Open Science

The university is the place within society for free, public scholarly activity. Open access to knowledge and scholarly and academic processes enables knowledge to be disseminated and developed more effectively, and enhances the credibility of academic research and scholarship.

Open Access to Publication

The University of Zurich facilitates the dissemination of scholarly and scientific knowledge by promoting open, free access to academic publications (Open Access). Wherever possible, scholars and researchers at UZH make their publications fully available in the Zurich Open Repository and Archive (ZORA). They can publish scientific observations at ScienceMatters. The UZH covers the cost for publication in 2016 and 2017.

Open Access to Data

Open access to research-related primary and metadata is beneficial because it makes this information available for use and evaluation by other scholars and researchers. It also makes it easier to understand, reconstruct, and reproduce the results of research. A proposal for a consistent approach to processing, archiving, and publishing research data at UZH is currently being formulated.

The Swiss Center for Expertise in the Social Sciences (FORS) provides a service for storing and using research data in the relevant disciplines in Switzerland.

MOOCs

One of the ways of providing open access to education is by means of Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs). UZH supports its members with the development of MOOCs (MOOC Coordination, in German).

Citizen Science

Citizen science projects involve members of the public in designing and executing research. First platforms for public participation in scientific research are offered by the URPP Dynamics of Healthy Aging, a University Research Priority Program at UZH, and the MS Register.

Open Science

Die Universität ist der gesellschaftliche Ort freier und öffentlicher Wissenschaft. Ein offener Zugang zu Wissen und zu den Prozessen in der Wissenschaft erhöht die Verbreitung und Weiterentwicklung von Wissen sowie die Glaubwürdigkeit der Wissenschaft.

Open Access to Publication

Die Universität Zürich fördert den freien und kostenlosen Zugang zu wissenschaftlichen Publikationen und damit die Verbreitung von wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen (Open Access). Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der UZH machen ihre Publikationen nach Möglichkeit vollständig auf dem Zurich Open Repository and Archive (ZORA) zugänglich. Gut gesicherte wissenschaftliche Einzelbeobachtungen können auf der online-Pattform ScienceMatters veröffentlicht werden. Die UZH übernimmt die Kosten der Publikation (gilt für die Jahre 2016 und 2017).

Open Access to Data

Ein offener Zugang zu den Primär- und Metadaten von Forschungsvorhaben ermöglicht deren weitere Nutzung und Auswertung zugunsten der Wissenschaft. Überdies lassen sich Forschungsresultate besser nachvollziehen. Ein Vorschlag für eine konsistente Vorgehensweise bei der Verarbeitung, Archivierung und Publikation von Forschungsdaten an der UZH wird im Moment erarbeitet.

Das Swiss Center for Expertise in the Social Sciences (FORS) stellt für die entsprechenden Fachgebiete in der Schweiz einen Service zur Speicherung und Nutzung von Forschungsdaten zur Verfügung.

MOOCs

Ein offener Zugang zu Bildung kann über Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) erreicht werden. Die UZH unterstützt ihre Angehörigen bei der Entwicklung von MOOCs (Koordination MOOCs).

Citizen Science

Bürgerinnen und Bürger werden bei Citizen Science-Projekten in die Konzeption und Durchführung von Forschungsvorhaben einbezogen. Erste Plattform für Partizipative Forschung mit der Öffentlichkeit bieten z.B. der UFSP Dynamik Gesunden Alternsund das MS Register.