Finding Your Way Around

How Do I Find My Lecture Hall?

Multiple sites

UZH is located at multiple sites. The course catalogue specifies the room where your course will take place.

Deciphering room codes

Room codes at UZH are generally structured as follows:

Example: RAI-F-041

1. Name of building (RAI = Rämistrasse 74 building)
2. Floor of building in question (Floor F)
3. Number of room on floor in question (041)

Finding buildings with the virtual map of UZH

On the virtual map of UZH you'll find sites on the Zurich city map, and in some cases floor plans of buildings as well. You can use the search function too!
Maps

When and How Can I Gain Access to Buildings?

Opening Hours

Building opening hours vary from site to site. You'll find details of current opening hours and exceptional closures (for example during public holidays) on the UZH website or via the following link:
Opening Hours of University Buildings

Accessibility

You'll find additional information on accessibility and barrier-free access to buildings on the Uniability website.
Uniability

How Do I Get from One Site to Another?

City – Oerlikon

Free shuttle buses for UZH students during main breaks
Tram 10 from ETH/Universitätsspital or Leutschenbach
Shuttle Bus Timetable and Stops

City – Irchel

Tram 9 from ETH/Universitätsspital or Universität Irchel
Tram 10 from ETH/Universitätsspital or Universität Irchel
VBZ Timetable

Irchel – Oerlikon

Tram 10 from Universität Irchel or Milchbuck, or Bahnhof Oerlikon Nord or Leutschenbach
Tram 14 from Milchbuck or Bahnhof Oerlikon Nord
VBZ Timetable

How Is UZH Structured?

The University of Zurich consists of seven teaching and administrative units: the faculties. The faculties' remit is research, teaching, and services. A faculty's administrative office is called the dean's office. The section of the dean's office concerned with study-related matters offers services relating to the organization and administration of your studies (including providing information and student advisory services, and processing applications).

Faculty determined by your study program

The faculty to which you belong depends on your major study program (or single major). The faculty to which you belong also determines what academic degree you are awarded. For example, if you've successfully completed a Bachelor's degree program at the Faculty of Law, you earn the degree of Bachelor of Law UZH.

In addition to this, the study programs you have selected determine the institute or department you're affiliated to. So for example if you're at the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences doing history as your major study program (your major) and German linguistics as your minor study program (your minor), you're affiliated to the Department of History for your major and the Department of German Studies for your minor. In this example you're doing both your major and your minor at the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, but are affiliated to different departments.

Who should you ask for specific questions?

You should talk to the dean's office of your faculty if you have questions on the structure of your studies, academic achievement, or degrees; you should talk to your department for questions related to the content of your study program or programs. Correspondingly you'll find structural and organizational information on the structure of studies, academic achievement, and degrees on your faculty's website, while you're more likely to find technical and subject-related information on your department's website.

Central Services

Alongside the faculties, UZH offers Central Services encompassing, for example, the Student Services Office, the International Relations Office, the Language Center, the Graduate Campus, and the various advisory services and help desks. These are responsible for diverse central administrative and academic matters and support tasks connected with the different aspects of studying at the University.

Orientierungshilfen

Wie den Hörsaal finden?

Verschiedene Standorte

Die UZH ist auf verschiedene Standorte verteilt. Im Vorlesungsverzeichnis ist der jeweilige Raum, in dem Ihre Veranstaltung stattfindet, angegeben.

Raumkürzel auflösen

Die Raumkürzel an der UZH setzen sich in der Regel folgendermassen zusammen:

Beispiel RAI-F-041

1. Gebäudebezeichnung (RAI = Gebäude Rämistrasse 74)
2. Stockwerkangabe im entsprechenden Gebäude (Stockwerk F)
3. Raumnummer im entsprechenden Stockwerk (041)

Gebäude finden mit dem virtuellen UZH-Plan

Auf dem virtuellen UZH-Plan finden Sie die Standorte auf dem Zürcher Stadtplan und teilweise auch Stockwerkpläne der Gebäude. Nutzen Sie auch die Suchfunktion!
Pläne und Orientierung

Wann und wie sind die Gebäude zugänglich?

Öffnungszeiten

Die Öffnungszeiten der Gebäude unterscheiden sich je nach Standort. Die aktuellen Öffnungszeiten mit ausserordentlichen Schliessungen, z.B. über Feiertage, finden Sie auf der Webseite der UZH oder im unten stehenden Link:
Öffnungszeiten der UZH-Gebäude

Zugänglichkeit

Zusätzliche Informationen zur Zugänglichkeit und Barrierefreiheit von Gebäuden finden Sie auf der Webseite von Uniability.
Uniability

Wie zwischen den Standorten pendeln?

Zentrum - Oerlikon

Kostenlose Shuttelbusse für Studierende der UZH in den grossen Pausen
Tramlinie 10 ab Haltestelle ETH/Universitätsspital resp. Leutschenbach
Fahrplan und Haltestellen Shuttlebus

Zentrum - Irchel

Tramlinien 9 ab Haltestelle ETH/Universitätsspital, resp. Universität Irchel
Tramlinien 10 ab Haltestelle ETH/Universitätsspital, resp. Universität Irchel
VBZ-Fahrplan

Irchel - Oerlikon

Tramlinie 10 ab Haltestelle Universität Irchel oder Milchbuck resp. Bahnhof Oerlikon Nord oder Leutschenbach
Tramlinie 14 ab Haltestelle Milchbuck resp. Bahnhof Oerlikon Nord
VBZ-Fahrplan

Wie ist die UZH aufgebaut?

Die Universität Zürich besteht aus sieben Lehr- und Verwaltungseinheiten: den Fakultäten. Die Aufgaben der Fakultäten sind Forschung, Lehre und Dienstleistung. Die Verwaltung einer Fakultät heisst Dekanat. Der mit Angelegenheiten des Studiums befasste Bereich des Dekanats bietet Dienstleistungen für die Organisation und Administration Ihres Studiums (u.a. Informationsbereitstellung, Studierendenberatung, Bearbeitung von Gesuchen) an.

Studienprogramm bestimmt Zugehörigkeit

Ihr Major-Studienprogramm (oder Mono-Studienprogramm) bestimmt, welcher Fakultät Sie angehören. Über diese Zugehörigkeit wird auch bestimmt, welchen akademischen Grad Sie erwerben: Wenn Sie beispielsweise einen Bachelorstudiengang an der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben, erwerben Sie den Grad Bachelor of Law UZH.

Zusätzlich bestimmen Ihre gewählten Studienprogramme die Zugehörigkeit zu einem Institut (manchmal auch Seminar oder Klinik genannt): Wenn Sie beispielsweise an der Philosophischen Fakultät im Major-Studienprogramm („Hauptfach“) Geschichte und im Minor-Studienprogramm („Nebenfach“) Deutsche Sprachwissenschaft studieren, dann sind Sie im Major-Studienprogramm an das Historische Seminar und im Minor-Studienprogramm an das Deutschen Seminar angebunden. Somit studieren Sie in diesem Beispiel sowohl Ihr Major- als auch Ihr Minor-Studienprogramm an der Philosophischen Fakultät, sind jedoch an unterschiedliche Institute angebunden.

Wohin mit welchen Fragen?

Fragen zu Studienstruktur, Studienleistungen oder Abschlüssen sollten Sie an das Dekanat Ihrer Fakultät richten, inhaltliche Fragen mit Studienprogrammbezug an Ihr Institut. Entsprechend finden Sie auch strukturelle und organisatorische Informationen zu Studienstruktur, Studienleistungen und Abschlüssen auf der Webseite Ihrer Fakultät, inhaltliche und fachliche Informationen eher auf der Webseite Ihres Instituts.

Zentrale Dienste

Neben den Fakultäten gibt es an der UZH die Zentralen Dienste, zu denen beispielweise die Abteilung Studierende, die Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen, das Sprachenzentrum, der Graduate Campus oder die verschiedenen Beratungsstellen gehören. Diese sind zuständig für verschiedene zentrale administrative und akademische Geschäfte oder Supportaufgaben in Zusammenhang mit den verschiedenen Aspekten des Studiums.