Additional Ranking Projects

From the standpoint of academia, international rankings have limited appeal and relevance. Nevertheless, measuring the output of universities is very interesting to policymakers, the general public, students and parents. And, universities also have an interest in having their achievements made public. To satisfy these needs, several national and international projects have been initiated:

Switzerland: CRUS Projects to Measure Research Achievements

The Rectors' Conference of the Swiss Universities (CRUS) has promoted a variety of collaborative and innovative projects since 2008. The projects aim to provide Swiss universities with instruments that allow their research achievements to be measured and put in an international context. From 2013 to 2016, the work will be focused on the arts and social sciences.

Project 2008-2011:Mesurer les performances de la recherche

Project 2013-2016:Performances de la recherche en sciences humaines et sociales (in German and French)

Europe: U-Multirank

The European Commission launched the U-Multirank in reaction to the shortcomings in existing global rankings. The aim of the feasibility study from 2009–2011 was to develop a concept that considers national structures and cultures in the area of higher education. In 2012, the European Commission decided to continue the project. The first results are anticipated already in 2013.

U-Multirank

International: IREG – International Ranking Expert Group

This group was founded by the European Center for Higher Education (UNESCO-CEPES) and the Institute for Higher Education Policy (USA). Up to this point in time, the group has created two measures for securing the quality of university rankings:  

The Berlin Principles on Ranking of Higher Education Institutions

IREG Ranking Audit

Weiterführende Rankingprojekte

Aus wissenschaftlicher Sicht haben globale Rankings nur eine begrenzte Aussagekraft. Die Messung der Leistung von Hochschulen ist dennoch im Interesse von Politik, Öffentlichkeit, Studierenden und deren Eltern. Nicht zuletzt ist es den Hochschulen selbst ein Anliegen, ihre Leistung auszuweisen. Deshalb sind verschiedene nationale und internationale Initiativen entstanden:

Schweiz: Projekte von swissuniversities zur Messung der Forschungsleistungen in Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften

Die Rektorenkonferenz der Schweizer Universitäten (CRUS) förderte seit 2008 verschiedene Kooperations- und Innovationsprojekte im Bereich der Forschungsevaluation. Ziel dieser Projekte ist es, die Schweizer Universitäten mit Instrumenten auszustatten, welche es erlauben, ihre Forschungsleistungen zu messen und einem Vergleich auf internationaler Ebene zu unterziehen. 2013 bis 2016 fokussieren sich die neu von swissuniversities geförderten Projekte insbesondere auf die Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften.

Projekt P3 2013-2016:Performances de la recherche en sciences humaines et sociales

Europa: U-Multirank

Die Europäische Kommission lancierte das U-Multirank-Projekt als Reaktion auf die «Unzulänglichkeiten der bestehenden globalen Rankings». Ziel der Machbarkeitsstudie 2009-2011 war es, ein Konzept zu entwickeln, welches die unterschiedlichen nationalen Strukturen und Kulturen im Hochschulsektor berücksichtigt. 2012 sprach sich die Kommission für die Weiterführung des Projekts aus. 2013 wurden erstmals Resultate veröffentlicht.

U-Multirank

International: IREG - International Ranking Expert Group

Die Gruppe wurde 2004 vom European Center for Higher Education (UNESCO-CEPES) und vom Institute for Higher Education Policy (USA) gegründet. Sie hat bisher zwei Massnahmen zur Qualitätssicherung von Hochschulrankings initiiert: 

The Berlin Principles on Ranking of Higher Education Institutions

IREG-Ranking Audit