Clinical Research Priority Programs

The Clinical Research Priority Program (CRPP) is a part of the Faculty of Medicine's efforts to promote strategic areas of research for the Faculty of Medicine and University Medicine Zurich. The CRPP builds on the University's excellent reputation in research and teaching, and attach great value to knowledge exchange between basic research, applied research and clinical care. The program's goals include promoting selected – primarily clinical – areas of research in University Medicine and establishing effective networks within them. In addition, the programs are committed to supporting junior scholars.

 

A new series of CRPP was launched at the University of Zurich (2019 - 2021):

CRPP Pain

Pain - from phenotypes to mechanisms

University of Zurich, Balgrist University Hospital, UniversityHospital Zurich

Prof. Dr. Armin Curt, Prof. Dr. Hanns Ulrich Zeilhofer

Chronic pain continues to pose a major, unmet challenge for modern medicine with tremendous global healthcare costs. Independent of the diverse clinical presentations of chronic pain conditions, a common underlying pathophysiological mechanism is sensitization along the nociceptive neuraxis. The goal of the CRPP Pain is the identification of pathophysiological differences and commonalities across different diagnostic chronic pain entities by dissecting the impact of peripheral, spinal and supra-spinal sensitization processes. The vivid exchange between different clinical and basic research disciplines to tackle this challenge offers a promising venue for future personalized targeting of disorder-specific mechanisms in chronic pain patients.

www.crpp-pain.uzh.ch

CRPP HYRENE

HYRENE - HYpertension REsearch NEtwork

University of Zurich, UniversityHospital Zurich

Prof. Dr. Felix Beuschlein, PD Dr. Christina Rossi

High blood pressure is the world's leading risk factor for premature deaths and disability-adjusted life years. Lifestyle interventions and drug treatments achieve normalization of blood pressure in only half of the patients. In about 20% of the remaining cases, blood pressure is not adequately controlled despite the use of antihypertensive medicaments. This condition increases patient’s risk for stroke and myocardial infarction. The CRPP HYRENE aims to identify key factors for the development of therapy resistance of hypertension that may become modifiable targets for improved and individualized treatment of affected patients. To achieve this goal, the CRPP aims to improve the diagnostic tools that can identify pathophysiological mechanisms underlying the development of therapy resistance. The success of the program is based on the convergence of clinical, pre-clinical and applied scientific research into a joint consortium that promotes the implementation of the scientific and technological advances of the preclinical research into patient care.

www.hyrene.uzh.ch

CRPP CGPD

Comprehensive Genomic Pathogen Detection

University of Zurich, UniversityHospital Zurich

Prof. Dr. Nicolas Müller, Dr. Michael Huber, Prof. Dr. Alexandra Trkola

The vast variety of infectious pathogens remains a challenge for clinical diagnostics necessitating multiple tests for different pathogens for a conclusive diagnosis. This CRPP will probe Comprehensive Genomic Pathogen Detection (CGPD) as a broad, rapid and inexpensive analysis for viral and microbial pathogens. Using high-throughput metagenomic sequencing, the CRPP will assess clinical cases with suspected infectious etiology and compare CGPD to conventional diagnostic tests. By employing CGPD in diverse clinical settings the CRPP will gain valuable insight how diagnostics of infectious pathogens can be advanced and which options for disease management and treatment rise from the comprehensive assessment of pathogens.

www.cgpd.uzh.ch

CRPP Synapse & Trauma

Targeting novel synaptic pathways in trauma-related psychiatric disorder

University of Zurich, University Hospital of Psychiatry Zurich

Prof. Dr. Dominik Bach

Psychological trauma and early-life adversity are major risk factors for various psychiatric disorders. Recommended treatment is by psychotherapy, which seeks to modify aversive memories, but leaves a significant proportion of patients symptomatic. At the same time, our understanding of synaptic biology has increased exponentially. The CRPP Synapse & Trauma investigates possibilities to combine psychotherapy with pharmacological agents. It focuses on the molecular pathways involved in degrading old, and shaping new, synaptic connections. In humans, the CRPP will explore candidate drugs already approved for other indications. Using in-vitro and animal models, the CRPP seeks to decipher signalling pathways and elucidate novel drug targets.

www.synapsetrauma.uzh.ch/en

CRPP ImmunoCure

Targeted Cancer Immunotherapy

University of Zurich, UniversityHospital Zurich

PD Dr. Patrick Roth, Prof. Dr. Markus Manz

Immunotherapy represents the key promising area of novel therapeutic approaches to cancer. The CRPP ImmunoCure aims at establishing and expanding the concepts of bispecific antibodies and chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T cells as cornerstones of a “targeted therapy development and technology immunotherapeutic platform” in Zurich that includes (i) monoclonal antibody engineering, (ii) CAR cell engineering, (iii) in vivo modeling and 3D imaging of CAR T cell traveling and target cell killing; and (iv) profiling of immune cell responses. The CRPP will explore these technologies in two “targeted therapy lead disease focus programs”, one on brain tumors and one on hematologic stem cell malignancies.

CRPP Precision Hematology / Oncology

Next Generation Drug Response Profiling for Personalized Cancer Care

University of Zurich, University Children's Hospital Zurich, UniversityHospital Zurich

Prof. Dr. Jean-Pierre Bourquin

Despite rapid progress in cancer genomics and molecular disease classification, it remains difficult to identify actionable targets and predict response to drugs based on this information. New approaches that identify cancer vulnerabilities and predict the response to treatment based on pre-treatment testing of individual cancer cells could improve response rates, reduce unnecessary treatments, and significantly increase cost-effectiveness. Based on strong proof-of-concept data, the CRPP hypothesizes that critical predictive and mechanistic information can be obtained from direct functional drug response screening of primary patient samples. The CRPP joins forces to develop a clinical platform for next-generation precision medicine at UZH, to apply drug response profiling to personalize treatment of patients and investigate unexpected vulnerabilities at depth.

www.crpp-pho.uzh.ch/en

CRPP Stroke

The interplay of microcirculation and plasticity after ischemic stroke

Universit of Zurich, UniversityHospital Zurich

Prof. Dr. Andreas Luft, Prof. Dr. Susanne Wegener

Stroke is a frequent and devastating disease. The majority of survivors remains disabled, despite significant progress in acute treatment. Self healing mechanisms of the brain exist and could open treatment avenues for those who survive with brain injury. However, knowledge about these mechanisms is still incomplete. The researchers of the CRPP Stroke hypothesize that hypoperfusion in the acute phase of ischemic stroke is the trigger for self healing mechanisms, specifically for plasticity in intact brain surrounding the injury. Through a collaboration between neurology, neuroradiology, neurosurgery and neuropathology hey test this hypothesis in parallel research in humans and animal models.

www.stroke.usz.ch/forschung/kfsp-stroke

CRPP BacVivo

Precision medicine for bacterial infections

Universit of Zurich, UniversityHospital Zurich

Prof. Dr. Annelies Zinkernagel, PD Dr. Barbara Hasse

Recurrent or chronic infections are an unsolved clinical problem despite the availability of antibiotics to which the bacteria are susceptible. Bacteria isolated from recurrent or chronic infections may be in a dormant, non-growing state, tolerate antibiotic challenges and are capable of resuming growth. These bacteria are called persisters. Persisters are protected from antibiotics, which target processes in growing cells. The CRPP BacVivo aims to establish a multidimensional assessment of individual patients with bacterial infections combining clinicians, clinical microbiologists and computational biologists/scientists in order to improve diagnosis, treatment and outcome of chronic bacterial infections, namely endovascular, bone and prosthetic joint as well as skin and soft tissue infection.

www.bacvivo.uzh.ch

CRPP Praeclare

Clarification of genetic variants for personalized prenatal and reproductive medicine

Universit of Zurich, UniversityHospital Zurich

Prof. Dr. Anita Rauch

Developmental disorders affect approximately 7% of offspring and are commonly caused by genetic mutations. The identification of a definite genetic diagnosis enables informed management of the pregnancy as well as further reproductive choices, such as preimplantation diagnostics. Moreover, there is an increasing demand for extended preconception carrier screening. While technically feasible, implementation into clinical practice is hampered by the large amount of variants of unknown significance detected by such untargeted screening approaches. The aim of the CRPP Praeclare is therefore to improve reproductive genetic testing by further exploring the genetic landscape and variant pathogenicity of development disorders.

www.praeclare.uzh.ch

CRPP AI Oncological Imaging

Artificial Intelligence in oncological Imaging Network

Universit of Zurich, UniversityHospital Zurich

rof. Dr. Jürg Hodler, Prof. Dr. Matthias Guckenberger

Artificial Intelligence (AI) methods are rapidly developing in many areas of everyday life.  First applications are also seen in medicine, and AI is expected to further revolutionize the work of many physicians. This CRPP develops applications of AI in oncological imaging, i.e. the diagnosis and treatment of cancer patients. Improvements are expected in two directions. First, AI techniques facilitate automation and standardization of labor-intensive routine tasks of physicians. Second, AI algorithms allow for quantitative analysis of medical images and facilitate detection of image features not perceivable to the human eye. Thereby, AI algorithms may improve cancer diagnosis and therapy.

www.crpp-ai-oncology.uzh.ch

CRPP Precision MS

Implementing Precision Medicine in Multiple Sclerosis

Universit of Zurich, UniversityHospital Zurich

Prof. Dr. Roland Martin

Multiple sclerosis (MS) is a prototypic autoimmune disease, which leads to damage of the central nervous system. Due to its disease heterogeneity, it serves as ideal example to pursue research in personalized medicine and to translate existing knowledge and novel findings into clinical routine. Therefore, the CRPP PrecisionMS will address two main aims: 1) To develop individual disease/risk profiles and markers for specific pathomechanisms that can be used for treatment decisions and as measures for innovative clinical trials. 2) To apply these measures in the routine clinical setting to guide patient care as well as for testing novel treatments.

www.precisionms.uzh.ch

CRPP ImmuGene

Gene Therapy for Severe Immunodeficiency

Universit of Zurich, University Children's Hospital Zurich

Prof. Dr. Janine Reichenbach, Prof. Dr. Martin Jinek

Gene therapy aims to provide break-through therapeutic options targeting severe genetic diseases. Based on expertise from previous first-in-man clinical gene therapy at University Children’s Hospital, and world-class research on vector development and gene editing at University of Zurich, the CRPP ImmuGene will be the seed of a translational gene therapy competence center.  In the kick-start phase, the CRPP will realize a first-in-man clinical trial for the immunodeficiency chronic granulomatous disease, translating a next-generation lentiviral vector. Parallel development of CRISPR-based gene correction approaches will enable preparation of a clinical gene-replacement trial to be realized in the follow-up phase.

CRPP CYTIMM-Z

Zurich initiative on novel cytokine-directed treatments for immune dysregulation

Universit of Zurich, UniversityHospital Zurich, University Children's Hospital Zurich

Prof. Dr. Onur Boyman, Prof. Dr. Jana Pachlopnik

Cytokines that share the common γ chain receptor, particularly, interleukin (IL)-2, IL-7 and IL-15, play crucial roles in the homeostasis, activation and control of immune responses. In immune-mediated disorders these homeostatic processes and cytokines are dysregulated. This CRPP will study the homeostatic mechanisms and cytokines in two diseases, in which dysregulation of cytokine pathways very likely plays an important role in the pathogenesis: hemophagocytic lymphohistiocytosis and systemic lupus erythematosus. We hypothesize that treatments modulating homeostatic cytokines can be harnessed to restore a balanced immune homeostasis, which has several advantages over the currently used immunosuppressive treatments.

http://www.immunologie.usz.ch/forschung

Klinische Forschungsschwerpunkte

Mit den Klinischen Forschungsschwerpunkten (KFSP) fördert die Medizinische Fakultät strategisch wichtige Forschungsgebiete für die Medizinische Fakultät und die universitäre Medizin Zürich. KFSP bauen auf vorhandener Exzellenz in Forschung und Lehre auf und messen dem Wissensaustausch zwischen Grundlagenforschung, anwendungsorientierter Forschung und klinischer Versorgung eine grosse Bedeutung zu. Ziele des Instruments sind die Förderung und Vernetzung von ausgewählten primär klinischen Forschungsbereichen der universitären Medizin sowie die Förderung des akademischen Nachwuchses.

 

2019 - 2021 werden folgende KFSP der Universität Zürich gefördert:

KFSP Pain

Pain - from phenotypes to mechanisms

Universität Zürich, Universitätsklinik Balgrist, UniversitätsSpital Zürich

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Armin Curt, Prof. Dr. Hanns Ulrich Zeilhofer

Chronische Schmerzen stellen nach wie vor eine große Herausforderung für die moderne Medizin mit enormen globalen Gesundheitskosten dar. Unabhängig von den vielfältigen klinischen Erscheinungsformen chronischer Schmerzen, wird die Sensibilisierung entlang der nozizeptiven Neuroachse als gemeinsamer pathophysiologischer Mechanismus gehandelt. Das Ziel dieses KFSP ist die Identifizierung pathophysiologischer Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen verschiedenen diagnostischen chronischen Schmerzentitäten, indem der Einfluss peripherer, spinaler und supra-spinaler Sensibilisierungsprozesse untersucht wird. Der lebhafte Austausch zwischen verschiedenen klinischen und Grundlagenforschungsdisziplinen zur Bewältigung dieser Herausforderung bietet einen vielversprechenden Schritt in Richtung personalisierte Medizin für Patienten mit chronischen Schmerzen.

www.crpp-pain.uzh.ch

KFSP HYRENE

HYRENE - HYpertension REsearch NEtwork

Universität Zürich, UniversitätsSpital Zürich

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Felix Beuschlein, PD Dr. Christina Rossi

Hoher Blutdruck gilt als weltweit bedeutendster Risikofaktor eines frühzeitigen Todes. Lebensstilinterventionen und medikamentöse Behandlungen lassen nur bei der Hälfte der Patienten eine Normalisierung des Blutdrucks erreichen, während in etwa 20% der Fälle der Blutdruck trotz der Verwendung blutdrucksenkender Medikamente nicht ausreichend kontrolliert wird. Dieser Zustand einer Therapieresistenz erhöht das Risiko betroffener Patienten, einen Schlaganfall und Herzinfarkt zu erleiden. Der KFSP HYpertension REsearch NEtwork (HYRNE) zielt darauf ab, Schlüsselfaktoren für die Entwicklung einer Therapieresistenz zu identifizieren, um eine verbesserte und individualisierte Behandlung betroffener Patienten zu erreichen. Hierzu wollen wir die diagnostischen Untersuchungen verbessern, mit denen pathophysiologische Mechanismen identifiziert werden können, die der Entwicklung einer Therapieresistenz zugrunde liegen. Der Erfolg des Programms beruht auf der Verknüpfung klinischer, präklinischer und angewandter wissenschaftlicher Forschung in einem gemeinsamen Konsortium, das die Umsetzung der wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Fortschritte der präklinischen Forschung in der Patientenversorgung fördern wird.

www.hyrene.uzh.ch

KFSP CGPD

Comprehensive Genomic Pathogen Detection

Universität Zürich, UniversitätsSpital Zürich

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Nicolas Müller, Dr. Michael Huber, Prof. Dr. Alexandra Trkola

Die Vielfalt an Krankheitserregern stellt die klinische Diagnostik vor grosse Herausforderungen. Eine endgültige Diagnose benötigt oft mehrere Tests für verschiedene Krankheitserreger. Das Ziel des KFSP besteht darin, Comprehensive Genomic Pathogen Detection (CGPD) als eine umfassende, schnelle und kostengünstige Analyse für virale und mikrobielle Krankheitserreger zu etablieren. Basierend auf metagenomischer Sequenzierung werden Fälle mit vermuteter infektiöser Krankheitsursache analysieren und CGPD mit herkömmlichen Nachweismethoden verglichen. Von dieser gründlichen Evaluation von CGPD erhofft sich der KFSP wertvolle Erkenntnisse, wie in Zukunft die Diagnostik infektiöser Krankheitserreger verbessert werden kann und wie neue Optionen für das Management und die Behandlung von Infektionskrankheiten geschaffen werden können.

www.cgpd.uzh.ch

KFSP Synapse & Trauma

Targeting novel synaptic pathways in trauma-related psychiatric disorder

Universität Zürich, Psychiatrische Universitätsklinik Zürich

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Dominik Bach

Psychologisches Trauma und widrige Kindheitserfahrungen sind wichtige Risikofaktoren für psychiatrische Erkrankungen. Psychotherapie ist die empfohlene Behandlung mit dem Ziel, belastende Erinnerungen zu verändern. Jedoch bleibt eine grosse Zahl von Patienten beeinträchtigt. Mittlerweile hat unser Verständnis der biologischen Prozesse bei der Gedächtnisbildung rapide zugenommen. Der KFSP Synapse & Trauma erforscht Möglichkeiten, Psychotherapie mit Medikamenten zu unterstützen. Das Vorhaben zielt auf auf molekularen Signalwege beim Abbau alter und beim Aufbau neuer synaptischer Verbindungen. Im Menschen wird der KFSP den Einsatz von Medikamenten erforschen, die für andere Krankheiten bereits zugelassen sind. Im Reagenzglas und im Tiermodell versucht der KFSP, Signalwege zu entschlüsseln und neue Zielmoleküle zu identifizieren.

www.synapsetrauma.uzh.ch/en

KFSP ImmunoCure

Targeted Cancer Immunotherapy

Universität Zürich, UniversitätsSpital Zürich

Leitung: PD Dr. Patrick Roth, Prof. Dr. Markus Manz

Immuntherapeutische Behandlungsansätze werden derzeit als vielversprechendste Methode zur Behandlung verschiedener Tumorerkrankungen angesehen.
Im Rahmen des KFSP ImmunoCure werden wir neue immuntherapeutische Behandlungskonzepte untersuchen mit dem Ziel, eine Plattform für zielgerichtete Tumor-Immuntherapie in Zürich zu etablieren. Hierzu zählen (i) bi-spezifische Antikörper, (ii) genetisch modifizierte T-Zellen, die einen chimären Antigen-Rezeptor (CAR) exprimieren, (iii) die 3D-Darstellung der CAR T-Zellaktivität mit Hilfe modernster bildgebender Verfahren und (iv) die umfassende, hochdimensionale Charakterisierung von Immunantworten gegen Tumorzellen. Im Rahmen des KFSP werden diese neuen Behandlungsansätze zunächst in zwei Schwerpunktbereichen, Hirntumoren und hämatologischen Tumorerkrankungen, detailliert charakterisiert und untersucht werden.

KFSP Precision Hematology / Oncology

Next Generation Drug Response Profiling for Personalized Cancer Care

Universität Zürich, Kinderspital Zürich, UniversitätsSpital Zürich

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Jean-Pierre Bourquin

Trotz grossen Fortschritten mit Genomanalysen ist es immer noch schwierig, aufgrund genomischer Information therapeutische Ziele abzuleiten und das Ansprechen auf die Therapie vorauszusagen. Neue Ansätze müssen sich daher auf die Identifizierung von spezifischen Verwundbarkeiten in Krebszellen und auf Verfahren zur Analyse ihres Therapieansprechens fokussieren. Der KFSP Precision Oncolocy / Hematology entwickelt phänotypische Analysen mit Hilfe von funktionellem Screening direkt auf den relevanten primären Proben von Krebspatienten, um wichtige Informationen über den jeweiligen Tumor zu erhalten. Diese Information werden genutzt, um personalisierte Behandlungsansätze für individuelle Krebspatienten zu entwickeln und spezifische Verwundbarkeiten der Tumore zu entdecken.

www.crpp-pho.uzh.ch/en

KFSP Stroke

The interplay of microcirculation and plasticity after ischemic stroke

Universität Zürich, UniversitätsSpital Zürich

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Andreas Luft, Prof. Dr. Susanne Wegener

Trotz grossen Fortschritten mit Genomanalysen ist es immer noch schwierig, aufgrund genomischer Information therapeutische Ziele abzuleiten und das Ein Schlaganfall ist eine häufige und schwerwiegende Erkrankung. Obwohl man grosse Fortschritte in der Akuttherapie gemacht hat, bleibt die Mehrheit der Patienten behindert. Das Gehirn besitzt Selbstheilungsmechanismen, die Patienten mit Schlaganfall-bedingten Hirnverletzungen helfen könnten, wenn sie therapeutisch nutzbar wären. Allerdings ist noch zu wenig über diese Mechanismen bekannt. Die Forschenden des KFSP Stroke vermuten, dass die Hypoperfusion in der Akutphase der Trigger für diese Mechanismen ist, genauer, dass Hypoperfusion die Plastizität im Hirngewebe um die Verletzung erhöht. Mit einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen Neurologie, Neuroradiologie, Neurochirurgie und Neuropathologie wollen sie diese Hypothese in parallelen Studien an Mensch und Tiermodell überprüfen.

www.stroke.usz.ch/forschung/kfsp-stroke

KFSP BacVivo

Precision medicine for bacterial infections

Universität Zürich, UniversitätsSpital Zürich

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Annelies Zinkernagel, PD Dr. Barbara Hasse

Chronische Infektionen sind ein ungelöstes klinisches Problem trotz Vorhandensein von Antibiotika, gegen die gewisse Bakterien per se empfindlich wären. Die Bakterien, die bei chronischen Infektionen nachgewiesen werden, heissen Persisters. Sie sind geschützt vor Antiinfektiva, da sie sich in einem schlafenden, nicht wachsenden Zustand befinden. Für Patienten mit chronischen Infektionskrankheiten untersucht der KFSP BacVivo Risikofaktoren für diese Arten von Infektionen sowie neue Behandlungsstrategien. Besonderes Gewicht wird auf die klinische Präsentation bei Endokarditis, Gefässprotheseninfektionen, orthopädischen Infektionen, Haut- und Weicheitelinfektionen und Verbrennungen gelegt. Essentiell ist die detaillierte Analyse. Der KFSP ist eine fächerübergreifende Initiative von Infektiologie, Mikrobiologie, Chirurgie, Epidemiologie und Bioinformatik.

www.bacvivo.uzh.ch

KFSP Praeclare

Clarification of genetic variants for personalized prenatal and reproductive medicine

Universität Zürich, UniversitätsSpital Zürich

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Anita Rauch

Entwicklungsstörungen betreffen etwa 7% der Kinder und werden häufig durch genetische Mutationen verursacht. Die Feststellung einer eindeutigen genetischen Diagnose ermöglicht eine evidenzbasierte Betreuung der Schwangerschaft sowie weitere Entscheidungen zur Fortpflanzung, wie z. B. eine Präimplantationsdiagnostik. Darüber hinaus besteht eine zunehmende Nachfrage nach einem erweiterten Träger-Screening schon vor einer Schwangerschaft. Während dies technisch machbar wäre, wird die Umsetzung in die klinische Praxis durch die große Anzahl von Varianten mit unbekannter Bedeutung behindert, die durch solche ungezielten Screening-Ansätze entdeckt werden. Ziel des KFSP Praeclare ist es daher, reproduktive genetische Untersuchung zu verbessern, indem die genetische Variabilität und Pathogenität von Entwicklungsstörungen näher untersucht werden.

www.praeclare.uzh.ch

KFSP AI Oncological Imaging

Artificial Intelligence in oncological Imaging Network

Universität Zürich, UniversitätsSpital Zürich

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Jürg Hodler, Prof. Dr. Matthias Guckenberger

Die künstliche Intelligenz (KI) hat sich in den letzten Jahren rapide weiterentwickelt und findet in vielen Bereichen des täglichen Lebens Anwendung. Auch in der Medizin gibt es bereits erste Einsatzgebiete und es wird davon ausgegangen, dass der Einsatz von KI die Arbeit von Medizinern revolutionieren wird. Der KFSP AI Oncological Imaging beschäftigt sich speziell mit Anwendungen der KI in der onkologischen Bildgebung. In diesem Bereich verspricht man sich Verbesserungen in zwei Bereichen: Zum einen ermöglicht die KI eine Automatisierung von Routinetätigkeiten, die heute von Radiologen manuell durchgeführt werden und zeitaufwändig sind. Zum anderen erhofft man sich, dass Methoden der KI in einigen Bereichen der menschlichen Beurteilung überlegen sind und so die Diagnose und Behandlung von Krebspatienten verbessern können. Insbesondere eignen sich KI Methoden für die quantitative Analyse von radiologischen Bildern, welche heute nur qualitativ beschrieben werden.

www.crpp-ai-oncology.uzh.ch

KFSP Precision MS

Implementing Precision Medicine in Multiple Sclerosis

Universität Zürich, UniversitätsSpital Zürich

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Roland Martin

Multiple Sklerose (MS) ist eine prototypische Autoimmunerkrankung, die zur Schädigung des Zentralnervensystems führt. Aufgrund ihrer Krankheitsheterogenität ist es ein ideales Beispiel, um Forschung in der personalisierten Medizin voranzutreiben und vorhandenes Wissen und neue Erkenntnisse in die klinische Routine zu übertragen. Daher wird der KFSP PrecisionMS zwei Hauptziele verfolgen: 1) Entwicklung individueller Krankheits- / Risikoprofile und Marker für bestimmte Pathomechanismen, die für Behandlungsentscheidungen und als Massstab für innovative klinische Studien verwendet werden können. 2) Übertragung dieser Massnahmen in die klinische Routine, um die Patientenbetreuung besser anzuleiten und neuartige Behandlungen zu testen.

www.precisionms.uzh.ch

KFSP ImmuGene

Gene Therapy for Severe Immunodeficiency

Universität Zürich, Kinderspital Zürich

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Janine Reichenbach, Prof. Dr. Martin Jinek

Die Entwicklung von Gentherapien wird bahnbrechende Therapiemöglichkeiten zur Behandlung von schweren genetischen Erkrankungen bieten. Basierend auf der vorhandenen pionierhaften Expertise und Erfahrung aus klinischen Gentherapiestudien am Kinderspital Zürich und spitzenmedizinischer Forschung zur Vektor-Entwicklung und Genom-Editing an der Universität Zürich soll der KFSP ImmuGene den Grundstein für ein Kompetenzzentrum für translationale Gentherapie-Entwicklung und Anwendung legen. In der Startphase wird ImmuGene mit neuartigen an der UZH entwickelten lentiviralen Vektoren eine first-in-man Studie bei Patienten mit dem angeborenen Immundefekt Septische Granulomatose  durchführen. Parallel werden CRISPR-basierte Ansätzen zur Genomkorrektur entwickelt , mit dem Ziel in einer zweiten Phase eine entsprechende klinische Genom-Editing Studie an der UZH durchzuführen.

KFSP CYTIMM-Z

Zurich initiative on novel cytokine-directed treatments for immune dysregulation

Universität Zürich, UniversitätsSpital Zürich, Kinderspital Zürich

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Onur Boyman, Prof. Dr. Jana Pachlopnik