Research Involving Primates

In 2018, a total of 315 primates were used in Switzerland for research projects at companies and universities. This comprises about 0.05 percent of all animal testing.

Most of these experiments were categorized as low severity, which means they were either non-stressful or only slightly stressful for the animals involved. But experiments with moderate to high severity do take place, for example, when researching and developing therapies for people who have suffered a stroke or spinal cord injury, or who are afflicted by Parkinson's disease. Various Swiss Universities collaborate on these experiments.

Charles and Max
Charles and Max
Charles, Max, Paul and Alan are the names of the four macaque males at UZH. They know each other for years. (Image: Frank Brüderli, UZH)

Swiss collaboration and standards

Supported by the Swiss University Conference, in 2012 the University of Zurich, the ETH Zurich and the University of Fribourg founded the Non-Human Primate Swiss Competence Center in Research (SPCCR). The center develops the highest standards for keeping and researching on primates, trains all researchers and animal keepers working with primates in Switzerland, and gives all Swiss universities access to the infrastructure and expertise required for research on primates.

Makaken-Männchen Paul
Makaken-Männchen Paul
Two of the four macaques will participate in the experiment - Paul is one of them. (Bild: Frank Brüderli, UZH)

Evaluation of interests - case by case

In 2009, the Swiss Federal Supreme Court reached a decision upholding the rejection of two applications for experiments on primates at the University of Zurich and ETH Zurich. This decision, however, has no bearing on the general authorization to conduct primate research in Switzerland. Although the Federal Supreme Court confirmed the rejection of the applications by the lower court, it also clearly stated that the decision was not one of basic policy. It remains the duty of the cantonal commission on animal experimentation to assess each individual application for animal testing via an evaluation of interests procedure.

Forschung mit Primaten

Im Jahr 2018 wurden in der Schweiz insgesamt 315 Primaten bei Forschungsprojekten in Unternehmen und an Universitäten eingesetzt. Das entspricht knapp 0,05% aller Tierversuche.

Die meisten Tierversuche mit Primaten weisen einen niedrigen Schweregrad auf, d.h. sie belasten die Tiere nicht oder nur wenig. Doch auch Versuche von mittlerem oder hohem Schweregrad finden statt, zum Beispiel in der Erforschung und Entwicklung von Therapien nach Schlaganfällen, Querschnittlähmungen und für die Parkinsonkrankheit. Mehrere Schweizer Universitäten sind im Rahmen von Kollaborationen an diesen Versuchen beteiligt.

Makaken-Männchen Charles und Max
Makaken-Männchen Charles und Max
Charles, Max, Paul und Alan heissen die vier Makaken-Männchen an der UZH. Sie kennen sich schon seit Jahren. (Bild: Frank Brüderli, UZH)

Schweizweite Kollaboration und Standards

Die Universität Zürich, die ETH Zürich und die Universität Fribourg haben 2012 mit Unterstützung der Schweizer Universitätskonferenz das Swiss Non-Human Primate Competence Center in Research (SPCCR) gegründet. Dieses entwickelt höchste Standards in der Haltung von und der Forschung mit Primaten, bildet alle in der Schweiz mit Primaten arbeitenden Forschenden und Tierpfleger aus und verschafft allen Schweizer Universitäten Zugang zu der für Primatenforschung notwendigen Infrastruktur und Expertise.

Makaken-Männchen Paul
Makaken-Männchen Paul
Zwei der vier Makaken werden am Experiment teilnehmen - Paul ist einer davon. (Bild: Frank Brüderli, UZH)

Güterabwägung für jeden Einzelfall

Ein 2009 vom Bundesgericht gefällter Entscheid über zwei Gesuche für Primatenversuche an der Universität Zürich und der ETH Zürich hat keine Auswirkungen auf die generelle Zulassung von Primatenforschung in der Schweiz. Das Bundesgericht hat in seinem Entscheid zwar die Ablehnung der entsprechenden Gesuche durch die Vorinstanz bestätigt, hat aber auch klar bekräftigt, dass es sich dabei nicht um einen Grundsatzentscheid handelt. Es ist weiterhin die Aufgabe der Kantonalen Tierversuchskommission, jedes Gesuch mit Versuchen an Tieren im Rahmen einer Güterabwägung als Einzelfall zu prüfen.