My Zwingli – the Protestant Reformation in Our Heads

 

How Much Zwingli Is in Our Heads?

Cover UZH Magazin 02/17, Mona Velinsky

Religious revolution and cultural division: What began with Martin Luther’s criticism of indulgences ended in a religious schism in Western Christendom. We asked eight students and doctoral candidates how much “Zwingli” is still a part of their thinking and what what Zwingli signifies for them.

Portraits by: Marc Latzel

"Zwingli wasn’t a hero, and he wasn’t interested in personal glory. He wanted to serve the community in line with Christ’s teachings. The relationship to God and to other human beings is a strong component in my own theological thinking."

Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg (23) is studying theology.

"I have great respect for Zwingli’s socio-ethical way of thinking. Placing the common good above personal interests – one of Zwingli’s tenets that has retained its validity to the present day."

Judith Engeler

Judith Engler (26) is writing her PhD thesis on the history of the Reformation.

"To my mind, Zwingli is probably the most important figure in Swiss history. He is a role model because, as a realist and a pragmatist, he generally rated practical action higher than theoretical reasoning."

Dario Jablanovic

Dario Jablanovic (30) is studying history and German philology.

"When we were visiting the cathedral in Florence, my mother looked at all the finery and said: "What would Zwingli say!" And that is precisely what Zwingli means to me: A historical yet still-present taskmaster and an affectionately scoffed-at, fatherly mascot in one."

Selina Stokar

Selina Stokar (23) is studying history and Latin.

"My understanding of Zwingli is double-edged: A charismatic minister who fearlessly defended a direct relationship between believers and God, yet a man who claimed to have not eaten the legendary sausage and who secretly married."

Nicole Frey Mathys

Nicole Frey Mathys (47) is studying art history and modern history.

"I have great respect for Zwingli’s hunger for knowledge, his independent and critical thinking and, above all, his integrity. He was committed to his faith even in the most difficult situations, and he was ready to bear the consequences of his actions."

Nina Beerli

Nina Beerli (31) is an ordained minister and works as a teaching and research assistant and doctoral candidate in the field of the Old Testament.

"My Zwingli sought truth. He gave (up) everything for truth. Whoever in today’s post-truth era isn’t satisfied with alternative facts will find a strong ally in such a figure."

Pierrick Hildebrand

Pierrick Hildebrand (32) is a doctoral candidate and teaching and research assistant at the Swiss Reformation Studies Institute.

"Zwingli was a visionary man. As a social critic, he worked toward achieving a communal way of life that is characterized by solidarity, justice, and peace."

Mona Velinsky

Mona Velinsky (32) is studying theology with a concentration in ecclesiastical history.

The Role Model

Ulrich Zwingli

Protestant reformer Ulrich Zwingli in Hans Asper’s famous portrait (approx. 1531, Kunstmuseum Winterthur). Photographer Marc Latzel, from Zurich, took Asper’s Zwingli profile painting as an inspiration to create striking portraits of UZH students and doctoral candidates.

Mein Zwingli – Die Reformation in unseren Köpfen

 

Wieviel Zwingli steckt in unseren Köpfen?

Cover UZH Magazin 02/17, Mona Velinsky

Religiöse Revolution und kultureller Bruch: Was 1517 mit der Kritik des Ablasshandels durch Martin Luther in Wittenberg begann, endete in der Glaubensspaltung der Christenheit in Europa. Unter Ulrich Zwingli erreichte die Reformation auch Zürich. Wir wollten von acht Studierenden und Doktorierenden der UZH wissen, wie viel Zwingli heute in ihren Köpfen steckt und was Zwingli für sie bedeutet.

Porträts: Marc Latzel

«Zwingli war kein Held, es ging ihm nicht um seine Person, sondern um den Dienst an der Gemeinschaft in der Ausrichtung an Christus. Die Beziehung zu Gott und zu den Menschen ist auch für mein theologisches Denken heute wegweisend.»

Michael Goldberg

Michael Goldberg (23) studiert im achten Semester Theologie.

«Ich bewundere Zwinglis sozialethische Gedankengänge. Gemeinwohl über Eigennutz­denken – dieser Grundsatz des Reformators hat bis heute nichts an Aktualität verloren.»

Judith Engeler

Judith Engeler (26) doktoriert im Fach Reformationsgeschichte.

«Zwingli ist für mich die wohl bedeutendste Persönlichkeit der Schweizer Geschichte. Er ist auch deshalb ein Vorbild, weil er als realistischer Pragmatiker meist das praktische Handeln über die theoretische Vernunft stellte.»

Dario Jablanovic

Dario Jablanovic (30) studiert im achten Semester Germanistik und Geschichte.

«Beim Besuch des Florentiner Doms sagte meine Mutter angesichts der ganzen Pracht: «Wenn das der Zwingli wüsste!» Genau das ist Zwingli für mich: vergangener und doch präsenter Zuchtmeister und liebevoll belächeltes, väterliches Maskottchen in einem.»

Selina Stokar

Selina Stokar (23) studiert im achten Semester Geschichte und im sechsten Semester Latein.

«Mein Zwingli-Bild ist zwie­spältig: ein charismatischer Seelsorger, der furchtlos für den direkten Weg der Gläubigen zu Gott eintritt, aber nicht von der legendären Wurst gegessen haben will und heimlich heiratet.»

Nicole Frey Mathys

Nicole Frey Mathys (47) studiert im achten Semester Kunstgeschichte und Geschichte der Neuzeit.

«Mich beeindrucken Zwinglis Wissensdurst, sein eigenstän­diges Denken und vor allem seine Wahrhaftigkeit. In schwierigen Situationen stand er für seinen Glauben ein und war bereit, die Konsequenzen seines Handelns zu tragen.»

Nina Beerli

Nina Beerli (31) wurde zur Pfarrerin ordiniert und arbeitet als Assistentin und Doktorandin im Fachbereich Altes Testament.

«Mein Zwingli war auf der Suche nach Wahrheit. Für sie hat er alles (auf-)gegeben. Wer sich in der Post-Truth-Ära nicht einfach mit alternativen Fakten begnügen will, findet in einer solchen Gestalt einen Mitstreiter.»

Pierrick Hildebrand

Pierrick Hildebrand (32) ist Doktorand und Assistent am Institut für Schweizerische Reformationsgeschichte.

«Zwingli war ein Mann mit grossen Visionen. Als Gesellschaftskritiker setzte er sich für ein soziales Zusammenleben ein, das von Solidarität, Gerechtigkeit und Frieden geprägt sein sollte.»

Mona Velinsky

Mona Velinsky (32) studiert im zweiten Master-Semester Theologie mit Vertiefungsrichtung Kirchengeschichte.

Das Vorbild

Ulrich Zwingli

Der Reformator Ulrich Zwingli im berühmten Porträt von Hans Asper (ca. 1531, Winterthurer Kunstmuseum). Der Zürcher Fotograf Marc Latzel hat an diesem Bild Mass genommen und die Studierenden und Doktorierenden im Profil vor farbigem Hintergrund inszeniert.