Current Study Involving Primates

University of Zurich scientists conduct neuroscience research to better understand the causes of cognitive disorders, including those occurring in schizophrenia.

The aim of the study is to understand the functioning of a particular area of the brain – the prefrontal cortex. The prefrontal cortex evolved late in evolutionary history, with most prefrontal brain areas existing only in humans and apes. As a result, research on the current fundamental questions can only be done using non-human primates.

Understanding the prefrontal cortex

The prefrontal cortex enables humans to comprehend stimuli in context, to prioritize, to sort the significant from the insignificant, and to suppress impulses. In patients suffering from schizophrenia or attention deficit disorder (ADHD), such abilities are frequently impaired. Unfortunately, the functioning of the prefrontal cortex – how neurons cooperate in so-called executive functions – is still largely unexplained. Moreover, researchers also do not yet understand how and why the functioning of the prefrontal cortex is impaired in patients with a mental illness.

Max
Max
Max is one of the four macaque males. They come from a renowned research institute in Holland. (Image: Frank Brüderli, UZH)

Basics for new therapies

The therapies currently in use treat only some symptoms and often have severe side-effects. And although the first therapies are over 50 years old, much remains to be understood about how they work. The research study involving macaques aims to advance understanding of the underlying neurological causes of mental illnesses, and to develop effective and safe therapies based on this knowledge.

The current project is led by Professor Valerio Mante. It builds on his previous research on macaques conducted at Stanford University, USA, which changed the understanding of neural circuits in the prefrontal cortex. 

Intensity level of experiments

The severity of every animal testing project is classified according to a four-level system both "prospectively" at the time of the application, and "retrospectively" at the time of project completion. This classification system describes the level, intensity and duration of distress caused to the animals. As a result, an experiment that involves not more than minor distress, but is of long duration, is classified as intensity level 2.

Charles
Charles
In order to do research with the macaques, the animals must feel comfortable and be healthy. This starts with their keeping and nutrition. (Image: Frank Brüderli, UZH)

The planned experiments have prospectively been assigned the highest intensity level (level 3). In practice however, the planned procedures generally cause only moderate distress of brief duration, or minor distress of long duration. For this reason, similar past tests in Zurich and other Swiss research institutions have retrospectively been classified as intensity level 2 - an outcome that has been confirmed by the Cantonal Veterinary Office on many occasions. A retrospective reclassification is also expected for the planned study, because procedural improvements realized since past experiments considerably reduce the stress on the animals.

Primate study approved by all instances

Upon recommendation by the Commission on Animal Experimentation (Tierversuchskommission), the Cantonal Veterinary Office (Veterinäramt) approved a corresponding application of the University of Zurich and the ETH Zurich to conduct animal testing using a new approach in July 2014. Three of the eleven members of the Cantonal Commission on Animal Experimentation appealed against this decision. On 11 December 2015, the Government Council of the Canton of Zurich denied the appeal and confirmed the positive decision on UZH’s application. The decision was referred to the Administrative Court by the appellants, which denied the appeal on 20 April 2017 and confirmed the positive desicion of the Cantonal Veterinary Office.

Aktuelle Primatenstudie

Wissenschaftler von Universität Zürich und ETH Zürich erforschen mit neurowissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen die Ursachen kognitiver Störungen, wie sie beispielsweise bei der Schizophrenie auftreten.

Ziel der Studie ist es, die Funktionsweise eines bestimmten Hirnareals, des präfrontalen Cortex, zu verstehen. Dieser hat sich in der Evolutionsgeschichte erst spät entwickelt; die Mehrheit der präfrontalen Hirnareale existiert einzig bei Menschen und Affen. Die vorliegenden, fundamentalen Fragestellungen lassen sich folglich nur mit nichtmenschlichen Primaten erforschen.

Den präfrontalen Cortex verstehen

Der präfrontale Cortex erlaubt es Menschen, Reize kontextbezogen einzuordnen, zu priorisieren, Wichtiges von Unwichtigem zu unterscheiden, und Impulse zu unterdrücken. Solche Fähigkeiten sind zum Beispiel bei Menschen, die an Schizophrenie oder Aufmerksamkeitsstörungen (ADHS) leiden, zum Teil schwer gestört. Die Funktionsweise des präfrontalen Cortex – wie Nervenzellen bei Entscheidungsprozessen zusammenarbeiten – ist weitgehend unbekannt. Auch weiss man noch nicht, wie und weshalb die Funktionen des präfrontalen Cortex bei psychischen Krankheiten beeinträchtigt sind.

Makaken-Männchen Max
Makaken-Männchen Max
Max ist eines der vier Makaken-Männchen. Sie stammen aus einem renommierten Forschungsinstitut in Holland. (Bild: Frank Brüderli, UZH)

Grundlagen für neue Therapien

Die heute eingesetzten Therapien lindern nur einen Teil der Symptome und sind oft mit schweren Nebenwirkungen verbunden. Auch 50 Jahre nachdem sie erstmals entwickelt wurden, ist ihre Wirkungsweise weitgehend unbekannt. Die Makakenstudie will einen Beitrag dazu leisten, die neurologischen Ursachen solcher Krankheiten zu verstehen und aufgrund dieses Wissens effektive und sichere Therapien zu entwickeln.

Das Projekt baut auf den früheren Forschungsarbeiten an Makaken von Professor Valerio Mante, Leiter der Primatenstudie, an der Stanford University in den USA auf. Diese Arbeiten haben gezeigt, dass die Nervenzellen im präfrontalen Cortex völlig anders zusammenarbeiten, als bisher vermutet wurde. 

Schweregrad der Versuche

Jeder Tierversuch wird sowohl zum Zeitpunkt der Antragsstellung «prospektiv» als auch «retrospektiv» bei Abschluss des Versuchs in einen von vier Schweregraden eingeordnet. Diese Einordnung beschreibt, wie hoch die Belastungen für die Tiere sind und beurteilt deren Intensität und Dauer. So wird zum Beispiel ein Versuch, der höchstens zu kleinen Belastungen führt, sich aber über eine längere Zeit erstreckt, dem Schweregrad 2 zugeordnet.

Makaken-Männchen Charles
Makaken-Männchen Charles
Um mit den Makaken forschen zu können, muss es den Tieren gut gehen. Das fängt mit ihrer Haltung und Ernährung an. (Bild: Frank Brüderli, UZH)

Die geplanten Versuche wurden von der Tierversuchskommission prospektiv dem höchsten Schweregrad zugeordnet (Schweregrad 3). In der Praxis verursachen die geplanten Prozeduren aber in der Regel nur kurzzeitige, mittlere Belastungen oder längere Zeit andauernde kleine Belastungen. Aus diesem Grund wurden ähnliche Versuche in Zürich und an anderen Schweizer Forschungsinstitutionen in der Vergangenheit retrospektiv dem Schweregrad 2 zugeteilt – eine Einordnung, die auch vom Veterinäramt des Kantons Zürich mehrmals bestätigt wurde. Gleiches wird auch für die geplanten Versuche erwartet, da die Belastung für die Tiere gegenüber früheren Versuchen dank Verbesserungen der Prozeduren bedeutend reduziert werden kann.

Primatenstudie von allen Instanzen bewilligt

Das Gesuch der Universität Zürich und der ETH Zürich für eine tierexperimentelle Studie mit einem neuartigem Ansatz wurde im Juli 2014 vom Kantonalen Veterinäramt auf Antrag der Tierversuchskommission bewilligt. Dagegen hatten drei der elf Mitglieder der Kantonalen Tierversuchskommission rekurriert. Der Regierungsrat hat am 11. Dezember 2015 diesen Rekurs abgewiesen und das Gesuch bestätigt. Der Entscheid ist von den Rekurrenten ans Kantonale Verwaltungsgericht weitergezogen worden. Dieses hat den Rekurs am 20. April 2017 abgelehnt. In zweiter Instanz wurde damit die vom Kantonalen Veterinäramt erteilte Bewilligung bestätigt.