Guidelines for Students with Visa Requirements

For study purposes, you need a national “D” visa for long-term stays. Please contact the Swiss representation in your home country at least three months before you plan to enter Switzerland.

Under no circumstances should you enter Switzerland on a tourist visa! A tourist visa CANNOT be converted to a residence permit after you have entered the country.

Although Switzerland is an associated member of the Schengen/Dublin agreement, a Schengen visa from another country entitles the holder only to enter and travel through Switzerland, but not to take up residence. To do so, you need a national “D” visa.

You must enclose the following documents with your visa application:

Please note that a document missing from the list can lead to delays. If the Swiss representation in your country requests any further documents, please enclose these too.

Cover Sheet for Visa Application

Please use our checklist as a cover sheet for your visa application. This helps to ensure you have included all the requested documents. It also helps the Swiss authorities to find the relevant information more quickly.

Visa Application

The application form is provided by the Swiss embassy or consulate in your country of residence or can be downloaded from the Internet. It must usually be submitted in triplicate. Most Swiss embassies or consulates require you to present yourself in person, so please clarify this in advance.

Please note that a student visa is generally valid from around 2-3 weeks before the start of semester, irrespective of how early you submitted your application. Should you wish to enter Switzerland at an earlier date, you need to specify this in your visa application. Please supply detailed reasons for your request.

Website of the Federal Office for Migration

Passport

Copy of the first (relevant) pages of your passport. The passport must be valid for at least three months beyond the duration of your stay.

Three Recent Photos

Confirmation of Admission to the University of Zurich

Please submit the document confirming your admission to matriculation that you received from the Admissions Office for the attention of the relevant authorities,

Information Regarding Evidence of Payment of the Semester Fee

Some Swiss embassies or consulates require for the visa application evidence of payment of the semester fee. Since semester fees at UZH are not paid until after you matriculate in person (i.e. after you have entered Switzerland), you are not able to supply this evidence.

If required, you can enclose our information sheet on this subject.

Curriculum Vitae / Foreign Language Skills

Curriculum Vitae/resumé in a table format in German or English; any foreign language skills must be listed in as much detail as possible.

Diplomas

Copies and notarized translations of the diplomas in German. This rule does not apply to diplomas issued in German, English, French, or Italian.

Motivation Letter / Future Plans

Please write – if possible in German – a personal statement declaring the following:

1) The reasons why you want to study in Switzerland. Please also mention that your Master’s study program is the next logical step after your Bachelor’s study program and why you need this qualification for your professional future.

2) Your future plans after completing your studies.

Written Pledge to Exit Switzerland

You must write a special letter in German or English in which you pledge to leave Switzerland after completing your studies. You can use our sample letter as a basis.

Proof of Sufficient Financial Means

You need to prove that you have the financial means to cover the costs of studying and living in Switzerland. Suitable documents include your own bank statements and confirmation of your scholarship or a guarantee from a person resident in Switzerland.

  • The Migration Office of the Canton of Zurich requires a confirmation from a Swiss-domiciled bank (foreign bank with a branch in Switzerland OR a Swiss bank with a branch in your home country) stating that you have access to the equivalent of CHF 21,000.- at the beginning of your studies. The account must be held in your own name and the currency must be Swiss francs, euros, or US dollars.
    A list of all approved banks in Switzerland has been published by Finma: FINMA List of Authorised Banks and Securities Dealers
    PLEASE NOTE: Even major international banks are not accepted if they do not have a branch in Switzerland.
    Letters of support or bank statements from parents or relatives will not be accepted.
  • Alternatively, you can supply what is known as a Guarantee Declaration. In this case, a solvent person living in Switzerland (a Swiss citizen or foreigner with a B or C residence permit) signs a form officially pledging to cover costs of up to CHF 21,000.- that could fall to the community during your stay in Switzerland. This includes accidents and illness, as well as your return trip. This form will be issued by the Migration Office of the Canton of Zurich after receiving your application.

Costs / Fees

  1. When applying for your visa, you will be required to pay a fee to the relevant Swiss embassy or consulate (between 50.- and 100.- Swiss francs).
  2. The Migration Office of the canton responsible for processing your application will also charge a further CHF 95.- for the document that entitles you to be issued with a visa.
  3. On registering in the city of Zurich, a further CHF 162.- will be charged by your local registration office (Kreisbüro) for your residence permit.

After entering Switzerland, all students must register at their place of residence within 14 days. You will find further information under After Entering Switzerland.

§ Please note: The information given on this page is for information purposes only and holds no guarantee for complete accuracy. The regulations on which this information is based may have changed since these guidelines were last reviewed. For legally binding information, please consult the website of the Federal Office for Migration or contact the Swiss embassy in your country of origin. §

Leitfaden für Studierende mit Visumspflicht

Zu Studienzwecken benötigen Sie ein nationales Visum D für langfristige Aufenthalte. Setzen Sie sich mindestens drei Monate vor der geplanten Einreise mit der Schweizer Vertretung in Ihrem Wohnland in Verbindung.

Reisen Sie auf keinen Fall mit einem Touristenvisum in die Schweiz ein! Ein Touristenvisum kann nach der Einreise in die Schweiz NICHT in eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung umgewandelt werden.

Obwohl die Schweiz dem Schengen/Dublin-Abkommen beigetreten ist, berechtigt ein Schengen-Visum eines anderen Staates weiterhin nur zur Ein- und Durchreise, jedoch nicht zur Wohnsitznahme. Dazu bedarf es eines nationalen Visums D.

Legen Sie Ihrem Visumsantrag die folgenden Dokumente bei:

Bitte beachten Sie, dass das Fehlen eines Dokuments dieser Liste zu Verzögerungen führen kann. Verlangt die Schweizer Vertretung an Ihrem Wohnort noch weitere Dokumente, so legen Sie diese ebenfalls bei.

Deckblatt zum Visumsantrag

Bitte benutzen Sie unsere Checkliste als Deckblatt zu Ihrem Visumsantrag. Dies erleichtert es Ihnen, zu überprüfen, ob Sie tatsächlich alle verlangten Dokumente beigelegt haben. Zudem finden die zuständigen Behörden in der Schweiz die relevanten Informationen schneller.

Visumsantrag

Das Antragsformular wird von der zuständigen Auslandsvertretung zur Verfügung gestellt oder steht online zum Download zur Verfügung. Es muss in der Regel 3-fach eingereicht werden. Die meisten Auslandsvertretungen verlangen, dass Sie persönlich dort vorsprechen. Klären Sie dies bitte vorgängig ab.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass ein Studierendenvisum in der Regel ab ca. 2-3 Wochen vor Semesterbeginn gültig ist, unabhängig davon, wie früh Sie es beantragt haben. Falls Sie früher einreisen möchten, müssen Sie das im Visumsantrag vermerken und ihren Wunsch ausführlich begründen.

Webseite Bundesamt für Migration, Download Visumsantrag

Reisepass

Kopie der ersten (relevanten) Seiten Ihres Reisepasses. Der Pass muss mindestens drei Monate über das geplante Aufenthaltsdatum hinaus gültig sein.

Drei aktuelle Passfotos

Zulassungsbescheinigung der Universität Zürich

Legen Sie die Zulassungsbescheinigung zur Immatrikulation „zu Händen der zuständigen Behörden“ bei, die Sie von der Zulassungsstelle erhalten haben.

Information über den Nachweis der Bezahlung der Semestergebühren

Manche Schweizer Botschaften oder Konsulate verlangen für den Visumsantrag einen Nachweis über die Bezahlung der Semestergebühren. Da an der UZH die Bezahlung der Semestergebühren aber erst nach der persönlichen Immatrikulation erfolgt (also nach der Einreise), können sie diesen Nachweis nicht erbringen.

Auf Verlangen können Sie unser entsprechendes Informationsschreiben beilegen.

Lebenslauf / Fremdsprachenkenntnisse

Tabellarischer Lebenslauf in Deutsch oder Englisch; Fremdsprachenkenntnisse müssen möglichst detailliert aufgelistet werden.

Diplome

Kopien und beglaubigte Übersetzungen der Diplome ins Deutsche. Davon ausgenommen sind Diplome, die in Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch oder Italienisch ausgestellt sind.

Motivationsschreiben / Zukunftspläne

Verfassen Sie – wenn möglich auf Deutsch – ein persönliches Statement, in dem Sie Folgendes darlegen:

1) Gründe für Ihr Studium in der Schweiz. Erwähnen Sie, dass Ihr Masterstudium die logische Fortsetzung Ihres Bachelorstudiums ist und warum Sie diese Ausbildung für Ihre berufliche Zukunft benötigen.

2) Umschreiben Sie Ihre Zukunftspläne nach Abschluss des Studiums.

Schriftliche Wiederausreiseverpflichtung

Sie müssen sich mit einem speziellen Schreiben auf Deutsch oder Englisch verpflichten, die Schweiz nach Abschluss Ihres Studiums wieder zu verlassen. Als Vorlage können Sie unseren Musterbrief verwenden.

Nachweis über ausreichende finanzielle Mittel

Sie müssen nachweisen, dass Sie Ihr Studium und Ihren Lebensunterhalt in der Schweiz finanzieren können. Dazu geeignet sind Ihre eigenen Bankauszüge sowie Stipendienentscheide oder eine Garantieerklärung einer in der Schweiz wohnhaften Person.

  • Das Migrationsamt des Kantons Zürich verlangt eine Bestätigung einer in der Schweiz domizilierten Bank (ausländische Bank mit Niederlassung in der Schweiz ODER Schweizer Bank mit Niederlassung in Ihrem Heimatland), wonach Ihnen zu Beginn des Studiums ein Betrag von umgerechnet CHF 21'000 zur Verfügung steht. Das Konto muss auf Ihren eigenen Namen lauten und in der Bankbestätigung muss der Betrag in Schweizer Franken, Euro oder US Dollar angegeben sein.
    Eine Liste aller in der Schweiz bewilligten Banken wird von der Finma publiziert: Liste der von der FINMA bewilligten Banken und Effektenhändler
    ACHTUNG: Auch grosse, international tätige Banken werden nicht akzeptiert, wenn sie keine Niederlassung in der Schweiz haben.
    Unterstützungsbriefe oder Bankbestätigungen der Eltern oder Verwandten werden nicht akzeptiert.
  • Anstelle des Finanzierungsnachweises kann auch eine so genannte Garantieerklärung eingereicht werden. In diesem Fall muss eine in der Schweiz wohnhafte solvente Person (Schweizer Bürgerinnen und Bürger oder Ausländer mit Aufenthaltsbewilligung B oder C) mit einem speziellen Formular dafür garantieren, dass sie die ungedeckten Kosten einschliesslich Unfall, Krankheit, Rückreise, die dem Gemeinwesen durch Ihren Aufenthalt in der Schweiz entstehen können, bis zu einem Betrag von CHF 21'000.- übernimmt. Ein entsprechendes Formular wird nach Gesuchseingang vom Migrationsamt des Kantons Zürich abgegeben.

Kosten / Gebühren

  1. Beim Visumsantrag zahlen Sie die Gebühr für Ihr Visum an die zuständige Schweizer Vertretung (zwischen 50.- und 100.- Schweizer Franken)
  2. Das Migrationsamt des für Ihren Antrag zuständigen Kantons berechnet weitere CHF 95.- für die „Ermächtigung zur Visumserteilung“.
  3. Bei der Anmeldung in der Stadt Zürich werden weitere CHF 162 vom zuständigen Kreisbüro für die Aufenthaltsbewilligung berechnet.

Nach der Einreise müssen Sie sich alle Studierenden innerhalb von 14 Tagen an Ihrem Wohnsitz anmelden. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter 'Nach der Einreise'

§ Bitte beachten Sie: Die Angaben auf dieser Seite dienen Informationszwecken und sind ohne Gewähr. Die zugrundeliegenden Regelungen können sich seit der letzten Prüfung dieser Angaben verändert haben. Für rechtsverbindliche Informationen konsultieren Sie bitte die Webseite des Schweizerischen Bundesamtes für Migration oder erkundigen Sie sich bei der Schweizer Vertretung in Ihrem Heimatland. §