Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen
Nobel Prize in Physics 1901

The Transparent Body

Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen developed his passion for physics in Zurich. A quarter of a century later, he discovered the rays that rendered humans transparent.

What would Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen’s life have been like without the Zurich years? Any answer must be speculative. All the same, it was at Zurich’s ETH (then known as the Federal Polytechnical School) that Röntgen found his way to physics, and at the University of Zurich that he obtained his doctorate with his “Studien über Gase” (studies on gases).

Röntgen began his studies in the mechanical-technical department of ETH in the winter semester of 1865. He evidently thought little of exerting himself intellectually, and played the elegant dandy, with luxurious lodgings on the Seilergraben. Many an hour was spent rowing on the lake and hiking in the mountains.

At ETH, Röntgen had the good fortune to encounter inspiring teachers. The professor who took on the idle Röntgen was Gustav Anton Zeuner, professor of mechanical engineering from 1855 to 1871. He also supervised Röntgen’s doctoral thesis at the University of Zurich.

Röntgen’s encounter with the young physicist August Kundt was to prove a decisive stroke of fate. After completing his qualification as an engineer, Röntgen was undecided as his future. Kundt, then a professor at ETH, invited the young man to his laboratory. Here, Röngten acquired the precision in experimentation for which he was later renowned; Röntgen had been won over to physics. At that time, ETH was not authorized to award doctorates. The University was accommodated under the same roof, so it transpired that, in 1869, Röntgen presented his thesis at the University of Zurich, and thus left the city with the title “Dr. phil.” When in 1870 Kundt followed a call to Würzburg, he took Röntgen with him as his assistant.

25 years later, on 8 November 1895, in his laboratory in Würzburg, Röntgen, now professor of physics, discovered a new type of rays: X-rays, and thus made human beings transparent. The first known Röntgen image shows the hand of his wife, Bertha. Within a very short space of time, Röntgen’s discovery not only made international headlines, but triggered a veritable tsunami in scientific circles. A Zurich doctor, Röntgen’s colleague from Würzburg, Albert Kölliker, suggested that the new X-rays should be called “Röntgen rays” in honor of their discoverer. In German-speaking countries, an x-ray image is termed a “Röntgenbild” to this day.

Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen
Nobelpreis für Physik 1901

Der durchsichtige Mensch

Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen fand in Zürich zur Physik. Ein Vierteljahrhundert später entdeckte er die Strahlen, die den Menschen durchsichtig machten.

Wie wäre Wilhelm Conrad Röntgens Leben ohne die Zürcher Jahre verlaufen? Die Antwort bleibt Spekulation. Immerhin: Am Polytechnikum fand Röntgen den Weg zur Physik und an der Universität Zürich promovierte er mit seinen «Studien über Gase».

Im Wintersemester 1865 nahm Röntgen am Polytechnikum das Studium an der Mechanisch-Technischen Abteilung auf. Offenbar hielt er wenig von Strebertum. Er spielte den eleganten Dandy, der sich am Seilergraben eine teure Pension leistete. Gerne ruderte er auf dem See oder machte Ausflüge in die Berge.

Am Polytechnikum hatte Röntgen das Glück, echte Lehrerpersönlichkeiten zu treffen. Jener Schuldirektor, der sich den Faulpelz Röntgen vorknöpfte, war Gustav Anton Zeuner, von 1855 bis 1871 Professor für Mechanik und theoretische Maschinenlehre. Er betreute auch Röntgens Doktorarbeit an der Universität.

Schicksalshaft war die Begegnung mit dem jungen Physiker August Kundt. Nach Abschluss der Ingenieurausbildung war Röntgen unschlüssig: Wie sollte er seine Zukunft gestalten? Kundt, eben Professor am Polytechnikum geworden, lud den jungen Mann in sein Labor ein. Hier erlernte Röntgen jene Genauigkeit im Experiment, für die er später berühmt wurde. Röntgen war für die Physik gewonnen. Das Polytechnikum durfte in jener Zeit noch keinen Doktortitel verleihen. Die Universität war unter dem gleichen Dach beheimatet, und so kam es, dass Röntgen 1869 seine Dissertation an der Universität Zürich einreichte und so als «Dr. phil.» die Stadt verliess. Als Kundt 1870 einem Ruf nach Würzburg folgte, nahm er Röntgen als seinen Assistenten mit.

25 Jahre später, am 8. November 1895, entdeckte Physik-Professor Röntgen in seinem Labor in Würzburg eine neue Art von Strahlen, die X-Strahlen. Er machte damit den Menschen durchsichtig. Das erste bekannte Röntgenbild zeigt die Hand seiner Frau Bertha. Innert kürzester Zeit machte Röntgens Entdeckung nicht nur international Schlagzeilen, sondern löste ein wissenschaftliches Erdbeben aus. Ein Mediziner aus Zürich, Röntgens Würzburger Kollege Albert Kölliker, regte an, die neuen X-Strahlen «Röntgen-Strahlen» zu nennen.