Erwin Schrödinger
Nobel Prize in Physics 1933

Quantum Leap in Physics

Edwin Schrödinger proved that electrons could have the properties of either waves or particles, but are neither the one nor the other – a discovery that revolutionized physics.

In the fall of 1921, Erwin Schrödinger was appointed to the chair for theoretical physics at the University of Zurich, a position that had been vacant since 1914. At that time no one imagined that six years later he would leave the University and the city hailed as a genius by luminary figures such as Albert Einstein and Max Planck, and celebrated as a star.

While at the University, Erwin Schrödinger revolutionized physics by creating a new atomic theory, a scientific breakthrough he achieved in the winter of 1925/26. In the summer semester of 1925, Erwin Schrödinger had read the doctoral thesis of a young Frenchman, Louis de Broglie, who proposed that matter – such as electrons – also possessed wave properties. This contradicted the prevailing opinion of leading physicists of the time, who assumed that electrons were particles.

Schrödinger focused intensively on Broglie’s proposition that all matter has wave properties. What were the properties of such waves of matter? Schrödinger spent Christmas and New Year 1925/26 studying the matter while on holiday in Arosa. This vacation was the beginning of his annus mirabilis, a phase, lasting some twelve months, of concentrated, creative work.

These efforts resulted in his first article, “Quantisierung als Eigenwertproblem. Erste Mitteilung” (Quantization as a problem of proper values, part one), which he sent to the Annalen der Physik on 26 January 1926. In this paper, he first formulated his famous wave equation, which has gone down in the annals of physics as the “Schrödinger equation.” The wave equation makes it possible to calculate the energy levels of electrons in an atom, thus solving one of the great problems in quantum physics.

After Schrödinger’s wave equation, nothing in the world of physics was the same again. The dispute as to whether quantum objects such as electrons, atoms or molecules were waves or particles was settled. In a surprising fashion, however: Schrödinger demonstrated that electrons could have the properties of either waves or particles, but are neither the one nor the other; their state can be calculated only with a degree of probability. For this discovery, Erwin Schrödinger was awarded the 1933 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Erwin Schrödinger
Nobelpreis für Physik 1933

Physikalischer Quantensprung

Erwin Schrödinger revolutionierte die Physik. Der Forscher bewies, dass Elektronen Eigenschaften von Wellen oder Teilchen haben können, aber weder das eine noch das andere sind.

Erwin Schrödinger besetzte im Herbst 1921 den seit 1914 verwaisten Lehrstuhl für Theoretische Physik an der Universität Zürich. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt  rechnete niemand damit, dass er die Universität und die Stadt sechs Jahre später als gefeierter Star wieder verlassen würde, dem Granden wie Albert Einstein und Max Planck «Genialität» attestierten.

In seiner Zürcher Zeit revolutionierte Erwin Schrödinger die Physik, indem er eine neue Atomtheorie schuf. Der wissenschaftliche Durchbruch gelang ihm im Winter 1925/26. Schrödinger hatte im Sommersemester 1925 die Doktorarbeit des jungen Franzosen Louis de Broglie gelesen. Dieser postulierte darin, Materie – beispielsweise Elektronen – habe auch Welleneigenschaften. Das widersprach der vorherrschenden Meinung der führenden Physiker der Zeit, die davon ausgingen, Elektronen seien Teilchen.

Schrödinger beschäftigte sich intensiv mit der von de Broglie angenommenen Wellennatur der Materie. Welche Eigenschaften hatten solche Materiewellen? Über Weihnachten und Neujahr 1925/26 fuhr Erwin Schrödinger nach Arosa in die Ferien. Mit dem Urlaub begann sein annus mirabilis, eine rund zwölfmonatige Phase konzentrierten, kreativen Schaffens.

Daraus entstand seine erste Abhandlung «Quantisierung als Eigenwertproblem. Erste Mitteilung», die er am 26. Januar 1926 an die «Annalen der Physik» schickte. In dieser Mitteilung formuliert er erstmals seine berühmte Wellengleichung, die als «Schrödingergleichung» in die Geschichte des Fachs eingegangen ist. Mit der Wellengleichung lassen sich die Energieniveaus der Elektronen in einem Atom berechnen. Damit war eines der grossen Probleme der Quantenphysik gelöst.

Nach Schrödingers Wellengleichung war in der Welt der Physik nichts mehr, wie es zuvor gewesen war. Der Streit um die Frage, ob Quantenobjekte wie Elektronen, Atome oder Moleküle Wellen oder Teilchen sind, war entschieden. Allerdings auf überraschende Weise: Schrödinger bewies, dass Elektronen Eigenschaften von Wellen oder Teilchen haben können, aber weder das eine noch das andere sind und sich ihr Zustand nur mit einer bestimmten Wahrscheinlichkeit berechnen lässt. Für seine Entdeckung erhielt Erwin Schrödinger 1933 den Nobelpreis für Physik.