Medical Research

There is close collaboration between researchers at the University of Zurich and the University’s hospitals in all areas of biomedical research. A range of joint projects and interdisciplinary cooperations is in place to enable the University to systematically help translate basic research findings into clinical practice.

Clinical Research Priority Programs

The Faculty of Medicine’s Clinical Research Priority Programs (CCRPs) are primarily designed to promote areas of clinical research with the aim of better understanding the causes of disease, and developing innovative treatments.

University Research Priority Programs and NCCRs

The University Research Priority Programs (URPP) and National Centers of Competence in Research (NCCRs) are designed to strengthen and connect selected areas of science and research. The University is committed to long-term support in the following areas of medical research:
URPP Translational Cancer Research
URPP Integrative Human Physiology
URPP Systems Biology / Functional Genomics
URPP Dynamics of Healthy Aging
NCCR Kidney.CH

Hochschulmedizin Zürich

Hochschulmedizin Zürich (HMZ) is an umbrella organization created by the University of Zurich, the University’s hospitals, and ETH Zurich to coordinate research on the interface between basic medical research, the natural sciences, technology, clinical research, and health care.

Wyss Zurich Translational Center

The Wyss Zurich Translational Center is a joint venture between the University of Zurich and ETH Zurich, with labs for researchers working on projects in the emerging fields of regenerative medicine and robotics technology. The aim is to facilitate the efficient translation of research in these areas into new forms of medical therapy, and innovative products.

Strategy for Highly Specialized Medicine

The government of Canton Zurich has formulated a Strategy for Highly Specialized Medicine (HSM) to promote selected projects at UZH and its hospitals working for excellence in research and health care.

Centers of Competence

Medizinische Forschung

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit den universitären Spitälern engagieren sich Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Universität Zürich in allen Bereichen der biomedizinischen Forschung. Mittels Verbundprojekten und interdisziplinärer Kooperationen fördert die Universität gezielt die Translation grundlagenwissenschaftlicher Forschungserkenntnisse zur klinischen Anwendung.

Klinische Forschungsschwerpunkte

Mit den Klinischen Forschungsschwerpunkten (KFSP) fördert die medizinische Fakultät primär klinische Forschungsbereiche. Ziele des Instruments sind ein verbessertes Verständnis der Krankheitsursachen und die Entwicklung von innovativen Behandlungsmethoden.

Universitäre und Nationale Forschungsschwerpunkte

Mit den Universitären Forschungsschwerpunkten (UFSP) und den Nationalen Forschungsschwerpunkten (NFS) werden ausgewählte Wissenschaftsbereiche vernetzt und gestärkt. Im Bereich der medizinischen Forschung werden an der Universität folgende Schwerpunkte nachhaltig unterstützt:
UFSP Translationale Krebsforschung
UFSP Integrative Humanphysiologie
UFSP Systembiologie / Funktionelle Genomik
UFSP Dynamik gesunden Alterns
NFS Kidney.CH

Hochschulmedizin Zürich

Mit der Dachorganisation Hochschulmedizin Zürich (HMZ) koordiniert die Universität Zürich zusammen mit den universitären Spitälern und der ETH Zürich die Forschung im Grenzbereich zwischen medizinischen Grundlagenwissenschaften, Naturwissenschaften, Technik, klinischer Forschung und medizinischer Versorgung.

Wyss Zurich Translational Center

In den Labors des Wyss Zurich Translational Center der Universität und der ETH Zürich arbeiten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler an Projekten in den aufstrebenden Forschungsfeldern der regenerativen Medizin und Robotik mit dem Ziel einer effizienten Translation in neue medizinische Therapieformen und innovative Produkte.

Hochspezialisierte Medizin

Im Rahmen der Gesamtstrategie Hochspezialisierte Medizin (HSM) fördert der Regierungsrat des Kantons Zürich ausgewählte Projekte an der Universität Zürich und den universitären Spitälern zur Ermöglichung von Spitzenleistungen im Wissensbereich sowie der medizinischen Versorgung.

Kompetenzzentren