National Centers of Competence in Research

Starting in 2001, the Swiss National Science Foundation has had a federal mandate to promote National Centers of Competence in Research (NCCRs). NCCRs are long-term research projects of outstanding quality which have special emphasis on both interdisciplinary and innovative approaches within the disciplines involved.

The objective of the NCCR program is the sustained strengthening of Swiss research in fields that are highly relevant for the development of the society and economy. NCCRs are supposed to achieve internationally recognised research, to support talented doctoral and postdoc students and to engage in fostering the transfer of knowledge and technology.

The management office of each NCCR is situated at a university or another research institution. In addition to the research groups based at the home institution, or leading house, each NCCR serves as a network in which other teams working throughout Switzerland are directly involved.

NCCRs with UZH as Leading House

The University of Zurich serves as leading house at three of the current NCCRs:

NCCRs with Participation of UZH Research Groups

UZH research groups are involved in ten other NCCRs:

Former NCCR (University of Zurich as Leading House)

Nationale Forschungsschwerpunkte

Der Schweizerische Nationalfonds fördert seit 2001 im Auftrag des Bundes Nationale Forschungsschwerpunkte (NFS). NFS sind langfristig angelegte Forschungsvorhaben von höchster Qualität und mit besonderer Gewichtung interdisziplinärer, aber auch neuer, innovativer Ansätze innerhalb der beteiligten Disziplinen.

Ziel des Programms ist die nachhaltige Stärkung des Forschungsplatzes Schweiz in Gebieten, welche für die Entwicklung von Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft besonders relevant sind. Die NFS sollen international sichtbare Forschung betreiben, talentierte Doktorierende und Postdocs fördern und sich in den Bereichen Wissens- und Technologietransfer engagieren.

Das Management eines NFS ist jeweils an einer Hochschule oder einer anderen Forschungsinstitution angesiedelt. Neben den Forschungsgruppen dieser Heiminstitution verfügt ein NFS über ein Netzwerk, in das weitere Forschungsteams aus der ganzen Schweiz eingebunden sind.

NFS mit Heiminstitution Universität Zürich

Die Universität Zürich ist bei drei laufenden NFS Heiminstitution (Leading House):

NFS mit Beteiligung der Universität Zürich

Bei zehn weiteren NFS sind Forschungsgruppen der Universität Zürich beteiligt:

Ehemalige NFS (Heiminstitution Universität Zürich)