Antonio Loprieno

Antonio Loprieno


"Switzerland’s higher education institutions are typologically and content-wise more diverse than those of its neighboring countries, yet they are also more coherent in terms of academics and the programs offered. The University of Zurich plays a pioneering role in this landscape because it has the most diverse range of studies in the whole of Switzerland, but also due to its internationally leading position in numerous areas of research. As such, the Board of the University is confronted with a dual challenge: Our overarching aim is to ensure the outstanding quality of scholarlship at the University of Zurich, thus contributing to the international reputation of Switzerland’s higher education system on the whole."

CV

Antonio Loprieno (born 1955) went to school at the European School of Brussels and studied Egyptology, Linguistics, and Semitic Studies at the University of Turin, where he also earned his doctoral degree and subsequently worked as a teaching and research associate until 1981. As a recipient of a grant from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, he successfully submitted his habilitation at the University of Göttingen. He was associate professor at the University of Perugia from 1984 until 1989, when he was appointed full professor of Egyptology at the University of California, Los Angeles, where he lead the Department of Near Eastern Languages and Cultures until 2000. During this period, Loprieno was visiting professor at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, at the École pratique des hautes études in Paris, and at Heidelberg University. Since 2000, Loprieno has been full professor of Egyptology at the University of Basel, where he acted as president from 2006–2015. He has published over 100 scholarly essays and monographs in the areas of Egyptology and Semetic Linguistics.

From 2008 to 2015, Loprieno was president of the Rectors’ Conference of the Swiss Universities (CRUS). Currently he is head of the Swiss Study Foundation and member in a variety of university boards, the Göttingen Academy of Sciences and Humanities, the German Archaeological Institute, and other national and international academic organizations.

Antonio Loprieno

Antonio Loprieno


«Unsere Universitätslandschaft ist einerseits inhaltlich und typologisch vielfältiger, andererseits wissenschaftlich und programmatisch kohärenter als jene unserer Nachbarländer. Im schweizerischen akademischen Geflecht spielt die Universität Zürich eine wegweisende Rolle, weil sie über das breiteste fachliche Angebot verfügt und in mehreren Forschungsbereichen eine Führungsrolle auf Weltebene übernimmt. Somit stellt der Dienst im Universitätsrat eine doppelte Herausforderung dar: Man will sein Bestes tun, um zur Sicherung der ausserordentlichen wissenschaftlichen Qualität der Universität Zürich und dadurch auch zur globalen Stellung der schweizerischen Hochschulwesens insgesamt beizutragen.»

Lebenslauf

Antonio Loprieno, geboren 1955, absolvierte das Gymnasium an der Europäischen Schule in Brüssel und studierte Ägyptologie, Sprachwissenschaft und Semitistik an der Universität Turin, wo er 1977 mit dem Doktorat abschloss und bis 1981 als Assistent tätig war. Als Stipendiat der Alexander-von-Humboldt-Stiftung habilitierte er sich 1984 an der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen. Ab 1984 war er Associate Professor an der Universität Perugia, bis er 1989 als Ordinarius für Ägyptologie an der University of California, Los Angeles berufen wurde, wo er bis 2000 auch das Department of Near Eastern Languages and Cultures leitete. Während dieser Zeit nahm er auch Gastprofessuren an der Hebräischen Universität in Jerusalem, an der École Pratique des Hautes Études in Paris sowie an der Universität Heidelberg wahr. Seit 2000 ist Loprieno Ordinarius für Ägyptologie an der Universität Basel, wo er 2006-15 als Rektor amtete. Seine Forschungsgebiete, in denen er durch mehr als hundert wissenschaftliche Monographien und Aufsätze ausgewiesen ist, sind die Ägyptologie und die semitische Linguistik.

Loprieno war 2008-2015 Präsident der Schweizerischen Rektorenkonferenz (CRUS). Seit Mai 2018 ist Loprieno Präsident der Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz und Präsident des europäischen Dachverbandes der Akademien der Wissenschaften. Im April 2018 wurde er zum Vorsitzenden des Bord of Governors der Jacobs University Bremen gewählt. Loprieno ist korrespondierendes Mitglied der Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Göttingen, des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts und weiterer international bedeutender wissenschaftlicher Gesellschaften.