LERU – League of European Research Universities


The League of European Research Universities (LERU) is a network of 23 leading research universities that are located in 12 European countries. LERU is a respected voice in the European Higher Education Area and is committed to upholding sound conditions for research, especially basic research, and teaching.
UZH has been a member of this prestigious network since 2006 and contributes to its numerous working groups in a variety of ways. An overview of UZH’s involvement can be found below.




Governing Bodies

Rectors’ Assembly

Michael O. Hengartner, Rektor


Board of Directors

Bert van der Zwaan (Utrecht, chair), Alice Gast (ICL), Jukka Kola (Helsinki)

kein UZH-Mitglied


BoD+ (chairs of policy groups)

kein UZH-Mitglied

Policy Groups

BIOM: Biomedicine /Life Sciences

Jean-Marc Fritschy, Stv. Dekan MeF


DOCT: Doctoral Studies

Claudine Leysinger, Graduate Campus


ENTE: Enterprise and Innovation

Michael Schaepman, PR VNW


ERPM: European Research Project Managers

Sofia Karakostas, Annika Glauner, EU GrantsAccess


INFO: Information & open access

Christian Fuhrer, Hauptbibliothek


LEAR: Learning & teaching

Gabriele Siegert, PR GSW


NATU: Natural sciences

Roland Sigel, Dekan MNF


RESE: Research

Michael Schaepman, PR VNW


SSHU: Social sciences and humanities

Thomas Hengartner, ISEK

Network Groups

COMM: Directors of Communication

Jürg Dinner, Kommunikation


SON: Senior Officers’ Network

Sandra Engler, Generalsekretariat

Thematic Groups

ALUM: Alumni

Sandra Emanuel, Alumni UZH


ANIM: Animals used for scientific purposes

Michaela Thallmair, Tierschutzbeauftragte


CARE: Research Careers and HR

Stefanie Kahmen, FINF


CHAR: Charitable Funding

Peter Collmer, Generalsekretariat


CRIM: Crime and Social Control

Patrik Manzoni, RWI


ELEA: e-Learning

Eva Seiler Schiedt, Zentrale Informatik


ETHI: Ethics

Francis Cheneval, Philosophisches Seminar


GEND: Gender

Karin Gilland Lutz, Gleichstellung


INTE: Research integrity

Stefanie Kahmen, FINF


LAW: Law deans

Brigitte Tag, Dekanin RWF


THRS: Theology and Religious Studies

Konrad Schmid, Theologisches Seminar