test

Statement of the Vice President Education and Student Affairs on On-Site Exams

18 January 2021:

Gabriele Siegert, Vice President Education and Student Affairs at UZH, has given a statement on the current situation regarding on-site exams due to questions from students.

„We are very much aware of the extraordinary circumstances and have held several rounds of intense discussions on the different options for holding various types of assessments.

At present, some 90% of official assessments at UZH will go ahead online. Of the remaining 10% (i.e. 240 on-site exams), 70 are still scheduled to take place between mid-January and mid-February. All faculties share the same goal of creating a level playing field on which all students will be able to complete their assessments.  For some exams, this is only possible if students are on site.  

Despite the tightened measures, on-site exams are still allowed under the current Covid Ordinance of the Swiss Federal Government. We believe that our comprehensive safety concepts enable us to carry out these exams safely and in compliance with all FOPH guidelines. 

Regarding re-taking exams that are missed, the situation is as follows: 69 of the already mentioned 70 on-site exams can be re-taken in the summer. Failing or not taking an exam (e.g. due to quarantine) will not prolong anyone’s studies; in other words, the relevant students will be able to continue their studies as normal in the next semester. There is only one exam for an elective module that cannot be repeated until next year. However, since it is relatively easy to substitute elective modules, we do not expect anyone’s studies to be prolonged by this either.   

We take the health of our students very seriously and we are doing our utmost to conclude the semester in a safe and fair manner.“

Gabriele Siegert
Vice President Education and Student Affairs

Porträtfoto Gabriele Siegert, Prorektorin Lehre und Studium

Stellungnahme zu Präsenzprüfungen der Prorektorin Lehre und Studium

18. Januar 2021:

Aufgrund von Nachfragen nimmt Gabriele Siegert, Prorektorin Lehre und Studium der UZH, Stellung zur aktuellen Durchführung von Präsenzprüfungen.

«Wir sind uns der derzeitigen besonderen Lage bewusst und haben die verschiedenen Varianten für die Durchführung unserer diversen Leistungsnachweise mehrfach intensiv diskutiert.

Aktuell werden an der Universität Zürich rund 90 Prozent der gesamten Leistungsnachweise online durchgeführt. Von den 10% bzw. 240 Präsenzprüfungen finden noch deren 70 im Zeitraum von Mitte Januar bis Mitte Februar statt. Alle Fakultäten verfolgen das Ziel, für alle ihre Studierenden die gleichen Bedingungen zu schaffen, so dass alle die gleich guten Möglichkeiten haben, um die jeweiligen Leistungsnachweise abzulegen. In gewissen Prüfungen kann das praktisch nur in Präsenz sichergestellt werden.  

Auch angesichts der verschärften Lage erlaubt die aktuelle Covid-Verordnung des Bundes weiterhin Präsenzprüfungen. Wir sind überzeugt, dass wir diese mit unseren sorgfältigen Schutzkonzepten unter Einhaltung aller BAG-Richtlinien sicher durchführen können. 

Betreffend Nachholung von verpassten Prüfungen sieht die Situation wie folgt aus: 69 der erwähnten 70 Präsenzprüfungen können bereits diesen Sommer wiederholt werden. Ein Nichtbestehen oder Nichtantreten (z.B. aufgrund Quarantäne) führt nicht zu einer Verlängerung des Studiums, d.h. die betreffenden Studierenden können im nächsten Semester regulär weiterstudieren. Einzig eine Prüfung für ein Wahlmodul kann erst in einem Jahr wiederholt werden. Da Wahlmodule jedoch relativ beliebig substituiert werden können, ist hier ebenfalls keine Verlängerung des Studiums zu erwarten.   

Die Gesundheit unserer Studierenden ist uns ein ernstes Anliegen, und wir setzen alles daran, die Prüfungen und das Semester sicher und fair beenden zu können.» 

Gabriele Siegert
Prorektorin Lehre und Studium