Academic Career Development

The Faculty of Law’s academic career development encompasses all levels of the educational pyramid, from student assistants to assistant professorships, with academic career development being promoted in both research and teaching.

It takes place primarily in the subject groups and at the professorial chairs.

The subject groups make every effort to provide junior researchers with a permanent contact person to assist them with career planning, obtaining funding, involvement in teaching, publications and conference participation. In the case of teaching and research assistants, care is taken to ensure that one-third of the available research time is set aside for them to work on their PhD thesis. The institutionalized doctoral colloquia and the promotion of international networking are a further important element.

Junior researchers also receive support in the various faculty research centers and the cross-faculty UZH Graduate Campus platform.

Offers of the Management Office of the Vice Dean of Research and Academic Career Development

Information and Advice

The Vice Dean and the Management Office of the Vice Dean provide advice on the financing of academic careers (cf. PDF entitled “Financing PhD and Postdoctoral Research”) and regular information about various relevant offers that come to their attention (call for papers, grants, etc.).

Funding

The following funding is available to junior researchers at the Faculty of Law. The Management Office of the Vice Dean will be happy to provide information in this regard.

  • Awarding of mobility contributions, e.g. within the framework of the LERU PhD exchange program (Fact sheet in German (PDF, 171 KB) and English (PDF, 169 KB))
  • Grants for translations and proofreading of PhD theses, habilitations, essays, third-party funding submissions, etc., if the authors are not writing the texts in their native language (Application form).
  • Contributions for the printing of outstanding PhD theses, financed by the Otto Schnabel Fund
  • Support of events and initiatives of junior researchers

Contact point for conflict situations

The Vice Dean Professor Matthias Oesch is also available as a contact person in case of conflict between junior researchers and their supervisors, if these cannot be solved bilaterally.

Consultations in cases of sexual harassment are available with Professor Brigitte Tag and with MLaw Sina Staudinger. Link.  Professor Brigitte Tag is the person responsible for investigations into cases under the RSB (“Regulations for Protection against Sexual Harassment at UZH”) and MLaw Sina Staudinger is executive director of the RSB Link Committee

Nachwuchsförderung

Die Nachwuchsförderung der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät umfasst alle Stufen der Ausbildungspyramide, von den Hilfsassistierenden bis zu den Assistenzprofessuren, wobei der wissenschaftliche Nachwuchs sowohl in der Forschung als auch in der Lehre gefördert wird.

Die Förderung findet in erster Linie in den Fachgruppen und an den Lehrstühlen statt.

Die Fachgruppen legen ein besonderes Augenmerk darauf, dass die Nachwuchsforschenden über feste Ansprechpartner*innen verfügen, die sie in fachlicher Hinsicht, bezüglich Laufbahnplanung, bei der Einwerbung von Fördermitteln, beim Einbezug in die Lehre, bei Publikationen und Tagungsteilnahmen unterstützen. Bei den Assistierenden wird darauf geachtet, dass ihnen ein Drittel der Forschungszeit für die Arbeit am Dissertationsprojekt zur Verfügung steht. Ein wichtiges Element sind auch die institutionalisierten Doktorandenkolloquien sowie die Förderung der internationalen Vernetzung.

Überdies werden die Nachwuchsforschenden auch in den verschiedenen fakultären Forschungsstellen und der fakultätsübergreifenden UZH-Plattform Graduate Campus unterstützt.

Angebote des Prodekanats Forschung und Nachwuchsförderung

Beratung und Information

Der Prodekan und die Geschäftsstelle des Prodekanats beraten bei der Finanzierung der wissenschaftlichen Karriere (vgl. PDF «Finanzierung PhD und Postdoc») und informieren regelmässig über verschiedene relevante Angebote, von denen das Prodekanat Kenntnis erhält (Call for Papers, Grants, u.a.).

Fördermittel

Den Nachwuchsforschenden der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät stehen folgende Fördermittel zur Verfügung. Die Geschäftsstelle des Prodekanats gibt dazu gerne Auskunft.

  • Vergabe von Mobilitätsbeiträgen etwa im Rahmen des LERU PhD Exchange-Programms (Merkblatt in deutscher (PDF, 171 KB) und englischer Sprache (PDF, 169 KB))
  • Zuschüsse für Übersetzungen und Proof Readings von Dissertationen, Habilitationen, Aufsätzen, Drittmitteleingaben u.a., falls die Texte nicht in der Muttersprache verfasst werden (Antragsformular (PDF, 1 MB)).
  • Beiträge an die Drucklegung von ausgezeichneten Dissertationen, finanziert über den Otto Schnabel-Fonds
  • Unterstützung von Anlässen und Initiativen der Nachwuchsforschenden

Anlaufstelle bei Konflikten

Der Prodekan Prof. Matthias Oesch steht auch als Ansprechperson bei Konflikten zwischen Nachwuchsforschenden und Betreuungspersonen zur Verfügung, falls diese nicht bilateral gelöst werden können.

Beratungen bei sexuellen Belästigungen finden Sie bei Prof. Brigitte Tag und bei MLaw Sina Staudinger. Link.  Prof. Brigitte Tag ist untersuchende Person RSB ("Reglement zum Schutz vor sexueller Belästigung an der UZH") und MLaw Sina Staudinger Geschäftsführerin der Kommission RSB Link.