Research involving Primates

In 2014, a total of 251 primates were used in Switzerland for research projects in industry and at universities. This comprises about 0.05 percent of all animal testing. Most of these experiments were categorized as low severity, which means they were either non-stressful or only slightly stressful for the animals involved. But experiments with moderate to high severity do take place, for example, when researching and developing therapies for people who have suffered a stroke or spinal cord injury, or who are afflicted by Parkinson's disease. Various Swiss Universities collaborate on these experiments.

Swiss Collaboration and Standards

Supported by the Swiss University Conference, in 2012 the two universities of Zurich and the University of Fribourg founded the Non-Human Primate Swiss Competence Center in Research (SPCCR). The Center develops the highest standards for keeping and researching on primates, trains all researchers and animal keepers working with primates in Switzerland, and gives all universities in Switzerland access to the infrastructure and expertise required for research on primates.

Evaluation of Interests - Case for Case

In 2009, the Swiss Federal Supreme Court reached a decision upholding the rejection of two applications for experiments on primates at the University of Zurich and ETH Zurich. This decision, however, has no bearing on the general authorization to conduct primate research in Switzerland. Although the Federal Supreme Court confirmed the rejection of the applications by the lower court, it also clearly stated that the decision was not one of basic policy. It remains the duty of the cantonal commission on animal experimentation to assess each individual application for animal testing via an evaluation of interests procedure.

Forschung mit Primaten

Im Jahr 2014 wurden insgesamt 251 Primaten in der Schweiz bei Forschungsprojekten in der Industrie und an Universitäten eingesetzt – etwa 0,05 Prozent aller Tierversuche. Die meisten dieser Versuche weisen einen niedrigen Schweregrad auf, d.h. sie belasten die Tiere nicht oder nur wenig. Doch auch Versuche von mittlerem oder höchstem Schweregrad finden statt, zum Beispiel in der Erforschung und Entwicklung von Therapien nach Schlaganfällen, für die Parkinsonsche Erkrankung und Querschnittlähmung. Verschiedene Schweizer Universitäten sind im Rahmen von Kollaborationen an diesen Versuchen beteiligt.

Schweizweite Kollaboration und Standards

Die Universitäten Zürich und die Universität Fribourg haben 2012 mit Unterstützung der Schweizer Universitätskonferenz das Swiss Non-Human Primate Competence Center in Research (SPCCR) gegründet. Dieses entwickelt höchste Standards in der Haltung und Forschung von Primaten, bildet alle in der Schweiz mit Primaten arbeitenden Forschenden und Tierpfleger aus und verschafft allen Universitäten in der Schweiz Zugang zu der für Primatenforschung notwendigen Infrastruktur und Expertise.

Güterabwägung für jeden Einzelfall

Ein 2009 vom Bundesgericht gefällter Entscheid über zwei Gesuche für Primatenversuche an der Universität Zürich und der ETH Zürich hat keine Auswirkungen auf die generelle Zulassung von Primatenforschung in der Schweiz. Das Bundesgericht hat in seinem Entscheid zwar die Ablehnung der entsprechenden Gesuche durch die Vorinstanz bestätigt, hat aber auch klar bekräftigt, dass es sich dabei nicht um einen Grundsatzentscheid handelt. Es ist weiterhin die Aufgabe der kantonalen Tierversuchskommission, jedes Gesuch mit Versuchen an Tieren im Rahmen einer Güterabwägung als Einzelfall zu überprüfen.