Protective Measures for People at Especially High Risk

Return to On-Site Operations: Safety Concept for UZH

To ensure a careful return to on-site operations, the Executive Board of the University has approved a new safety concept. This safety concept aims to protect all people entering UZH premises against coronavirus infection as best as possible. Part of the concept is a review of the workplace situation for people at high risk, handled by their superiors. For more details, please check section 4 of the following document: 
Basic Safety Concept for the University of Zurich (PDF, 444 KB)

Who is at especially high risk of getting seriously ill and therefore requires particular protection?

  • People with chronic medical conditions that weaken the immune system, such as congenital or acquired immune deficiency, cancer or transplants
  • People taking medication or receiving treatments that weaken the immune system, such as monoclonal antibodies, cytostatic drugs, steroids or biologic drugs
  • People with chronic respiratory diseases, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases or high blood pressure
  • People over the age of 65

Responsibilities of affected employees (incl. PhD candidates) and their supervisors

  • In order for supervisors to be able to protect employees who are at especially high risk, they need to be aware of the risk factor. Employees who fall into a high risk group should inform their supervisor or line manager. It is not necessary for them to say which of the above-mentioned risk factors applies in their case.
  • Supervisors should inform their employees of the special protection measures and talk to employees who are at especially high risk, provided the supervisor is aware of the risk.
  • If you are a supervisor or employee and have any questions or doubts about assessing the health situation or about the necessary measures, you can contact the Occupational Medicine team within the Safety, Security and Environment Office (see contacts in the top right corner).
  • In case of questions about the working situation or disagreement about measures, supervisors or employees can choose to involve the HR consultant responsible for their area. (see contacts in the top right corner)
  • Supervisors are requested to offer these options to their employees on the basis of mutual trust (i.e. a doctor’s certificate is generally not necessary).
  • If no alternative measures (e.g. working from home) are possible, a doctor’s note would need to be provided in due course.

Pregnancy

Pregnancy always presents a special situation. If you are unsure whether particular protective measures need to be taken due to the current coronavirus situation to protect employees who are pregnant, you can contact the Occupational Medicine team within the Safety, Security and Environment Office.

Schutzmassnahmen für besonders gefährdete Personen

Schutzkonzept zur Wiederaufnahme des Präsenzbetriebs

Um die behutsame Wiederaufnahme des Präsenzbetriebs zu begleiten, hat die Universitätsleitung ein Schutzkonzept verabschiedet. Ziel dieses Konzeptes ist es, alle an der UZH anwesenden Personen vor einer Ansteckung durch das neue Coronavirus zu schützen. Im Rahmen des Konzepts erfolgt eine stufenweise Überprüfung der Arbeitsplatzsituation für besonders gefährdete Personen durch ihre Vorgesetzten. Den vollständigen Wortlaut zum Schutz von besonders gefährdeten Personen finden Sie im folgenden Dokument unter Abschnitt 4: «Besonders gefährdete Personen»
Basis-Schutzkonzept für die Universität Zürich unter COVID-19 (PDF, 408 KB) 

Wer ist besonders gefährdet, schwer zu erkranken, und deshalb besonders zu schützen?

  • Personen mit chronischen Erkrankungen, die das Immunsystem schwächen, wie z.B. angeborene oder erworbene Abwehrschwächen, Krebserkrankungen oder Transplantationen
  • Personen, die Medikamente einnehmen oder in Therapien stehen, die das Immunsystem schwächen, wie z.B. monoklonale Antikörper, Zytostatika, Steroide oder Biologika
  • Personen mit chronischen Atemwegserkrankungen, Diabetes, Herz-/Kreislauferkrankungen oder Bluthochdruck
  • Personen ab 65 Jahren

Verantwortung von betroffenen Mitarbeitenden (inkl. Doktorierenden) und ihren Vorgesetzten

  • Damit die Vorgesetzten besonders gefährdete Mitarbeitende schützen können, benötigen sie Kenntnis über eine Gefährdung. Betroffene Mitarbeitende sollen ihre vorgesetzte Person informieren. Eine Nennung des genauen Grundes der oben erwähnten Gefährdungen ist nicht nötig.
  • Die Vorgesetzten informieren ihre Mitarbeitenden über den Sonderschutz und sprechen besonders gefährdete Mitarbeitende an, soweit ihnen diese bekannt sind.
  • Falls bezüglich der Beurteilung der gesundheitlichen Situation oder bezüglich der Massnahmen Unklarheiten oder Fragen bestehen, können Vorgesetzte und Mitarbeitende mit der Abteilung Sicherheit und Umwelt, Arbeitsmedizin Rücksprache nehmen. (Kontakt-Box siehe oben rechts)
  • Bei Fragen zur Arbeitssituation kann sowohl von Vorgesetzten wie von Mitarbeitenden die zuständige Personalleitung der HR Beratung beigezogen werden (Kontakt-Box siehe oben rechts). Dies gilt auch bei Uneinigkeit über eine Massnahme.
  • Die Vorgesetzten werden gebeten, betroffenen Mitarbeitenden diese Möglichkeiten auf Vertrauensbasis anzubieten (d.h. im Allgemeinen ohne ärztliches Attest).
  • Falls keine alternativen Massnahmen (z.B. Home-Office) möglich sind, ist im Verlauf ein ärztliches Attest vorzuweisen.

Schwangerschaft

Eine Schwangerschaft stellt immer eine besondere Situation dar. Falls es Unsicherheiten gibt, ob aufgrund der aktuellen Situation bzgl. Coronavirus spezielle Schutzmassnahmen für die Schwangere am Arbeitsplatz zu treffen sind, kann mit der Abteilung Sicherheit und Umwelt, Arbeitsmedizin, Kontakt aufgenommen werden. (Kontakt-Box siehe oben rechts)