COVID-19 Research

Is there already a certain level of immunity in Switzerland? If so, how long does the immunity last? How can high-risk patients be quickly identified and best treated? And how can a vaccine be developed as soon as possible? UZH News hears from our researchers how they are tackling these questions.

How many people are immune?

Professor Milo Puhan is coordinating the Swiss-wide study “Corona Immunitas”, which is intended to bring clarity to the great unknown: How many Swiss residents have already formed antibodies against COVID-19?
Video: How many people are immune?

Once immune, always immune?

Are people who have been infected with coronavirus then immune to the virus? Even those who did not notice any symptoms? And if so, for how long? The team working with Professor Alexandra Trkola of the Institute of Medical Virology is examining this question.
Video: Once immune, always immune?

How to recognize severe cases?

Professor Onur Boyman of the Department of Immunology wants to find out how to recognize potential severe cases of the infection, so that high-risk patients can receive quicker and more effective treatment.
Video: How to recognize severe cases?

Race for a Vaccine

Steve Pascolo and his team can produce potential vaccine candidates very quickly thanks to the newest technologies. Initial clinical trials are already taking place abroad based on the same methods.
UZH News: Corona-Vakzin im Schnelltempo (in German)

Antiviral Active Agents

As well as the search for a vaccine, there is hope that effective antiviral drugs may be found. The team of Professor Urs Greber of the Institute of Molecular Life Sciences is currently testing an active agent library of around 5,000 antiviral inhibitors for their effectiveness against the coronavirus.
UZH News: Das Coronavirus an der Achillesferse packen (in German)

Yes to Contact Tracing

The chances that a voluntary tracking app will take off are good: Many Swiss citizens are willing to use such an app if it is issued by the federal and cantonal governments, according to a survey of more than 1,300 people.
UZH News: Hohe Akzeptanz für Tracking-App (in German)

Churches and Corona

The pandemic has also been a challenge for the churches. Thomas Schlag now wants to scientifically investigate how pastors and ministers have coped with the extraordinary situation. He has initiated a study called CONTOC: Churches Online in Times of Corona.
UZH News: Churches and Corona: What's worked, and what hasn't

Workers Happy despite Crisis and Uncertainty

In general, workers in Switzerland and Germany are coping well with the Covid-19 crisis and the associated social disruption. They are feeling happier and finding it easier to unwind and balance work and private life.
News release: Workers Happy despite Crisis and Uncertainty

Forschung rund um COVID-19

Kann man bereits von einer Immunität in der Schweiz sprechen? Falls ja, wie hoch ist diese und wie lange hält der Immunschutz an? Wie lassen sich Risikopatient*innen rasch erkennen und am besten behandeln? Und wie gelangen wir möglichst bald zu einem Impfstoff? UZH News hat sich bei unseren Forscherinnen und Forschern umgesehen.

Wie viele sind immun?

Professor Milo Puhan vom Institut für Epidemiologie, Biostatistik und Prävention koordiniert die schweizweite Untersuchung «Corona Immunitas», die Klarheit in die bringen wird bezüglich der Immunität in der Schweiz.
Video: Wie viele sind immun?

Einmal immun, immer immun?

Hält die Immunität gegen das Coronavirus an? Auch für jene, die kaum Symptome verspürten? Und wenn ja, wie lange? Das Team von Professorin Alexandra Trkola vom Institut für Medizinische Virologie geht dieser Frage nach.
Video: Einmal immun, immer immun?

Wie erkennen wir schwere Verläufe?

Professor Onur Boyman von der Klinik für Immunologie möchte herausfinden, wie man schwere Verläufe möglichst rasch erkennen kann, um wirkliche Risikopatient*innen rascher und wirkungsvoller zu behandeln.
Video: Wie schwere Verläufe erkennen?

Im Spurt zum Impfstoff

Steve Pascolo und sein Team können dank neuer Technologien innert kürzester Zeit Impfstoff-Kandidaten herstellen. Basierend auf der gleichen Methode laufen im Ausland bereits erste klinische Versuche.
UZH News: Corona-Vakzin im Schnelltempo

Antivirale Wirkstoffe finden

Neben der Suche nach Impfstoffen richtet sich eine weitere Hoffnung auf antivirale Medikamente: Das Team rund um Professor Urs Greber vom Institut für Molekulare Zellbiologie testet derzeit eine Wirkstoff-Bibliothek von rund 5000 antiviralen Hemmstoffen auf ihre Wirkung gegen das Coronavirus.
UZH News: Das Coronavirus an der Achillesferse packen

Ja zum Contact Tracing

Die Chancen einer freiwilligen Tracking-App stehen gut: Weite Teile der Schweizer Bevölkerung sind bereit, eine solche App zu nutzen, wenn diese von Bund und Kantonen herausgegeben wird. Dies zeigt eine Umfrage bei über 1300 Personen.
UZH News: Hohe Akzeptanz für Tracking-App

Kirchen und Corona

Auch die Kirchen sind durch die Pandemie gefordert: Viele religiöse Praktiken bedingen den direkten persönlichen Kontakt. Wie Seel­sorgerinnen und Seelsorger mit der ausser­ordentlichen Situation umgegangen sind, will Thomas Schlag wissenschaftlich erheben. Er hat dazu die CONTOC-Studie, Churches Online in Times of Corona, initiiert.
UZH News: Kirchen und Corona: Was ist gelungen, was misslungen?

Zufrieden bei der Arbeit trotz Krise

Erwerbstätige in der Schweiz und in Deutschland kommen mit der Covid-19-Krise und den damit verbundenen Umwälzungen insgesamt gut zurecht. Viele fühlen sich zufriedener, können besser entspannen und bringen Arbeits- und Privatleben einfacher unter einen Hut.
Medienmitteilung: Erwerbstätige fühlen sich trotz Unsicherheit zufrieden in der Krise