Annual Report 2019

Foreword

Ladies and gentlemen, dear colleagues

Rektorin ad interim Gabriele Siegert

The world of work is changing fast. In particular, to keep up with the fast pace of digitalization we need to acquire new knowledge and develop new skills. Continuing education is therefore a vital component to fill the gaps and improve employability. The University of Zurich offers a wide range of continuing education programs for people from all walks of life.

The portraits in this year’s Annual Report demonstrate the value of pursuing a continuing education course at UZH, improving your career prospects or even making a complete change of direction possible.

The current Annual Report presents an overview of the research and teaching currently taking place at UZH. In the statistics and financial section, you can find detailed facts and figures about the university in 2019.

Sincerely,
Prof. Gabriele Siegert, President ad interim

April 2020

Figures

UZH in Figures (1)

infographic 1

Detailed statistics on the website of the Finance Department

UZH in Figures (2)

infographic 2

Detailed statistics on the website of the Finance Department

UZH in Figures (3)

infographic 3

Detailed statistics on the website of the Finance Department

UZH in Figures (4)

infographic 4

Detailed statistics on the website of the Finance Department

UZH in Figures (5)

infographic 5

Detailed statistics on the website of the Finance Department

UZH in Figures (6)

infographic 6

Detailed statistics on the website of the Finance Department

UZH in Figures (7)

infographic

Detailed statistics on the website of the Finance Department

UZH in Figures (8)

infographic 8

Detailed statistics on the website of the Finance Department

UZH in Figures (9)

infographic 9

Detailed statistics on the website of the Finance Department

UZH in Figures (10)

infographic 10

Detailed infos on the website of the UZH Continuing Education

UZH in Figures (11)

infographic 11

Detailed statistics on the website of unitectra

Highlights

The Puzzle of Language

Visualization «Evolving Language»

At the new National Center of Competence in Research (NCCR) “Evolving Language”, an interdisciplinary team of researchers are investigating the origins and the future of language.

UZH News: The Power of Language

New Immunotherapies to Combat Cancer

Visualization of immune cells and antibodies

University Medicine Zurich’s new flagship project is called “Immuno-TargET”. The project combines the latest technologies to develop immunotherapies for specific types of endocrine cancer.

UZH News: New Immunotherapies to Combat Cancer

Changes at Doctoral Level

Michael Schaepman and Claudine Leysinger

The Graduate Campus (GRC) drew up new guidelines for doctoral supervision in 2019. Claudine Leysinger, head of the GRC, and Michael Schaepman, Vice President Research, discuss the recommendations.

Best Practice Recommendations

Modern Lessons from the Ancient World

Amor and Psyche united in a kiss (from the archaeological collection)

In 2019, the Center for the Study of the Ancient World, involving around 50 UZH researchers, was launched. The center is intended to boost research into the ancient world and unearth new insights.

Zurich Center for the Study of the Ancient World

Imperial God

Moses with law tablet, painted by Valentin de Boulogne (1620)

As they were fleeing through the desert, the people of Israel received God’s commandments at Mount Sinai, so says the Bible. The historical background to the story is no less dramatic.

UZH News: Imperial God

Improved Breast Cancer Diagnosis

Breast cancer tissue

An imaging method which UZH significantly helped develop is now able to present breast cancer tissue in greater detail. It uses up to 35 biomarkers to identify different cell types in a tumor.

Refining Breast Cancer Classification by Multiplexed Imaging

Facts and fiction

Visitors of Scientifica 2019

Science Fiction – Science Facts: This was the motto for the Science Days staged jointly by the University of Zurich and ETH Zurich.

Scientifica

Between Humans and Machines

Chatchavan Wacharamanotham

Chatchavan Wacharamanotham, professor of interaction design, uses innovative teaching methods to share his expertise with his students. He won the 2019 teaching award for his efforts.

UZH News: Teaching Award 2019

University Program for School Students

Maurin Brunner, Marie Schrader and Pebijn Cobben

For around a year now, high school students have been able to get a taste of uni life. The pilot project proved popular, and has now been extended for two more years.

UZH News: «Ich kann schnell viel lernen» (in German)

Reading Caesar

Ancient stone tablet with text about Caesar

Latin is alive and kicking at UZH: In 2019, Latin became a compulsory module for some courses. It is helpful for students to be able to read Latin sources, says Christian Utzinger of the Language Center.

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Latin and Greek

Digital 101

student at the computer

With its Teaching Fund, UZH supports innovative teaching formats, thereby encouraging the development of more effective, diverse and dynamic teaching. The subject area of informatics was one of the beneficiaries in 2019.

Competitive Teaching Fund

Campus

Listening Closely

Stefan Schnyder and Gabriele Siegert

Deputy President Gabriele Siegert and Stefan Schnyder, Vice President Finances and Human Resources, comment on the results of the university-wide employee survey that was conducted for the first time in 2019.

UZH News: Employee Survey

“De Foifer” and Sustainable Take-Away

Students in the Mensa

From schnitzel and fries to soy-balls and butter tofu: The UZH cafeteria menus have had a refresh to cater to modern tastes. Sustainability is a high priority – and from the Fall Semester will also apply to the take-away menus.

“We want to make the Oerlikon Campus more appealing”

Infographic Campus Oerlikon

Veronika Brandstätter-Morawietz leads the new Oerlikon Campus council. The organization wants to introduce measures to improve the Oerlikon site.  The psychology professor explains the plans in an interview.

New Look for Irchel

Vision Campus Irchel

Building work is taking place at Irchel Campus. Over the course of the next 20 years, UZH’s site strategy will be implemented. In the meantime, alongside the university students, around 2,000 high-school students will also be taught on campus.

Stadtuniversität (in German)

Portraits

Pictures: Beat Schweizer

Focus on Continuing Education – Seeing the World Anew

Carla Rohrer Bley

This year’s annual report features portraits by photographer Beat Schweizer of 15 people, all of whom have taken a continuing education course at UZH. Their subject areas vary wildly, but common to all those pictured is a curiosity about the future and an interest in learning and experiencing new things. In brief texts to accompany the portraits, these lifelong learners report on their experiences with UZH continuing education.

Pictured: Carla Rohrer Bley, Veterinarian.

Green Economics

Bastien Girod

“I am very interested in research, that’s why I did a PhD and got the habilitation to teach at university-level. To make the leap from academia to business, I completed a part-time continuing education course in general management at UZH, which I followed up with an Executive MBA, all alongside working. Then I was well-equipped to take on a leadership role in business development for the climate protection company South Pole, as well as the presidency of VBSA, the Swiss waste management association.”

National Councilor Bastien Girod, Green Party politician.

Digital Spanish

Francisca Ruiz

“At UZH I train upper secondary school teachers of Spanish. We use teaching methods that appeal to digital natives. For example, we experiment with machine translation programs in class and show how deceptive and unreliable they can be.”

Francisca Ruiz, teacher training subject specialist at UZH and Spanish teacher at Neue Kantonsschule Aarau.

Good Branding

Elizabeth Rembelska

“I work in asset management. I chose the CAS program in Inhouse Counsel, i.e. providing legal counsel within a company, because it features renowned experts from various areas of business. I wrote my final paper on branding.”

Elizabeth Rembelska works in marketing.

Troublesome Teeth

Alexander Philipp

“As a dentist, I come across a lot of patients who suffer from problems with the periodontium, the supporting tissues of the teeth. Many of them are older people, and looking after teeth in old age gets more difficult when dementia or other illnesses are present. But we can’t simply look away, it’s important to deal with the problems in good time. The MAS in Periodontology brought me up to date with the latest scientific findings. I can now apply this knowledge directly in my practice.”  

Alexander Philipp, dentist, on his farm in Thurgau.

New Purpose

Sandro Bless

“After 25 years as a banker, I began to wonder what the meaning of it all was. Should I continue to work 50 or 60 hours a week at the bank? I decided I’d rather be passing on my knowledge to young people. The Teaching Diploma for upper secondary schools at UZH was therefore exactly the right choice for me.”

Sandro Bless, upper secondary school teacher of economics.

How Machines Learn

Mie Brühl

“During my continuing education course in big data and machine learning, I didn’t have much time for sitting around on the sofa. I had to invest a lot of time to get to grips with the material. But it was worth it, I was appointed to work on a digitalization project at a bank. The course gave me the knowledge I need.”

Mie Brühl, banker and manager.

Practical Knowledge

Marianne Jossen

“I wanted to know more about the Swiss health system as a whole and chose the MAS in Public Health run jointly by the universities of Zurich, Basel and Bern. Participants came from various areas of the healthcare sector and brought their experience as practitioners to the course. That was very enriching. We still keep in regular contact.”

Sociologist Marianne Jossen works at the Federal Office of Public Health.

Sustainable Advising

Marcus Fenchel

“I work as a manager in a consultancy firm. Our clients include banks, insurance companies and other financial services companies. Currently, sustainable finance is very in vogue, and banks are looking for support in this area that is new for them. I enrolled on the CAS in Sustainable Finance in order to bring my knowledge up to date with the latest developments in research and practice.”

Marcus Fenchel, manager.

Staying on the Ball

Michael Bürgisser

“I want to stay on the ball, so I regularly attend continuing education courses at UZH. That way I get new interesting ideas for my teaching, and I also manage to stay connected to the university. Continuing education courses are a good option for strengthening the exchange between high schools and universities.”

Michael Bürgisser, mathematics teacher.

Healing Power of Juniper

Maria Blassnigg

“The UZH continuing education courses in ethnobotany and ethnomedicine are unique in Europe. I feel really lucky that I was able to attend them. I am now able to give better advice to customers in the pharmacy, especially when it comes to offering alternatives to conventional pharmaceutical drugs. For my final paper I wrote about the healing properties of juniper.”

Maria Blassnigg, pharmacist.

Analyzing the “68ers”

Bernhard Weissberg

“I've always been interested in history, but as a journalist I never had time to delve into any topic in depth. The MAS in Applied History enabled me to do that. At the same time I got to know interesting people from all over the world, and we spent long hours listening, discussing and debating – for example about the 1968 youth movement and its effects. We went on summer schools to Berlin and London.”

Bernhard Weissberg was previously editor-in-chief of Blick newspaper, now he owns a communications consultancy.

A Good Life for Fido?

Carla Rohrer Bley

“At the Veterinary Teaching Hospital, I look after animals with cancer. Modern medicine leaves us with difficult questions: Should you save the life of a seriously ill dog, or put him out of his misery? Another concern for me is the way we treat pets and farm animals so differently. One is loved and cosseted, the other is slaughtered. In the MAS in Applied Ethics I could debate these ethical dilemmas. I now find it easier to deal with difficult cases in my daily work.” 

Veterinarian Carla Rohrer Bley is professor of radio oncology at UZH. As well as the MAS in Applied Ethics, she has a CAS in Leadership & Governance in Higher Education.

Fit for the Classroom

Sabrina Müller

“I was a vicar for six years; I got my PhD from the Faculty of Theology of the University of Zurich, where I’m now an external instructor and will soon complete my habilitation. Thanks to the CAS in University Teaching, I feel comfortable in front of a class and well equipped to teach. In addition, it’s necessary to demonstrate that you have didactic skills when applying for jobs at other universities. I attended the continuing education course because I enjoy teaching and because I wanted to improve my career prospects.”

Sabrina Müller, Theological Administrative Head of the Faculty of Theology’s Center for Church Development.

Understanding Patterns

Rahel Fähndrich

“I work with children and young people who are going through rough patches. It is always a challenge to make sense of children’s behavioral patterns and to work out what is the right therapy for them. In the MAS in Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, I was able to discuss cases from my practice with the teachers. A few lightbulb moments reinforced the importance of exchange with colleagues for me.”

Rahel Fähndrich is a psychotherapist and works in an institution for children and young people with behavioral issues and learning difficulties.

The Business of Art

Sabrina Müller

“As a student I watched nearly all productions at the Opera House; I often went to see the same opera several times. After finishing university, I became a finance and asset manager. But something was missing. I wanted to bring together my interest in the arts and my business skills. The continuing education program in executive arts administration paved the way.”

Christian Berner, commercial director of the Zurich Opera House.

Jahresbericht 2019

Grusswort

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren, liebe Kolleginnen und Kollegen

Rektorin ad interim Gabriele Siegert

Die Berufswelt befindet sich im Wandel. Besonders die fortschreitende Digitalisierung erfordert neues Wissen und neue Fähigkeiten. Weiterbildung ist vor diesem Hintergrund zentral, um Wissenslücken zu schliessen und berufliche Chancen zu verbessern. Die Universität Zürich verfügt über ein breites Angebot an Weiterbildungsstudiengängen für jeden Lebensabschnitt.

Die Porträts im diesjährigen Jahresbericht zeigen, wie gut sich das neu gewonnene Wissen aus UZH-Weiterbildungskursen in der Praxis bewährt und wie es gar Lebenswege verändern kann.

Der aktuelle Jahresbericht gewährt Ihnen Einblicke in die aktuelle Forschung und Lehre an der UZH. Im Statistik- und Finanzteil werden sie detailliert über die Kennzahlen des Jahres 2019 in Kenntnis gesetzt.

Mit freundlichen Grüssen,
Prof. Gabriele Siegert, Rektorin ad interim

im April 2020

Infografiken

UZH in Zahlen (1)

Infografik 1

Detaillierte Statistiken auf der Website der Abteilung Finanzen

UZH in Zahlen (2)

Infografik 2

Detaillierte Statistiken auf der Website der Abteilung Finanzen

UZH in Zahlen (3)

Infografik 3

Detaillierte Statistiken auf der Website der Abteilung Finanzen

UZH in Zahlen (4)

Infografik 4

Detaillierte Statistiken auf der Website der Abteilung Finanzen

UZH in Zahlen (5)

Infografik 5

Detaillierte Statistiken auf der Website der Abteilung Finanzen

UZH in Zahlen (6)

Infografik 6

Detaillierte Statistiken auf der Website der Abteilung Finanzen

UZH in Zahlen (7)

Infografik

Detaillierte Statistiken auf der Website der Abteilung Finanzen

UZH in Zahlen (8)

Infografik 8

Detaillierte Statistiken auf der Website der Abteilung Finanzen

UZH in Zahlen (9)

Infografik 9

Detaillierte Statistiken auf der Website der Abteilung Finanzen

UZH in Zahlen (10)

Infografik 10

Detaillierte Informationen auf der Website der Abteilung Weiterbildung

UZH in Zahlen (11)

Infografik 11

Detaillierte Informationen auf der Unitectra-Website

Highlights

Das Rätsel der Sprache

Visualisierung «Evolving Language»

Am neuen Nationalen Forschungsschwerpunkt (NFS) «Evolving Language» erforscht ein interdisziplinäres Team von Forschenden die Ursprünge und die Zukunft der Sprache.

UZH News: Die Macht der Sprache

Neue Immuntherapien gegen Krebs

Visualisierung von Immunzellen und Antikörpern

Das neue Flagship-Projekt der Hochschulmedizin Zürich heisst «Immuno-TargET». Es verbindet neuste Technologien zur Entwicklung von Immuntherapien gegen Krebs endokriner Drüsen und Organe.

UZH News: Neue Immuntherapien gegen Krebs

Die Doktoratsstufe wandelt sich

Michael Schaepman und Claudine Leysinger

Der Graduate Campus (GRC) hat 2019 einen Leitfaden für das Doktorat zusammengestellt. Claudine Leysinger, Geschäftsführerin des GRC, und Michael Schaepman, Prorektor Forschung, diskutieren die Empfehlungen.

Best Practice-Leitfaden

Aktuelle Antike

Amor und Psyche im Kuss vereint (aus der Archäologichen Sammlung)

Rund 50 Forschende der UZH haben 2019 das Zentrum Altertumswissenschaften Zürich lanciert. Es will die Forschung zur Antike stärken und neues Wissen vermitteln.

ZAZH – Zentrum Altertumswissenschaften Zürich

Imperialer Gott

Moses mit Gesetzestafel, gemalt von Valentin de Boulogne (1620)

Mitten auf der Flucht durch die Wüste empfängt das Volk Israel am Berg Sinai Gottes Gebote. So steht es in der Bibel. Nicht weniger dramatisch sind die historischen Hintergründe dieser Erzählung.

UZH News: Imperialer Gott

Bessere Diagnosen bei Brustkrebs

Brustkrebsgewebe

Eine massgeblich an der UZH entwickelte bildgebende Methode kann Brustkrebsgewebe neu sehr detailliert darstellen. Mit bis zu 35 Markern lassen sich unterschiedlichen Zelltypen des Brusttumors erkennen.

Bessere Diagnosen bei Brustkrebs

Fakten und Fiktion

Besucherinnen und Besucher an der Scientifica 2019

Science-Fiction – Science Facts: Unter diesem Motto schauten die  Universität Zürich und die ETH Zürich an den Wissenschaftstagen in die Zukunft.

Scientifica

Zwischen Mensch und Maschine

Chatchavan Wacharamanotham

Chatchavan Wacharamanotham, Professor für Interaction Design, gibt sein Themengebiet auf innovative Weise an die Studierenden weiter. Für sein Engagement hat er den Lehrpreis 2019 erhalten.

UZH News: Lehrpreis 2019

Schülerinnen- und Schülerstudium

Maurin Brunner, Marie Schrader und Pebijn Cobben

Seit rund einem Jahr schnuppern Gymnasiastinnen und Gymnasiasten Uni-Luft. Das Angebot kommt gut an. Nun wird das Pilotprojekt um zwei Jahre verlängert.

UZH News: «Ich kann schnell viel lernen»

Cäsar lesen

Antike Steintafel mit Text zu Caesar

Latein lebt an der UZH: 2019 wurde der Lateinunterricht in einigen Fächern zum Pflichtmodul. Es sei von Vorteil, wenn Studierende lateinische Quellen lesen können, sagt Christian Utzinger vom Sprachenzentrum.

Philosophische Fakultät, Latein und Griechisch

Das digitale Einmaleins

Studentin Aleksandar Nakic am Computer

Mit dem kompetitiven Lehrkredit unterstützt die UZH innovative Lehr-formate – und setzt damit Impulse für eine noch effektivere, viel fältigere und lebendigere Lehre, so etwa im Fach Informatik.

Kompetitiver Lehrkredit

Campusleben

Gut zuhören

Stefan Schnyder und Gabriele Siegert

Vize-Rektorin Gabriele Siegert und Stefan Schnyder, Direktor Finanzen und Personal, äussern sich im Interview zu den Ergebnissen der Mitarbeitenden-befragung, die 2019 erstmals durchgeführt wurde.

UZH News: Mitarbeitendenbefragung

«De Foifer» und nachhaltiges Take-away

Studierende in der Mensa

Vom «Schnipo» zu Soja Polpette und Butter Tofu: Das Speiseangebot an der UZH wird zeitgemäss weiterentwickelt. Und es setzt auf Nachhaltigkeit – ab Herbstsemester 2019 neu auch bei Take-away-Menüs.

«Wir wollen den Standort Oerlikon attraktiver gestalten»

Infografik Campus Oerlikon

Veronika Brandstätter-Morawietz leitet den neu eingerichteten Campusrat Oerlikon. Das Gremium will Massnahmen zur Stärkung des Standortes Oerlikon ergreifen.  Im Interview erläutert die Psychologieprofes sorin, wie das geschehen soll.

Neuer Auftritt für den Irchel

Vision Campus Irchel

Auf dem Campus Irchel wird gebaut. In den nächsten 20 Jahren soll die Standort-Strategie der UZH realisiert werden. In der Zwischenzeit beleben neben den Studierenden 2000 Kantonsschülerinnen und -schüler das Areal.

Stadtuniversität

Porträts

Foto: Beat Schweizer

Die Welt neu sehen – Fokus Weiterbildung

Carla Rohrer Bley

«Die Anstrengung lohnt sich», sagt Carla Rohrer Bley. Die Professorin für Radio-Onkologie am Tierspital hat sich an der UZH in Applied Ethics weitergebildet und ein Programm für Führungskräfte besucht.

Sie ist eine von insgesamt 15 Menschen, die der Fotograf Beat Schweizer für diesen Jahresbericht fotografiert hat. Was sie eint, ist das Interesse an zukunftsweisenden Themen und die Neugierde, etwas Neues zu erfahren und zu lernen. Sie alle haben sich an der UZH auf ganz unterschiedlichen Gebieten weitergebildet.

Im Bild: Carla Rohrer Bley, Veterinärmedizinerin.

Grün wirtschaften

Bastien Girod

«Ich interessiere mich sehr für die Forschung, habe deshalb doktoriert und habilitiert. Um den Sprung von der Wissenschaft in die Wirtschaft zu schaffen, besuchte ich die berufsbegleitende Weiterbildung in General Management an der UZH, die ich mit einem Executive MBA abschloss. Danach war ich gut gerüstet für die Leitung des Business Developments der Klimaschutz-Firma South Pole und für das Präsidium des Wirtschaftsverbandes der Abfallverwertungswirtschaft.»

Nationalrat Bastien Girod, Politiker Grüne.

Spanisch digital

Francisca Ruiz

«Für den Spanischunterricht an Mittelschulen bilde ich an der UZH Lehrerinnen und Lehrer aus. Wir nutzen Lehrmethoden, die den Digital Natives gerecht werden. So arbeiten wir im Unterricht zum Beispiel mit Übersetzungsprogrammen und zeigen, wie trügerisch es sein kann, sich auf sie zu verlassen.»

Francisca Ruiz, Fachdidaktikerin an der UZH und Spanischlehrerin an der Neuen Kantonsschule Aarau.

Gute Marke

Elizabeth Rembelska

«Ich arbeite in der Vermögensverwaltung. Den CAS-Lehrgang in Inhouse Counsel, also der rechtlichen Beratertätigkeit innerhalb einer Firma, habe ich deshalb ausgesucht, weil renommierte Expertinnen und Experten aus verschiedenen Bereichen der Wirtschaft unterrichten. Meine Abschlussarbeit habe ich über Markenbranding geschrieben.»

Elizabeth Rembelska arbeitet im Bereich Marketing.

Hinschauen und helfen

Alexander Philipp

«Als Zahnarzt habe ich viel mit Menschen zu tun, die an Zahnbetterkrankungen leiden. Darunter viele Ältere. Mit Demenz oder anderen Krankheiten im Alter wird die Zahnpflege schwieriger. Man darf nicht wegschauen und muss rechtzeitig helfen. Mit dem MAS Parodontologie habe ich mich auf den neuesten Stand der Wissenschaft gebracht. Das kann ich nun direkt in meine Praxis einfliessen lassen.»  

Alexander Philipp, Zahnarzt, auf seinem Hof im Thurgau

Neuer Sinn

Sandro Bless

«Nach 25 Jahren als Banker habe ich mir die Sinnfrage gestellt. Sollte ich weiterhin in der Bank 50 bis 60 Stunden in der Woche arbeiten? Lieber wollte ich mein Wissen an junge Leute weitergeben. Die Weiterbildung für das Lehrdiplom an Mittelschulen an der UZH war deshalb für mich genau das Richtige.»

Sandro Bless, Mittelschullehrer für Wirtschaft.

Wie Maschinen lernen

Mie Brühl

«Während meiner Weiterbildung in Big Data and Machine Learning habe ich wenig Zeit gehabt, gemütlich auf dem Sofa zu sitzen. Ich musste viel Zeit investieren, um mich mit der Materie auseinanderzusetzen. Doch es hat sich gelohnt, mir wurde ein Digitalisierungsprojekt einer Bank anvertraut. Das nötige Grundlagenwissen habe ich nun.»

Mie Brühl, Bankerin und Managerin.

Wissen aus der Praxis

Marianne Jossen

«Ich wollte mehr wissen über das Schweizerische Gesundheitswesen als Ganzes und wählte den Master in Public Health der Universitäten Zürich, Basel und Bern. Die Teilnehmenden kamen aus verschiedenen Bereichen des Gesundheitswesens und brachten ihre Erfahrungen aus ihrer Praxis mit in den Studiengang ein. Das habe ich als sehr bereichernd erlebt. Noch heute pflegen wir einen guten Kontakt zueinander.»

Die Soziologin Marianne Jossen arbeitet beim Bundesamt für Gesundheit.

Nachhaltig beraten

Marcus Fenchel

«Ich arbeite als Manager in einer Unternehmensberatung. Zu unseren Kunden zählen Banken, Versicherungen und andere Finanzdienstleister. Zurzeit erlebt das Thema Sustainable Finance  einen Boom, und Banken suchen nach Unterstützung in diesem für sie neuen Thema. Den Studiengang zum CAS Sustainable Finance habe ich besucht, um mich auf den neuesten Stand in Forschung und Praxis zu bringen.»

Marcus Fenchel, Manager.

Am Ball bleiben

Michael Bürgisser

«Ich will am Ball bleiben und besuche regelmässig Weiterbildungskurse an der UZH. Einerseits bekomme ich dabei spannende, neue Ideen für den Unterricht, andererseits möchte ich auch den Draht zur Universität behalten. Weiterbildungskurse bieten eine gute Möglichkeit, den Austausch zwischen Gymnasium und Hochschule zu fördern.»

Michael Bürgisser, Mathematiklehrer.

Heilen mit Wacholder

Maria Blassnigg

«Die Weiterbildungskurse in Ethnobotanik und Ethnomedizin an der UZH sind einzigartig in Europa. Ich fühle mich richtiggehend privilegiert, dass ich sie besuchen konnte. Ich kann seither die Menschen in der Apotheke noch besser beraten, vor allem beim Aufzeigen von Alternativen zu chemischen Medikamenten. Meine Abschlussarbeit schrieb ich über die Heilkräfte des Wacholders.»

Maria Blassnigg, Apothekerin.

Die 68er analysieren

Bernhard Weissberg

«Ich habe mich schon immer für Geschichte interessiert und als Journalist nicht die Zeit gehabt, mich in ein Thema zu vertiefen. Im Masterlehrgang in Applied History konnte ich das. Nebenher lernte ich interessante Leute aus aller Welt kennen, wir hörten zu, diskutierten lange, so zum Beispiel über die 68er Jahre und ihre Auswirkungen. Summer Schools führten uns nach Berlin oder London.»

Bernhard Weissberg war unter anderem Chefredaktor beim «Blick», heute ist er Inhaber einer Agentur für Kommunikationsberatung.

Hat Lupo noch ein gutes Leben?

Carla Rohrer Bley

«Im Tierspital habe ich mit krebskranken Tieren zu tun. Die moderne Heilkunst stellt uns vor heikle Fragen: Soll man einen schwer kranken Hund am Leben erhalten oder erlösen? Zudem treibt mich die Frage um, wie unterschiedlich wir mit Haus- und Nutztieren umgehen. Die einen werden geliebt, die anderen geschlachtet. Im Masterlehrgang Applied Ethics konnte ich diese ethischen Dilemmata diskutieren. Heute kann ich im Arbeitsalltag besser mit schwierigen Fällen umgehen.» 

Die Veterinärmedizinerin Carla Rohrer Bley ist Professorin für Radio-Onkologie an der UZH. Sie hat neben dem MAS in Applied Ethics auch einen CAS in Leadership & Governance an Hochschulen erworben.

Fit für die Lehre

Sabrina Müller

«Ich war sechs Jahre lang Pfarrerin, habe an der Theologischen Fakultät der UZH promoviert, bin Lehrbeauftragte und nun bald mit meiner Habilitation fertig. Durch das CAS-Zertifikat in Hochschuldidaktik fühle ich mich in der Lehre sicher und fit. Zudem werden bei Bewerbungen an Hochschulen didaktische Kenntnisse vorausgesetzt. Aus Freude an der Lehre und weil es meine Berufsperspektiven verbessert, habe ich den Weiterbildungskurs besucht.»

Sabrina Müller, Theologische Geschäftsführerin am Zentrum für Kirchenentwicklung der Theologischen Fakultät.

Das Muster verstehen

Rahel Fähndrich

«Ich arbeite mit Kindern und Jugendlichen in schwierigen Lebenssituationen. Es ist immer wieder eine Herausforderung, die Verhaltensmuster der Kinder zu ergründen und eine gute Therapie für sie aufzugleisen. Im Masterlehrgang Kognitive Verhaltenstherapie konnte ich Fallbeispiele aus meiner Praxis mit den Dozierenden diskutieren. So manches Aha-Erlebnis hat mich darin bestärkt, wie wichtig der Austausch mit Fachleuten ist.»

Rahel Fähndrich ist Psychotherapeutin und arbeitet in einer Institution für Kinder und Jugendliche mit Verhaltensauffälligkeiten und Lernschwierigkeiten.

Kunstinteressierter Kaufmann

Sabrina Müller

«Als Student habe ich fast alle Vorführungen im Opernhaus angeschaut, oft besuchte ich dieselbe Oper mehrmals. Nach dem Studium wurde ich Vermögens- und Finanzverwalter. Doch etwas fehlte. Ich wollte mein Interesse an der Kunst und mein kaufmännisches Können zusammenbringen. Die Weiterbildung in Executive Arts Administration eröffnete mir diesen Weg.»

Christian Berner, Kaufmännischer Direktor des Opernhauses Zürich.