theorie der spezifischen Wärme fester Körper her, die an der Universität Zürich entstand.

Die Professur für Theoretische Physik, die der damals 26-jährige Debye 1911 in Zürich antrat, war seine erste Dozentenstelle. Der in München lehrende Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen stellte dem jungen Mann das beste Zeugnis aus: Debye sei für die Universität Zürich «eine ausgezeichnete Acquisition».

Das herausragende Talent des jungen Forschers wurde schnell deutlich. Am 10. Dezember 1911 schrieb Debye seinem Mentor Arnold Sommerfeld nach München: «Lieber Sommerfeld! In den letzten 48 Stunden habe ich eine ganz hübsche Sache gefunden.» Diese «hübsche Sache» sollte Debye rund 40 Jahre lang beschäftigen und auch Grundlage für seinen Nobelpreis 1936 werden: Es war die Vermutung, dass es Moleküle gibt, die permanente elektrische Dipole sind. Das «Dipolmoment» einer Substanz liess sich messen und ermöglichte Rückschlüsse auf die molekulare Struktur. In der kurzen Zeit von Debyes Tätigkeit an der Universität Zürich sind aus der Hypothese von den permanenten Dipolen weitere grundlegende Arbeiten, beispielsweise zum Verhalten von Molekülen bei Temperaturänderungen, entstanden.

Nachdem Peter Debye die Universität Zürich und die Schweiz 1912 verlassen hatte, kam er 1920 nochmals an die Limmat zurück – der damals bereits berühmte Physiker übernahm für knapp sieben Jahre eine Professur an der ETH.