The Master's programs in Physics at the University of Zurich (UZH) enable a first specialisation in a current field of research. They start in the autumn semester and last three semesters (90 ECTS credits). In the first and second semesters, the study programs consist of lectures, exercises and internships in the chosen field of specialisation.

Study guide (PDF, 1 MB)

At the UZH, four different master concentrations are offered in internal and associated research groups at the Institute of Physics:

The annual reports at and the websites of the individual research groups: give an overview of the current research work.
The successful graduates are awarded the diploma "Master of Science UZH in Physics". The Master's degree courses are taught in English.

Continuing on to a master’s program with a major in Physics

With a “Bachelor of Science UZH in Physics” or a bachelor’s degree in physics from any other Swiss university, you are automatically admitted to our master’s program in physics. You must have successfully completed all compulsory and core elective modules (including your bachelor’s thesis) to sign up for the master’s program.
Depending on the concentration students select, as well as the modules completed during their bachelor’s studies, they will need to complete certain modules (see below).
Students will receive credit towards their master’s degree for at most 30 credit points from their bachelor’s degree. Students may only begin work on their master’s thesis once they have completed their bachelor’s degree.
Faculty members individually evaluate bachelor’s degrees from foreign universities. Any documents must be handed in together with the application for matriculation at the Admission’s Office (Kanzlei ( for Students with a Foreign Degree. Depending on what students have studied previously, they may be required to complete additional coursework during the master’s program.


Continuing from a BSc 180/150 major in Physics

Students with a BSc degree with a major in Physics for 180 or 150 ECTS credits can continue with a consecutive master’s program without restrictions.

If the master specialisation Astrophysics and Cosmology requires the compulsory module: Introduction to Astrophysics (AST241). If this module is not taken in the Bachelor's program, the corresponding module must be completed in the Master's program, whereby crediting is possible in the elective area of the Master's program.


Continuing from a BSc120 major in Physics

With a BSc degree in Physics with 120 ECTS, a transfer to the consecutive Master requires the following modules, which differ depending on the Master's concentration. The corresponding modules are compulsory

  • Condensed Matter
    Compulsory module: Solid State Physics (PHY210), Quantum Mechanics I (PHY331*)
  • Elementary Particles
    Compulsory modules: Nuclear and Particle Physics I (PHY211), Quantum Mechanics I (PHY331*)
  • Astrophysics and Cosmology
    Compulsory module: Introduction to Astrophysics (AST241)
  • Bio- and medical Physics
    Compulsory modules: Nuclear and Particle Physics I (PHY211)

*PHY331 is compulsory for students starting with their master studies in Autum 21 or later.

Modules on this list that were not completed in the Bachelor's program are to be completed in the Master's program, the credits are accounted in the elective area of the Master's program.
In addition, the list of the modules to be taken is discussed with the supervisor of the Master thesis and the coordinator of the Master concentration, which can lead to a different list.


Study guide

The Guide to Physics Studies provides comprehensive information about the Bachelor's and Master's programs.