LERU – League of European Research Universities


The League of European Research Universities (LERU) is a network of 23 leading research universities that are located in 12 European countries. LERU is a respected voice in the European Higher Education Area, committed to upholding sound conditions for research, especially basic research, and teaching.
UZH has been a member since 2006 and contributes to its numerous working groups in a variety of ways.


Name of Body

UZH Member

Governing Bodies



Rectors’ Assembly

Michael Schaepman, President

Board of Directors

Jean Chambaz (Sorbonne, chair), Michael Arthur (UCL), Karen Maex (Amsterdam)

No UZH member

BoD+ (chairs of policy groups)

No UZH member

Policy Groups









BIOM: Biomedicine /Life Sciences

Rainer Weber, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine

DOCT: Doctoral Studies

Claudine Leysinger, Graduate Campus

ENTE: Enterprise and Innovation

Christian Schwarzenegger, Vice President Faculty Affairs and Scientific Information

ERPM: European Research Project Managers

Sofia Karakostas, Annika Glauner, EU Grants Access

INFO: Information & Open access

Andrea Malits, Main Library

LEAR: Learning & Teaching

Gabriele Siegert, VP Education and Student Affairs

NATU: Natural Sciences

Roland Sigel, Dean of the Faculty of Science

RESE: Research

Beatrice Beck Schimmer, Vice President Medicine

SSHU: Social Sciences and Humanities

Klaus Jonas, Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Network Groups


COMM: Directors of Communication

Jürg Dinner, Communications

SON: Senior Officers’ Network

Katja Durkin, International Relations Office

Thematic Groups











ALUM: Alumni relations

Sandra Emanuel, UZH Alumni

ANIM: Animals used for scientific purposes

Michaela Thallmair, Animal Welfare Delegate

CARE: Careers of Researchers & HR

Karin Bertschinger, HR
Lisa Müller, Research

PHIL: Philanthropy

Peter Collmer, General Secretariat

CRIM: Crime and Social Control

Patrik Manzoni, Institute of Law

DIGE: Digital Education

Monica Kalt, Office of the Vice President Education and Student Affairs

ETHI: Ethics

Francis Cheneval, Institute of Philosophy

EDI: Equality, Diversity, Inclusion

Karin Gilland Lutz, Office for Gender Equality and Diversity

INTE: Research integrity

Martin Hanselmann, Research Development

LAW: Law

Andrea Büchler, Faculty of Law

THRS: Theology and Religious Studies

Konrad Schmid, Department of Theology