Assistant Professorships

Assistant professors are junior scholars who teach and pursue their own research. They can apply for funding for their projects at, for example, the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) or the European Union (EU). As members of a faculty at UZH, they have the right to award a PhD to doctoral candidates.

Assistant professorships are temporary positions; the objective of this career phase is to qualify for a permanent professorship. Annual progress meetings with a member of the faculty board or an advisory committee help scholars to plan further career steps. In addition, the department for Human Resources offers continuing education courses for people in leadership positions at UZH.

At UZH, there is a distinction between a regular assistant professorship and a tenure-track assistant professorship. The tenure-track positions are reserved for highly qualified junior scholars if the faculty in question can offer a chair in the corresponding field. Procedures on granting tenure-track positions are determined by the individual faculties.

Particularly accomplished scholars can apply for SNSF professorships or ERC Grants and take on an independent assistant professorship at a Swiss institute of higher learning.

Assistenzprofessur an der UZH

Assistenzprofessorinnen und Assistenzprofessoren sind junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die eigenständig forschen und lehren. Sie können sich um Projektförderungen z.B. des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) und der Europäischen Union (EU) bewerben. Als Mitglieder der Fakultät haben sie Promotionsrecht.

Die Anstellung auf einer Assistenzprofessur ist befristet. Ziel dieser Laufbahnphase ist die erfolgreiche Bewerbung auf eine unbefristete Professur. Jährliche Standortgespräche mit einem Mitglied der Fakultätsleitung oder mit einem Begleitkomitee unterstützen die Planung der weiteren Karriereschritte. Eine Weiterbildung für universitäre Führungskräfte wird von der Personalabteilung angeboten.

Die Universität Zürich kennt neben der klassischen Assistenzprofessur auch die Assistenzprofessur mit Tenure Track. Auf sie können hervorragend qualifizierte Nachwuchskräfte berufen werden, sofern in der Entwicklungsplanung der Fakultät ein entsprechender Lehrstuhl enthalten ist. Das Tenure Track Verfahren wird von den Fakultäten bestimmt.

Exzellente junge Forschende können sich um SNF-Förderungsprofessuren oder ERC Grants bewerben, die ihnen ermöglichen, mit eigenen Mitteln als Assistenzprofessorin oder Assistenzprofessor an einer Schweizer Universität zu arbeiten.