Ethics in Research

The University of Zurich is committed to high ethical principles in all its scholarly endeavors. UZH believes that compliance with ethical principles is a prerequisite for academic credibility and that such compliance underpins academic freedom.

Good Scholarly Practice

Researchers at the University of Zurich comply with the rules of good scholarly practice and instill these rules in junior researchers. If academic misconduct is suspected, faculty ombuds are the first points of contact.

Research involving Human Beings

The University of Zurich strictly regulates research on and with humans. Research involving human beings must be reviewed and approved by an ethics commission before experiments begin.

Research involving Animals

Switzerland has strict rules and regulations on research involving animals. In addition to the federal regulations, the University of Zurich applies its own policy.

Research involving Animals

Access to Genetic Resources: Nagoya Protocol

Research at UZH is subject to terms regulating access to genetic resources and the fair and equitable sharing of benefits arising from their utilization. These terms are defined in the Nagoya Protocol.

Ethik in der Forschung

Die Universität Zürich ist  in der Ausübung ihrer wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit hohen ethischen Prinzipien verpflichtet. Das Einhalten der ethischen Prinzipien ist Voraussetzung für die Glaubwürdigkeit der Wissenschaft und begründet den Anspruch auf Forschungsfreiheit.

Gute wissenschaftliche Praxis

Forschende der UZH halten die Regeln guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis ein und vermitteln diese an den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs. Die Vertrauenspersonen der Fakultäten sind die ersten Ansprechpersonen bei Verdacht auf wissenschaftliches Fehlverhalten.

Forschung an und mit Menschen

Forschung an und mit Menschen wird an der UZH streng geregelt. Entsprechende Vorhaben müssen vor Versuchsbeginn von einer Ethikkommission geprüft und bewilligt werden.

Forschung mit Tieren

Die Forschung mit Tieren unterliegt in der Schweiz strengen gesetzlichen Vorschriften. Zudem wendet die Universität Zürich für tierexperimentelle Forschung eine eigene Policy an.

Forschung mit Tieren

Nutzung genetischer Ressourcen: Nagoya-Protokoll

Wissenschaftliche Arbeit mit genetischen Ressourcen an der UZH unterliegt dem Nagoya-Protokoll. Der Zugang zu den Ressourcen wird geregelt. Die sich aus der Nutzung der Ressourcen ergebenden Vorteile werden ausgewogen aufgeteilt.