Theodor Mommsen
Nobel Prize in Literature 1902

A Paean to Caesar

Theodor Mommsen wrote his monumental History of Rome during his time as Professor at the University of Zurich. The brilliant historian felt at home in the world of Classical Antiquity, but never quite grew roots in Zurich.

Theodor Mommsen was both a brilliant academic and politically minded. After being accused of participating in the May 1849 uprising in Saxony, he was dismissed from his position as professor of law at the University of Leipzig in 1851. In the same year, the University of Zurich offered him a professorship in Roman law.

Mommsen’s move to Switzerland involved two citizens of Zurich who had already belonged to his circle of friends in Leipzig: the brothers Caspar and Salomon Hirzel. After hearing Mommsen lecture, Salomon Hirzel’s publishing house asked him to write a history of Rome, and the book contract was signed in 1850. Mommsen came to Zurich for the summer semester in 1852. In addition to fulfilling his teaching responsibilities, he worked on his monumental History of Rome, for which, some 50 years later in 1902, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Mommsen wrote his magnum opus (which ultimately remained unfinished) based on his vast knowledge of the ancient sources, yet equally from the perspective of a politically engaged citizen of the 19th century; his judgments of the events of the time are trenchant. His particular favorite was Julius Caesar, whom he regarded to be perfect as both a person and a politician.

Theodor Mommsen never felt at home in Zurich. However good his knowledge of Latin and Greek was, he couldn’t warm to with Swiss German. Three weeks after his arrival in Zurich, he wrote to a friend in Rome: “Here, there are beautiful mountains, clear water, an excellent silk industry, and even English people to laugh at. But it’s impossible to understand the girls and their Zurich German; inscriptions are rare and good friends are far rarer still. Enough: we don’t have to be happy.” In 1854 he moved to Breslau, then in Prussia, after receiving a professorship there.

Theodor Mommsen
Nobelpreis für Literatur 1902

Loblied auf Cäsar

Als Professor an der Universität Zürich schrieb Theodor Mommsen an seiner monumentalen «Römischen Geschichte». In der Antike fühlte sich der brillante Gelehrte zuhause; in Zürich wurde er aber nicht heimisch.

Theodor Mommsen war ein politischer Kopf und ein brillanter Wissenschaftler. Angeklagt wegen Beteiligung am sächsischen Maiaufstand von 1849 gegen den preussischen König, wurde der liberal denkende Rechtsprofessor 1851 aus dem Dienst der Universität Leipzig entlassen. Noch im selben Jahr bot die Universität Zürich ihm einen Lehrstuhl für Römisches Recht an.

An Mommsens Wechsel in die Schweiz waren zwei Zürcher beteiligt, die in Leipzig zu seinem Freundeskreis gehörten: die Brüder Caspar und Salomon Hirzel. Die beiden Verleger hatten Mommsen nach einem Vortrag gebeten, eine Römische Geschichte zu schreiben, und 1850 mit ihm einen Vertrag über das Werk abgeschlossen. Mommsen kam auf das Sommersemester 1852 nach Zürich. Hier arbeitete er neben seinen Lehrverpflichtungen an der Universität an diesem monumentalen historischen Werk, für das ihm 50 Jahre später, 1902, der Nobelpreis für Literatur zugesprochen wurde.

Mommsen schrieb die «Römische Geschichte», die letztlich ein Torso blieb, aus einer umfassenden Kenntnis der antiken Quellen heraus, aber zugleich mit dem Blick des politisch wachen Zeitgenossen des 19. Jahrhunderts. Seine Urteile zu den Ereignissen der römischen Geschichte sind pointiert. Sein besonderer Liebling war Julius Cäsar, der ihm als vollkommener Mensch und Politiker erschien.

In Zürich wurde Theodor Mommsen nicht heimisch. So gut sich der Professor in Latein und Griechisch auskannte, so wenig konnte er sich mit dem Schweizerdeutschen anfreunden. Drei Wochen nach der Ankunft in Zürich schrieb er einem Freund nach Rom: «Hier sind schöne Berge, klares Wasser, gute Seidenindustrie, auch Engländer zum Auslachen; aber die Mädel versteht man nicht mit ihrem Züri-Dütsch und Inschriften sind rar, und gute Freunde noch viel rarer. Basta; man muss ja nicht eben glücklich sein.» 1854 wurde er nach Breslau im damaligen Preussen berufen.