After Entering Switzerland

Registering at the Local Registration Office (Kreisbüro)

After entering Switzerland, you must register at the registration office (Kreisbüro) in your home district in Zurich within 14 days and apply for a residence permit. If you don’t live in the city of Zurich, please register at the registration office (Einwohnerkontrolle) at your place of residence.

This applies to all students (EU/EFTA and non-EU/EFTA countries).

You should take the following documents to the registration:
EU/EFTA

  1. Valid passport or identity card
  2. Proof of Matriculation
    (you will receive this confirmation from the Admissions Office after you matriculate in person)
  3. Rental agreement
  4. A recent photo
  5. Proof of sufficient financial means. Deemed to be acceptable proof is:
    1. An own bank statement or
    2. Confirmation from your parents that they will finance you during your studies.
  6. CHF 20.- (registration fee)
  7. CHF 65.- (fee for identification card)

Non-EU/EFTA

  1. Valid passport with visa
  2. Proof of matriculation
    (you will receive this confirmation from the Admissions Office after you matriculate)
  3. Rental agreement
  4. CHF 20.- (registration fee)
  5. CHF 142.- (fee for identification card)

Extension of the Residence Permit

Residence permits are generally issued for one year and can then be extended for as long as your studies last.

Please note that whenever you wish to extend your residence permit, you will be required to submit renewed proof of sufficient financial means and your Confirmation of Matriculation (Immatrikulationsbestätigung). In contrast to the proof-of-matriculation vouchers (Studienbescheinigung), which you receive by regular mail upon paying your semester fees, the Confirmation of Matriculation contains additional information on how many ECTS credits you have earned so far and whether they have already been counted toward a degree. You can order a Confirmation of Matriculation at the Student Administration Office; the cost is two Swiss francs. The Migration Office will not accept a proof-of-matriculation voucher when you apply to extend your residence permit. Attached you can see samples of the documents:

Muster Immatrikulationsbestätigung
Zoom (JPG, 963 KB)
Confirmation of Matriculation
Muster Studienbescheinigung
Zoom (JPG, 881 KB)
Proof-of-Matriculation Voucher

Maximum Length of Stay in Switzerland for Students from non-EU/EFTA Countries

Students from non-EU/EFTA countries are permitted to stay in Switzerland for study purposes for a maximum total of 8 years. This includes staying on as a doctoral candidate or as a postdoctoral researcher.

Health Insurance

All students are legally required to take out health insurance in Switzerland.

More information can be found on the following website: http://www.uzh.ch/de/studies/studentlife/insurances.html.

§ Please Note: The information given on this page is for information purposes only and holds no guarantee for complete accuracy. The regulations on which this information is based may have changed since these guidelines were last reviewed. For legally binding information, please consult the website of the Federal Office for Migration or contact the Swiss embassy in your country of origin. §

Nach der Einreise

Anmeldung beim Kreisbüro

Nach der Einreise in die Schweiz müssen Sie sich innerhalb von 14 Tagen im Kreisbüro ihres Zürcher Wohnquartiers anmelden und eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung beantragen. Wenn Sie nicht in der Stadt Zürich wohnen, melden Sie sich bei der Einwohnerkontrolle des Wohnorts an.

Dies gilt für alle Studierenden (EU/EFTA und Drittstaaten).

Bei der Anmeldung sollten Sie folgende Unterlagen mitbringen:
EU/EFTA

  1. Gültiger Pass oder Personalausweis
  2. Studienbescheinigung
    (diese Bestätigung erhalten Sie nach der persönlichen Immatrikulation von der Zulassungsstelle)
  3. Mietvertrag
  4. Ein aktuelles Passfoto
  5. Nachweis über ausreichende finanzielle Mittel. Als Nachweis gilt:
    1. Eigener Kontoauszug oder
    2. Bestätigung der Eltern, dass diese Sie während des Studiums finanziell unterstützen.
  6. CHF 20.- (Meldebestätigung)
  7. CHF 65.- (Ausweisgebühr)

Nicht EU/EFTA

  1. Gültiger Pass mit Visum
  2. Studienbescheinigung
    (diese Bestätigung erhalten Sie nach der persönlichen Immatrikulation von der Zulassungsstelle)
  3. Mietvertrag
  4. CHF 20.- (Meldebestätigung)
  5. CHF 142.- (Ausweisgebühr)

Verlängerung der Aufenthaltsbewilligung

Die Aufenthaltsbewilligung wird in der Regel für ein Jahr erteilt und kann danach jeweils solange verlängert werden, wie Ihr Studium dauert.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass für jede Verlängerung der Aufenthaltsbewilligung ein neuer Nachweis über ausreichende finanzielle Mittel erbracht und eine „Immatrikulationsbestätigung“ vorgelegt werden muss. Die „Immatrikulationsbestätigung“ enthält – anders als die „Studienbescheinigung“, die Ihnen jeweils nach Bezahlen der Semestergebühr per Post zugestellt wird – zusätzlich Informationen darüber, wie viele ECTS Credits Sie bereits erworben haben und ob diese bereits an einen Abschluss angerechnet wurden. Die „Immatrikulationsbestätigung“ können Sie jeweils bei der Kanzlei für zwei Franken beziehen. Die Studienbescheinigung wird bei einer Verlängerung der Aufenthaltsbewilligung vom Migrationsamt nicht akzeptiert. Hier finden Sie Musterbeispiele dieser beiden Dokumente:

Muster Immatrikulationsbestätigung
Zoom (JPG, 963 KB)
Immatrikulationsbestätigung
Muster Studienbescheinigung
Zoom (JPG, 881 KB)
Studienbescheinigung

Maximale Aufenthaltszeit in der Schweiz für Studierende aus Drittstaaten

Studierende aus Drittländern (nicht EU/EFTA) dürfen sich insgesamt für maximal 8 Jahre in der Schweiz zu Studienzwecken aufhalten. Dies beinhaltet gegebenenfalls auch ein Doktorat oder ein Aufenthalt als Postdoc.

Krankenversicherung

Alle Studierenden unterliegen der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherungspflicht in der Schweiz.

Weitere Informationen hierzu finden Sie auf folgender Webseite: http://www.uzh.ch/de/studies/studentlife/insurances.html

§ Bitte beachten Sie: Die Angaben auf dieser Seite dienen Informationszwecken und sind ohne Gewähr. Die zugrundeliegenden Regelungen können sich seit der letzten Prüfung dieser Angaben verändert haben. Für rechtsverbindliche Informationen konsultieren Sie bitte die Webseite des Schweizerischen Bundesamtes für Migration oder erkundigen Sie sich bei der Schweizer Vertretung in Ihrem Heimatland. §