Bannerbild Forschung - Zwei Laptops auf Tisch mit Händen

Research

The institute conducts basic and applied research on central scientific and social issues in formal, non-formal, and informal educational contexts such as school, family, the work environment, or youth work. This is done with historical, qualitative, quantitative, and theory-building approaches and with the support of public and private institutions: the Swiss National Science Foundation, foundations, companies, the Federal Government, cantons, and municipalities. The list of current publications provides an overview of the internal research.

Research at the Chairs

A large part of the research at the Institute of Education is organized in research groups at the individual chairs. The research that is conducted at the currently thirteen chairs at the institute covers a broad spectrum of educational science topics:

This research is complemented by research at the research center and the office for research methods:

Research in Research Clusters

In order to address questions regarding educational science in a manner that encompasses chairs and personal, research clusters are initiated that provide a network for scientific collaboration among researchers from the Institute of Education. This lateral structure complements research conducted at the individual chairs, the office for research methods as well as the research center and can be supplemented by other researchers or institutions working in the respective fields. Research clusters help to bundle competencies and research activities, enabling a multi-perspective approach to research questions in selected areas of common interest. The goals of the research clusters are to establish, support, and maintain (research) communication and (research) collaboration. Activities in the research clusters encompass colloquia, conferences, peer support, academic career development or collective research projects, etc.

At the moment, the following three research clusters exist at the Institute of Education:

Bannerbild Forschung - Zwei Laptops auf Tisch mit Händen

Forschung

Am Institut wird grundlagen- und anwendungsorientierte Forschung zu zentralen wissenschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Fragestellungen in formalen, non-formalen und informellen Bildungskontexten wie der Schule, der Familie, der Arbeitswelt oder der Jugendarbeit durchgeführt. Dies erfolgt mit historischen, qualitativen, quantitativen und theoriebildenden Zugängen und mit Unterstützung von öffentlichen und privaten Institutionen: dem Schweizerischen Nationalfonds, Stiftungen, Unternehmen, Bund, Kantone und Gemeinden. Einen Überblick gibt die Liste der aktuellen Publikationen.

Forschung an den Lehrstühlen und Fachstellen

Ein grosser Teil unserer Forschung ist in Forschungsgruppen der einzelnen Lehrstühle organisiert. Die aktuell dreizehn Lehrstühle am Institut decken mit ihrer Forschung ein breites erziehungswissenschaftliches Themenspektrum ab.

Ergänzt wird diese Forschung durch Forschung an der Forschungsstelle und an der Fachstelle Methoden.

Forschung in Forschungsclustern

Zur lehrstuhl- und personenübergreifenden Bearbeitung von erziehungswissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen werden Forschungscluster initiiert, die das wissenschaftliche Personal des Instituts quer zu den einzelnen Professuren und Arbeitsbereichen vernetzen. Diese Querstruktur zur Forschung an den einzelnen Lehrstühlen, den Methodenstellen sowie an der Forschungsstelle kann durch weitere Personen und Institutionen ergänzt werden. Dabei sollen gezielt Kompetenzen und Forschungsaktivitäten gebündelt und ein mehrperspektivischer Zugang zu Forschungsfragen in einem thematisch definierten Forschungsfeld ermöglicht werden. Die Ziele der Forschungscluster liegen damit in der Etablierung, Unterstützung und Aufrechterhaltung von (Forschungs-)Kommunikation und (Forschungs-)Kooperationen. Die Tätigkeitsbereiche umfassen gemeinsame Kolloquien, Tagungen, die kollegiale Beratung, Nachwuchsförderung, die gemeinsame Bearbeitung und Initiierung von Forschungsprojekten usw.

Aktuell werden die folgenden Themen im Rahmen der Forschungscluster bearbeitet: