Diversity Policy

The University of Zurich (UZH) is committed to the active and systematic promotion of diversity and prevention of discrimination. As Switzerland’s largest education and research institution, active in Europe and worldwide, UZH embraces diversity as a core value. UZH supports diversity-friendly and inclusive research, teaching, studies, academic self-organization, and administration. With reference to the Federal Constitution of the Swiss Confederation, UZH tolerates no discrimination.

Living diversity

UZH is committed to a culture of truly practiced diversity. UZH staff and students treat each other with esteem, respect, and open-mindedness regardless of age, disability, gender, gender identity, origin, religion, sexual orientation, social or occupational position, or language. In our encounters with each other, we welcome the opportunity to broaden our horizons, to learn from one another, and to thrive through new challenges.

Assuming social responsibility

Against the backdrop of societal change, UZH raises university members’ awareness of current issues and requirements regarding diversity and inclusion. UZH sustainably supports its members in acquiring and strengthening the required skills.

Facilitating discrimination-free participation

UZH recognizes and values each person as an individual. UZH promotes equal opportunities and discrimination-free participation in studies, research, and employment. It offers its members development and career opportunities according to their talents and interests. Wherever possible, UZH considers its staff and students’ personal and societal responsibilities.

Driving performance and competitiveness through diversity

UZH promotes attractive conditions for studies, research, and employment. UZH supports inter- and transdisciplinary exchange and knowledge transfer and thereby strengthens its positioning as an ideal place to teach, study, and work. UZH values diversity as an important scientific resource and strives to recognize, support, and apply the diverse skills and potentials of its members to tackle current and future challenges.

Recognizing diversity as a comprehensive task

UZH strives to implement aspects of diversity and inclusion into its management instruments and processes as part of its organizational development. It recognizes diversity as a task that concerns all its units and members.

Defining and implementing objectives

UZH complements this Diversity Policy with an implementation plan. The implementation plan defines diversity and inclusion objectives and outlines strategic and operational measures for achieving these objectives. UZH allocates a commensurate amount of resources for the coordination, implementation, and regular evaluation of these measures.

Protecting against discrimination

UZH adopts appropriate preventive and reactive measures to protect its members against discrimination in any specific case and thus ensures legal liability. UZH may take affirmative action to enable structurally disadvantaged groups to fully participate in all areas of university life.

Promoting diversity-friendly communication

UZH staff and students cultivate a communication style that is diversity-friendly and inclusive. UZH is committed to stopping the reproduction of stereotypes in words and pictures and to giving its members barrier- and discrimination-free access to information.


Adopted by the Executive Board of the University on 13 March 2018 (ULB 2018-10).


1 Federal Constitution of the Swiss Confederation, Article 8, paragraphs 1 and 2: Every person is equal before the law. No person may be discriminated against, in particular on grounds of origin, race, gender, age, language, social position, way of life, religious, ideological, or political convictions, or because of a physical, mental or psychological disability.

 

This is a translation of the original document in German. The translation is provided for information purposes only and has no legal bearing.

Diversity Policy der Universität Zürich

Die Universität Zürich (UZH) setzt sich aktiv und konsequent für die Förderung von Vielfalt sowie gegen Diskriminierung ein. Als grösste Bildungs- und Forschungseinrichtung der Schweiz, die europa- und weltweit agiert, bekennt sich die UZH zu Diversität als Wert. Sie unterstützt ein diversitätsgerechtes und inklusives Miteinander in Forschung, Lehre, Studium, akademischer Selbstorganisation und Verwaltung. Die UZH duldet mit Verweis auf die Bundesverfassung der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft kein diskriminierendes Verhalten.1

Eine Kultur der Vielfalt leben

Die UZH bekennt sich zu einer Kultur der gelebten Vielfalt. UZH-Angehörige begegnen einander mit Wertschätzung, Respekt und Offenheit, und das unabhängig von Alter, Behinderung, Geschlecht, Geschlechtsidentität, Herkunft, Religion, sexueller Orientierung, sozialer oder beruflicher Stellung oder Sprache. Wir sind bereit, unseren Erfahrungshorizont in der Begegnung mit anderen Menschen stetig zu erweitern, voneinander zu lernen und an neuen Herausforderungen zu wachsen.

Gesellschaftliche Verantwortung übernehmen

Vor dem Hintergrund gesellschaftlicher Veränderungen schärft die UZH das Bewusstsein ihrer Angehörigen für aktuelle Fragestellungen und Anforderungen bezüglich Diversität und Inklusion. Sie unterstützt den nachhaltigen Auf- und Ausbau entsprechender Kompetenzen.

Diskriminierungsfreie Teilhabe ermöglichen

Die individuellen Merkmale eines jeden Menschen werden an der UZH anerkannt und wertgeschätzt. Die UZH setzt sich für Chancengerechtigkeit und eine diskriminierungs­freie Teilhabe ihrer Angehörigen am universitären Studien-, Forschungs- und Arbeits­alltag ein. Sie bietet ihren Angehörigen Entwicklungs- und Karrierechancen, die ihren persönlichen Begabungen und Interessen entsprechen, und berücksichtigt nach Möglichkeit die sozialen und gesellschaftlichen Verpflichtungen ihrer Angehörigen.

Mit gelebter Vielfalt leistungs- und wettbewerbsfähig sein

Die UZH fördert attraktive Studien-, Arbeits- und Forschungsbedingungen. Sie unterstützt den inter- und transdisziplinären Austausch und Wissenstransfer, wodurch sie ihre Positionierung als vorbildlicher Lehr-, Lern- und Arbeitsort stärkt. Sie schätzt Diversität als wertvolle wissenschaftliche Ressource und setzt es sich zum Ziel, die vielfältigen Fähigkeiten und Potenziale ihrer Angehörigen zu erkennen, zu fördern und im Sinne aktueller und zukünftiger Herausforderungen bestmöglich zu nutzen.

Diversität als Querschnittsaufgabe anerkennen

Die UZH ist im Sinne einer zeitgemässen Organisationsentwicklung bestrebt, Aspekte von Diversität und Inklusion in ihre Führungsinstrumente und Prozesse zu integrieren. Sie anerkennt Diversität als Aufgabe, die alle Einheiten und Angehörigen betrifft.

Ziele definieren und umsetzen

Die UZH ergänzt die vorliegende Diversity Policy durch einen Umsetzungsplan. Dieser definiert Ziele im Bereich Diversität und Inklusion und benennt strategische wie operative Massnahmen zur Zielerreichung. Die UZH gewährleistet die Koordination und Durchführung der Massnahmen zur Erreichung der Ziele sowie deren regelmässige Überprüfung durch einen angemessenen Ressourceneinsatz.

Vor Diskriminierung schützen

Die UZH setzt sich mit angemessenen präventiven und reaktiven Massnahmen für den Schutz vor Diskriminierung im konkreten Fall ein und schafft damit Rechtsverbindlichkeit. Sie kann positive Massnahmen ergreifen, um strukturell benachteiligten Gruppen die Teilhabe an allen Bereichen des universitären Lebens zu ermöglichen.

Diversitätsgerecht kommunizieren

UZH-Angehörige pflegen einen diversitätsgerechten und inklusiven Kommunikationsstil. Die UZH setzt sich dafür ein, dass die Reproduktion von Stereotypen in Wort und Bild unterbrochen wird und allen UZH-Angehörigen ein barriere- und diskriminierungsfreier Zugang zu Informationen ermöglicht wird.


Durch die Universitätsleitung am 13. März 2018 per ULB 2018-10 erlassen.


1 Bundesverfassung der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft, Artikel 8, Absatz 1 und 2:
Alle Menschen sind vor dem Gesetz gleich. Niemand darf diskriminiert werden, namentlich nicht wegen der Herkunft, der Rasse, des Geschlechts, des Alters, der Sprache, der sozialen Stellung, der Lebensform, der religiösen, der weltanschaulichen oder politischen Überzeugung oder wegen einer körperlichen, geistigen oder psychischen Behinderung.