Insurance

Compulsory Health Insurance

Health insurance is compulsory for anyone staying in Switzerland longer than three months. Students from an EU state who are legally insured in their home country can apply for exemption from this obligation by using the European Health Card or a provisional certificate, both of which issued by the health insurance company in the home country.

After your arrival in Switzerland, you will be contacted by the health services department of your place of residence. If you are not contacted, please ask the local authorities about the procedure. If you do not have a provisional certificate or an insurance card, but other proof of health insurance corresponding to Swiss requirements, an exemption from obligatory insurance may be possible. If not, you must take out a policy for basic insurance at a Swiss health insurance company.

Travel insurance taken out in your home country will not be accepted.

Private Liability Insurance

This insurance covers damage inflicted by you on other persons. It also covers any loss incurred in the room or flat you are living in. A private liability insurance costs from CHF 100.- to CHF 150.- per year with a limit of indemnity of up to CHF 5 million. Although private liability insurance is not compulsory, we suggest that all international students close an insurance contract.

Accident Insurance Students at UZH

Students who have an accident on the premises of the University of Zurich are not insured through UZH. Because no comprehensive work-related or non-work-related accident insurance exists for students, it is recommended that they conclude an insurance policy that has adequate coverage for Switzerland. This is especially important for students who work in labs.

Students who are employed at UZH for more than 8 hours per week are insured by UZH in the case of both work-related and non-work-related accidents. Students in employment relationships of under 8 hours per week are granted only work-related accident insurance.

 

Liability

In the case of damage, the University institute, department, or clinic is liable if no gross negligence is present and if the damage was caused in the context of a task performed on behalf of the student's supervisor.

Versicherungen

Krankenversicherungspflicht

Wer länger als drei Monate in der Schweiz wohnt, unterliegt einer gesetzlichen Krankenversicherungspflicht. Studierende aus der EU, die in ihrem Heimatland gesetzlich versichert sind, können sich mit der europäischen Krankenversicherungskarte oder einer provisorischen Ersatzbescheinigung von der Versicherungspflicht befreien lassen. Beides kann bei der Krankenkasse des Heimatlandes bezogen werden.

Der Gesundheitsdienst des Schweizer Wohnortes nimmt nach Ihrer Einreise Kontakt mit Ihnen auf. Sollte dies nicht der Fall sein, so fragen Sie bei Ihrer Gemeinde nach, wie das Verfahren abläuft. Wenn Sie keine Versicherungskarte oder provisorische Ersatzbescheinigung besitzen, aber dennoch einen ausreichenden Versicherungsschutz vorweisen können, der von den schweizerischen Behörden als gleichwertig anerkannt wird, können Sie sich möglicherweise von der Versicherungspflicht befreien lassen. Andernfalls müssen Sie bei einer Schweizer Krankenkasse eine Grundversicherung abschliessen.

Eine Reiseversicherung Ihres Heimatlandes kann nicht als Versicherungsschutz anerkannt werden.

Privat-Haftpflichtversicherung

Sie deckt Schäden, die die Studierenden anderen Personen zufügen. Ebenfalls gedeckt sind Schäden, die durch die Studierenden in der Wohnung oder Zimmer verursacht werden. Eine Privat-Haftpflichtversicherung kostet zwischen CHF 100.– und CHF 150.– pro Jahr mit einer Deckungssumme von bis zu CHF 5 Millionen. Obwohl die Privat-Haftpflichtversicherung nicht obligatorisch ist, empfehlen wir den Studierenden aus dem Ausland den Abschluss einer Privat-Haftpflichtversicherung.

Unfälle Studierende an der UZH

Studierende sind im Fall eines Unfalls in den Räumlichkeiten der UZH nicht gegen Unfall durch die UZH versichert. Da kein umfassender Schutz vor Berufs- und Nichtberufsunfällen gegeben ist, wird den Studierenden empfohlen, eine Unfallversicherung mit ausreichender Deckung für die Schweiz abzuschliessen. Dies gilt vor allem auch für Studierende, welche in einem Labor tätig sind.

Studierende, die an der UZH für mehr als 8 Stunden pro Woche angestellt sind, sind gegen Berufs- und Nichtberufsunfall durch die UZH versichert. Bei weniger als 8 Stunden Anstellung pro Woche sind sie lediglich gegen Berufsunfall versichert.

 

Haftpflicht

Bei einem Haftpflichtfall haftet das Institut bzw. die Klinik der UZH, wenn keine grobe Fahrlässigkeit vorliegt und wenn der Schaden im Rahmen eines Auftrags der/des Vorgesetzten oder der Betreuungsperson erfolgt.