Walter Rudolf Hess
Nobel Prize in Physiology/Medicine 1949

The Mechanism of the Interbrain

Walter Rudolf Hess created a cartography of the interbrain and explored its functions – in the interest of better understanding the phenomenon of sleep.

Walter Rudolf Hess took a roundabout route to his true calling. After studying medicine at the University of Zurich, graduating with a thesis on the viscosity of blood, he worked as an ophthalmologist in Rapperswil. He did not, however, find happiness as a practicing physician. As a result, in 1912 he took a position as assistant to professor Justus Gaule at the Institute of Physiology at the University of Zurich – despite his wife Louise’s reservations about the financial consequences of this step.

Hess submitted his habilitation on the cardiovascular system, thus earning the right to teach at university. In 1917, he was appointed professor of physiology at the University of Zurich. As head of the Institute, Hess was free to choose his own area of research and, after initially investigating topics related to circulation, from 1929 onwards he focused his interest on sleep. The biological function of sleep had long represented a puzzle to scientists. Walter Rudolf Hess understood it as an essential means of allowing the body to recover from daily activities.

Because sleeping behavior is controlled in the diencephalon, or interbrain, Hess set out to research this area of the brain. To do so, he used cats, stimulating their interbrains with electric current. After being subjected to light electric stimulus, the animals displayed, for instance, drowsiness or aggressive behavior, depending on the position of the electrodes inserted in the brain. The traces of the electrodes could then be observed in the interbrains of the euthanized animals. Thus, millimeter by millimeter, the brain tissue was explored. On the resulting maps, Hess was able to allocate individual functions to localized areas of the brain. It was for his discovery of the functional organization of the interbrain that Walter Rudolf Hess was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1949.

The possibility that his basic research could result in therapeutic applications was not one of Hess’s key concerns. Nevertheless, his methodology of deep electrical stimulation of the brain has found successful application in recent years in treating the symptoms of Parkinson’s Disease and other motor disorders. Sleep researchers are today continuing Walter Rudolf Hess’s work and investigating whether deep brain stimulation can also help people with sleep disorders.

Walter Rudolf Hess
Nobelpreis für Physiologie/Medizin 1949

Die Mechanik des Zwischenhirns

Walter Rudolf Hess kartografierte das Zwischenhirn und erkundete seine Funktionen. Dies half ihm, das Phänomen des Schlafs besser zu vestehen.

Walter Rudolf Hess fand auf Umwegen zu seiner eigentlichen Berufung. Nach dem Medizinstudium, das er an der Universität Zürich mit einer Dissertation über die Viskosität (die Zähflüssigkeit) des Blutes abschloss, arbeitete er zunächst als Augenarzt in Rapperswil. Als praktizierender Arzt war er jedoch nicht glücklich. Deshalb nahm er 1912 eine Stelle als Assistent am Physiologischen Institut der Universität Zürich bei Professor Justus Gaule an – trotz der Bedenken seiner Frau Louise wegen der finanziellen Folgen dieses Schritts.

Hess habilitierte sich mit einer Arbeit über die Kreislaufregulierung. 1917 wurde er zum Ordentlichen Professor für Physiologie an der Universität Zürich gewählt. Als Leiter des Instituts konnte er seine Forschungsfelder frei wählen. Nachdem Hess zunächst Kreislaufthemen behandelt hatte, erforschte er ab 1929 den Schlaf. Der biologische Sinn des Schlafs war für die Wissenschaft lange ein Rätsel. Walter Rudolf Hess verstand ihn als lebensnotwendige Einrichtung, um dem Körper Erholung von der täglichen Aktivität zu verschaffen.

Gesteuert wird das Schlafverhalten im Zwischenhirn. Hess machte sich deshalb daran, dieses zu erforschen. Dazu verwendete er Katzen, deren Zwischenhirn mit Strom gereizt wurde. Bei leichter Reizung mit Strom zeigten die Tiere dann je nach der Lage der Elektrodenspitzen, die ins Gehirn eingeführt wurden, zum Beispiel Schläfrigkeit oder aggressives Verhalten. Am getöteten Versuchstier liessen sich die Spuren der Elektroden im Zwischenhirn beobachten. Millimeter für Millimeter wurde so das Hirngewebe erkundet. Daraus entstanden Karten, auf denen die lokalisierten Areale im Hirn einzelnen Funktionen zugeordnet werden konnten. Für seine Entdeckung der funktionalen Organisation des Zwischenhirns wurde Walter Rudolf Hess 1949 mit dem Nobelpreis ausgezeichnet.

Dass seine Grundlagenforschung zu therapeutischen Anwendungen führen könnte, war für Hess kein Thema.  Die Hess'sche Forschungsmethode der tiefen elektrischen Hirnstimulation ist jedoch in den letzten Jahren erfolgreich angewendet worden bei der Behandlung von Symptomen der Parkinson-Krankheit und anderen Bewegungsstörungen. Heute setzen Schlafforscher die Arbeit von Walter Rudolf Hess fort. Sie erkunden, ob mit der tiefen Hirnstimulation auch Menschen mit Schlafstörungen geholfen werden kann.