Speaker and Chair bios

Sharon Bowles, Member of the European Parliament. Ms Bowles has a scientific and mathematical background having completed her doctorate at Oxford University. She later trained and worked as a Chartered and European Patent Attorney setting up her own practice in 1981. Sharon has been active in politics since the mid 1980s. She became a member of the European Parliament for the UK South East region in May 2005 and was re-elected in June 2009. She has been a full member of the Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee since her arrival as an MEP and was elected as Chairwoman in July 2009. She is currently rapporteur on a European System of National and Regional Accounts; shadow rapporteur on Capital Requirements Directive 4 (CRD4), the European Market Infrastructure Regulation (EMIR), and the Securities Law Directive; and she will be shadow for PRIPs and Central Securities Depositories. She was previously the shadow rapporteur for the directives on Payment Services, Solvency II, Capital Requirements, Deposit Guarantees and Level 3 Committee funding, and for reports on Hedge Funds and Private Equity and Transparency of Institutional Investors.

Professor Lord Eatwell. Having taught economics at the University of Cambridge since 1970, Lord Eatwell is Director of the Cambridge Endowment for Research in Finance and the Centre for Financial Analysis and Policy. He is Professor in Financial Policy and President of Queens' College, Cambridge. From 1985 to 1992, he served as economic adviser to Neil Kinnock, leader of the British Labour Party, and was responsible for much of the work that led to a substantial re-alignment of the Labour Party's economic policies. In 1992 he entered the House of Lords, and from 1993 to 1997 was Principal Opposition Spokesman on Treasury and Economic Affairs. In 2009 he became a member of the House of Lords' Economic Affairs Committee.

Lord McFall of Alcluith. Lord McFall was raised to the peerage as Baron McFall of Alcluith, of Dumbarton in the County of Dunbartonshire, in 2010. He served as Member of Parliament (Labour) for Dumbarton 1987-2005, for West Dunbartonshire 2005-10. He was Chairman of the House of Commons Treasury Committee from 2001-10. In that capacity, he led the Committee's inquiry into the collapse of Northern Rock and related inquiries into UK regulatory and bank governance failings. He was a member of the Parliamentary Joint Select Committee on the draft Financial Services Bill, which produced its Final Report on the Government's Financial Services Bill in December 2011.

Michael Blair QC is in independent practice at the Bar of England and Wales, at 3 Verulam Buildings Gray's Inn. His practice is in financial services regulation. Between 1987 and 2000 he was the Head of Legal Services in the Securities and Investments Board and then General Counsel to the Board of the Financial Services Authority. He has served as Treasurer of the General Council of the Bar in 1994-8 and as Master Treasurer of his Inn of Court, the Middle Temple, in 2008.

Paul Sharma is Director, Prudential Policy, the UK Financial Services Authority. He is the representative of the FSA on the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, and is currently Chair of the Macro-prudential Supervision Group (a sub-group of the Basel Committee). He is also a member of the EBA's Joint Committee on Financial Conglomerates. The FSA's Policy Division is responsible for the development and implementation of the prudential regime for liquidity, capital, accounting, operational risk and governance and negotiating policy input into key prudential European Union directives and specific international agreements.

Alastair Evans is Head of Government Policy and Affairs at the Lloyd's General Counsel Division. He read History at Oxford, subsequently Law at London and Bar (Inner Temple). He has been at Lloyd's since 1989. He chairs the Insurance Europe's (new name for European Insurance Federation) EU Single Market Committee.

Professor Kern Alexander is Professor of Law and Finance at the University of Zurich and is Senior Research Fellow in Financial Regulation at the Centre for Financial Analysis and Policy, University of Cambridge. In August 2011, he was appointed Specialist Adviser to the UK Parliament's Joint Select Committee on the Draft Financial Services Bill. He is also a Member of Expert Panel on Financial Services for the European Parliament. He has published extensively in academic journals and is the author of several books addressing banking, securities and economic regulation. He is also the author or co-author of eight commissioned reports for the European Parliament on reform of European financial regulation. He was educated at Cornell, Oxford and Cambridge Universities.