UZH in International Rankings

The University of Zurich is placed among the top 100 institutions of higher learning in the most important rankings. The following pages provide a detailed overview of the methodology and data used in the Shanghai Ranking, QS Rankings and the Times World University Rankings.

1. UZH in the Academic Ranking of World Universities

  Academic Ranking of World Universities (Top 500)
University 2014 2015 2016 2017
University of Zurich 56 54 54 58
ETH Zurich 19 20 19 19
University of Geneva 66 58 53 60
EPF Lausanne 96 101-150 92 76
University of Basel 90 87 101-150 95
University of Bern 151-200 151-200 101-150 101-150
University of Lausanne 151-200 201-300 201-300 151-200
University of Fribourg - - 301-400 401-500
University of St. Gallen - - - -

In the latest Academic Ranking of World Universities (formerly the Shanghai Ranking), the University of Zurich is placed 58th, putting it among the 100 best universities in the world. In Switzerland it ranks second-best, ahead of the University of Geneva, which slipped back seven places to 60th worldwide. ETH Zurich remains in 18th place as the best university in Continental Europe. Also ranked among the world’s 100 best universities are EPFL Lausanne (76th) and, for the first time, the University of Basel (95th).

The Academic Ranking of World Universities, which has been in existence since 2003, rates more than 1,000 institutions worldwide on the basis of factors including the number of Nobel Laureates and Fields Medalists among alumni or employed researchers, papers published in Nature or Science, and Highly Cited Researchers at the university. In addition there is a single indicator that takes account of the size of universities by measuring the publication performance of teaching staff. Because of its methodology the ranking is very controversial. Nevertheless, it is one of the better-known rankings worldwide and enjoys a great response among the general public.

2. UZH in the QS Rankings

  QS Rankings (Top 800)  
University 2016 2017 2018
University of Zurich 85 80 73
ETH Zurich 8 10
University of Geneva 89 95 98
EPF Lausanne 14 14 12
University of Basel 139 141 149
University of Bern 166 181 167
University of Lausanne 143 138 146
University of St. Gallen 329 288 372

In this year’s QS World University Rankings, the University of Zurich has moved up seven places and is now ranked 73rd of the over 950 higher education institutions assessed. This means that UZH now numbers among the top 8% of all universities included in the ranking, and in the top 1% of all universities in the world.

UZH rated particularly well in the indicators student-instructor ratio (43) and proportion of international instructors (44). The data on the student-to-instructor ratio are surprisingly positive both on the national and international stage: As Switzerland’s largest university, UZH is in first place; worldwide, the University improved by 10 ranks. Regarding the proportion of international members of the teaching staff, UZH – along with all Swiss higher education institutions – is a global leader. Other universities have made ground in the indicator “proportion of international students,” in which UZH ranks 18 places lower than in the previous year.

Another positive result is in the survey of employees: UZH is now ranked 19 places higher. These changes are most likely related to a modification in the methodology used by the QS Ranking. Now, statements by domestic (i.e. Swiss) employees are weighted the same as those by international employees.

3. UZH in the Times Higher Education World University Rankings

  THE Rankings (Top 400)
University 2015 2016 2017
University of Zurich 104 106 136
ETH Zurich 9 9 10
University of Geneva 131 137 130
EPF Lausanne 31 30 38
University of Basel 101 98 95
University of Bern 120 110 105
University of Lausanne 144 151 152
University of Fribourg 201-250 251-300 201-250

How the THE Rankings work

The new Times Higher Education (THE) Ranking ranks the University of Zurich 136th worldwide. UZH has dropped 30 places compared to the past year.

According to the Times Higher Education (THE) Ranking, a deterioration in an establishment’s position is due mainly to three factors: the reputation of its teaching, the productivity of its researchers, and the frequency of citation of academic papers.

The THE Ranking itself says that the deterioration in UZH’s position is primarily due to its performance in a survey of teaching. With no access to the survey data or precise details of the evaluation, UZH cannot verify this indicator.

According to the THE Ranking, there has been a massive deterioration in the productivity of researchers at UZH, with the University managing only around half the number of points it earned for this metric last year.

The indicator is based on an analysis conducted over a period of five years, which shifts one year forward for each ranking. Against this backdrop, the strong decline in publication activity is hard to understand without further analysis. Especially since other rankings measured in terms of the number of researchers show an increase in the number of publications from UZH.

While the decline in UZH’s citation rate since last year is only minimal (0.5 out of 100 points). Since the universities are very close together in that field, this has had a major impact on its ranking, which has fallen from 101 to 133.

4. UZH in the US News & World Report Best Universities Rankings

  US News Rankings (Top 600)
University 2015 2016 2017
University of Zurich 77 70 59
ETH Zurich 27 35 25
University of Geneva 104 91 88
EPF Lausanne 58 40 36
University of Basel 132 131 120
University of Bern 140 143 116
University of Lausanne 216 180 179
University of Fribourg 507 559 529
This year's ranking again shows indicators rating an entire institution as well as in individual subject areas. Both ranking types are based on the same 13 indicators, which are weighted differently depending on the subject area. In addition to evaluating the global and regional reputation of a university, bibliometric indicators and assessments of education achievements are analyzed in the rankings.
Ranking indicator Weighting
Global research reputation 12.5%
Regional research reputation 12.5%
Publications 10%
Books 2.5%
Conferences 2.5%
Normalized citation impact 10%
Total citations 7.5%
Number of publications that are among the 10 percent most cited 12.5%
Percentage of total publications that are among the 10 percent most cited 10%
International collaboration 5%
Percentage of total publications with international collaboration * 5%
Number of highly cited papers that are among the top 1 percent most cited in their respective field 5%
Percentage of total publications that are among the top 1 percent most highly cited papers 5%

* This indicator was added this year for the first time. 

Rankings of Institutions: In the Top 100 in 10 of 13 Indicators

UZH achieved an excellent overall rank of 59 worldwide, and 15th within Europe. Only two Swiss higher education institutions achieved higher rankings (ETH Zurich at 25, and EPFL at 36), and UZH is Switzerland’s best-ranked comprehensive university, ahead of the University of Geneva, which was ranked 88th.  The welcome results are mainly due to excellent performance – when compared globally – in the following indicators:

2017 Global Rank Indicator
21 Regional research reputation
43 Percentage of total publications with international collaboration
56 Number of publications that are among the 10 percent most cited
57 Percentage of total publications that are among the 10 percent most cited
60 Number of highly cited papers that are among the top 1 percent most cited in their respective field
64 Total citations
73 Percentage of highly cited papers that are among the top 1 percent most cited in their respective field
75 Normalized citation impact
76 Publications
98 Global research reputation

Overall, UZH numbers among the 100 best universities worldwide in 10 of 13 indicators. That these indicators focus largely on actual achievements in research rather than reputation underline the high quality of scholarship at UZH.

Subject Rankings: In the Top 100 in 16 of 18 Subject Areas

In the rankings of individual subjects, UZH was rated among the 100 best universities worldwide in 16 of 18 subject areas.

2017 Rank Subject Area
18 Immunology
22 Biology and Biochemistry
30 Neuroscience and Behavior
32 Plant and Animal Science
44 Environment/Ecology
51 Psychiatry/Psychology
57 Clinical Medicine
65 Economics and Business
61 Geosciences
66 Microbiology
64 Physics
65 Molecular Biology and Genetics
96 Space Science

Die UZH in internationalen Rankings

Die UZH nimmt in den bekanntesten Rankings jeweils einen Rang unter den 100 besten Hochschulen weltweit ein. Hier eine kommentierte Übersicht über die bekanntesten drei Rankings: Shanghai-, QS- und THE-Ranking.

1. Die UZH im Academic Ranking of World Universities (vormals Shanghai-Ranking)

  ARWU-Ranking (vormals Shanghai-Ranking) (Top 500)
Universität 2014 2015 2016 2017
Universität Zürich 56 54 54 58
ETH Zürich 19 20 19 19
Universität Genf 66 58 53 60
EPF Lausanne 96 101-150 92 76
Universität Basel 90 87 101-150 95
Universität Bern 151-200 151-200 101-150 101-150
Universität Lausanne 151-200 201-300 201-300 151-200
Universität Fribourg - - 301-400 401-500
Universität St. Gallen - - - -

Die Universität Zürich belegt im neusten «Academic Ranking of World Universities» (vormals Shanghai-Ranking) Platz 58 und ist damit unter den 100 besten Hochschulen der Welt vertreten. Innerhalb der Schweiz erreicht sie erneut den zweitbesten Rang, vor der Universität Genf, welche sieben Ränge verloren hat und neu Rang 60 weltweit einnimmt. Die ETH Zürich verbleibt auf Platz 19 und bleibt die beste Hochschule Kontinentaleuropas. Ebenfalls unter den hundert besten Hochschulen der Welt sind die ETH Lausanne auf Platz 76 und neu auch die Universität Basel auf Platz 95 zu finden.

Das «Academic Ranking of World Universities» gibt es seit 2003. Es vergleicht mehr als 1000 Universitäten weltweit anhand von sechs Faktoren: Anzahl Nobelpreise und Fields-Medaillen von Alumni oder angestellten Forschenden, Anzahl Publikationen in «Nature» und «Science», Zitationen der Wissenschaftler einer Hochschule (HiCi-Index). Ein einziger Indikator berücksichtigt darüber hinaus die Grösse der Universitäten, indem die Publikationsstärke am Lehrkörper gemessen wird. Das Ranking ist aufgrund seiner Methodik sehr umstritten. Dennoch zählt es zu den bekannteren Rankings weltweit und geniesst in der breiten Öffentlichkeit viel Resonanz.

2. Die UZH im QS-Ranking

  QS-Ranking (Top 800)
Universität 2016 2017 2018
Universität Zürich 85 80 73
ETH Zürich 9 8 10
Universität Genf 89 95 98
EPF Lausanne 14 14 12
Universität Basel 139 141 149
Universität Bern 166 181 167
Universität Lausanne 143 138 146
Universität St. Gallen 329 288 372

Die UZH verbessert sich in der diesjährigen Ausgabe des QS World University Rankings um sieben Plätze und ist neu auf Rang 73 von über 950 bewerteten Universitäten. Damit findet sich die UZH unter den Top 8% der beurteilten Universitäten und unter den Top 1% aller Universitäten weltweit.

Das neueste QS Ranking weist der UZH insbesondere bezüglich des Indikators «Betreuungsverhältnis» (Rang 43) einen sehr guten Rang zu. Für die UZH als grösste Universität der Schweiz ist dies sowohl im internationalen aber auch im nationalen Vergleich ausserordentlich: Schweizweit weist QS der UZH damit den besten Rang zu. 

Auch der Indikator «Internationalität des Lehrkörpers» wird sehr gut bewertet (Rang 44), hier liegen jedoch die anderen Schweizer Unis im globalen Vergleich noch weiter vorne. Punkto «Internationalität der Studierenden» scheinen die übrigen Universitäten etwas aufgeholt zu haben: Hier hat die UZH 18 Ränge verloren.

Erfreulich ist auch das Ergebnis der Arbeitgeber-Umfrage: Die UZH konnte sich um 19 Ränge verbessern. Dies mag nicht zuletzt an einer Änderung in der Methodik des QS-Rankings liegen, wodurch neu inländische Rückmeldungen gleich gewichtet werden wie die Einschätzungen von ausländischen Befragten.

3. Die UZH im THE-Ranking

  THE-Ranking (Top 400)
Universität 2014 2015 2016 2017
Universität Zürich 103 104 106 136
ETH Zürich 13 9 9 10
Universität Genf 107 131 137 130
EPF Lausanne 34 31 30 38
Universität Basel 75 101 98 95
Universität Bern 132 120 110 105
Universität Lausanne 136 144 151 152
Universität Fribourg 276-300 201-250 251-300 201-250

Das neue THE-Ranking 2018 platziert die UZH neu auf Platz 136. Die UZH verliert damit 30 Ränge gegenüber dem Vorjahr

Der Rangverlust wird gemäss Times Higher Education (THE) Ranking hauptsächlich von drei Faktoren verursacht: der Reputation der Lehre, der Produktivität der Forschenden und der Zitationsrate von wissenschaftlichen Artikeln.

Das THE-Ranking selbst begründet den Rangverlust hauptsächlich durch das Abschneiden der UZH in der Umfrage zur Lehre. Für die UZH ist dieser Indikator nicht nachprüfbar, da sie weder Einblick in die Umfragedaten noch in deren genaue Auswertung hat.

Gemäss THE-Ranking habe die Produktivität der UZH-Forschenden im Untersuchungszeitraum massiv abgenommen. Die UZH erreicht für diesen Indikator nur rund die Hälfte der Punktzahl im Vergleich zum Vorjahr.

Dabei wird eine Zeitspanne von fünf Jahren analysiert, welche sich bei jedem Ranking um ein Jahr verschiebt. Vor diesem Hintergrund ist eine starke Abnahme der Publikationstätigkeit ohne weitere vertiefte Analyse schwer nachvollziehbar. Zumal andere Rankings gemessen an der Zahl der Forschenden steigende Publikationszahlen ausweisen.

Bei der Zitationsrate ist die UZH gegenüber dem letzten Jahr nur minim schlechter geworden: 0.5 von 100 Punkten. Da die Universitäten in diesem Bereich nahe beieinander liegen, wirkt sich das auf den Rang stark aus: minus 32 Ränge, von Rang 101 auf 133.

4. Die UZH im US News & World Report Ranking

US News Ranking (Top 600)
Universität 2015 2016 2017
Universität Zürich 77 70 59
ETH Zürich 27 35 25
Universität Genf 104 91 88
EPF Lausanne 58 40 36
Universität Basel 132 131 120
Universität Bern 140 143 116
Universität Lausanne 216 180 179
Universität Fribourg 507 559 529

Mit der diesjährigen, vierten Ausgabe des Rankings publizieren die Herausgeber erneut Ranglisten für gesamte Institutionen und für Fachbereiche. Beide Ranglisten-Typen basieren auf denselben 13 Indikatoren, die je nach Fachbereich jedoch unterschiedlich gewichtet sind. Neben Auswertungen zu internationaler und regionaler Reputation finden bibliometrische Daten sowie Interpretationen zur Ausbildungsleistung einer Institution Eingang in die Indikatorenliste des Rankings:

Ranking-Indikator Gewichtung
Globale Forschungsreputation 12.5%
Regionale Forschungsreputation 12.5%
Publikationen 10%
Bücher 2.5%
Konferenzen 2.5%
Normierter Zitationsindex 10%
Anzahl Zitierungen 7.5%
Anzahl Veröffentlichungen unter den ersten 10 Prozent der meistzitierten Publikationen 12.5%
Prozent Veröffentlichungen unter den ersten 10 Prozent der meistzitierten Publikationen 10%
Internationale Zusammenarbeit 5%
Prozent aller Publikationen mit internationaler Zusammenarbeit * 5%
Anzahl häufig zitierter Artikel unter den ersten 1 Prozent der meistzitierten Publikationen 5%
Prozent aller Veröffentlichungen unter den ersten 1 Prozent der meistzitierten Publikationen 5%

* Dieser Indikator wurde dieses Jahr neu hinzugefügt.

Institutionelles Ranking: Bei 10 von 13 Indikatoren unter den Top 100

Die UZH schneidet als Gesamtinstitution mit dem weltweit 59. Rang sehr gut ab. Innerhalb Europas steht sie sogar auf dem 15. Platz. In der Schweiz liegen nur die beiden ETHs vor ihr (ETHZ Rang 25, EPFL Rang 36). Somit ist die UZH die beste Volluniversität der Schweiz, gefolgt von der Universität Genf auf Rang 88. Dieses erfreuliche Ergebnis ist insbesondere den – im globalen Vergleich – guten Noten bei den nachstehenden Indikatoren zu verdanken:

Rang 2017 global Indikator
21 Regionale Forschungsreputation
43 Prozent aller Publikationen mit internationaler Zusammenarbeit
56 Anzahl Veröffentlichungen unter den ersten 10 Prozent der meistzitierten Publikationen
57 Prozent Veröffentlichungen unter den ersten 10 Prozent der meistzitierten Publikationen
60 Anzahl häufig zitierter Artikel unter den ersten 1 Prozent der meistzitierten Publikationen
64 Anzahl Zitierungen
73 Anteil häufig zitierter Artikel unter den ersten 1 Prozent der meistzitierten Publikationen
75 Normierter Zitationsindex
76 Publikationen
98 Forschungsreputation global

Damit ist die UZH bei zehn von dreizehn Indikatoren unter den 100 Besten weltweit. Dass sich diese Indikatoren mehrheitlich auf die tatsächliche Forschungsleistung und weniger auf die Reputation beziehen, kann als ein weiteres Qualitätsmerkmal gelesen werden.

Fachbereichsrankings: in 16 von 18 Fachbereichen unter den Top 100

Ein Blick auf die Fachbereichsrankings zeigt zudem, dass die UZH in 16 von 18 Fachbereichen unter den 100 besten Universitäten weltweit figuriert:

Rang 2017 Fachbereich
18 Immunologie
22 Biologie und Biochemie
30 Neurowissenschaften und Verhalten
32 Pflanzen- und Tierwissenschaften
44 Umweltwissenschaften
51 Psychiatrie/Psychologie
57 Klinische Medizin
65 Wirtschaftswissenschaften
61 Geowissenschaften
66 Mikrobiologie
64 Physik
65 Molekularbiologie und Genetik
96 Space Science