Mission Statement and Policies

Mission Statement

The University of Zurich pursues excellence in research and teaching, and delivers services to the general public. UZH's Mission Statement defines the identity, goals, and role of the University in academia and society.
Mission Statement of the University

Strategic Goals

Together with the Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) and the Zurich University of Applied Sciences, the University of Zurich contributes significantly to the cultural, social, and economic development of the Canton of Zurich. At the same time, the legal and economic responsibility for the University lies with the Canton of Zurich, the University's biggest financial backer. UZH's strategic goals are formulated to coordinate the diverging interests.
Strategic Goals

Sustainability

The University of Zurich is committed to systematically expanding its contribution to local and global sustainability.
Sustainability

Internationalization Strategy

The University of Zurich is a part of a dynamic network of internationally renowned research and education institutions. UZH’s internationalization strategy for the years 2014‒2020 sets goals for a continued global presence and international exchange in research and education.

International Relations Office: Internationalization strategy

Gender Policy Code of Conduct

The University of Zurich is strongly committed to values and policies supporting equal opportunities for women and men. On 20 March 2006, the Executive Board of the University resolved to enforce the Gender Policy Code of Conduct.
Gender Policy Code of Conduct

Disablility Statement

The University of Zurich is committed to the principle of equality of opportunity for all staff and students, including those with disabilities.

Disability Office: Disability Statement (in German)

Quality Strategy

UZH’s Quality Strategy defines how the University secures and develops quality. It specifies goals, processes and instruments involved in quality management.

Download the Quality Strategy (in German only) (PDF, 109 KB)

Leitbild & Grundsätze

Leitbild

Die Universität Zürich leistet wissenschaftliche Arbeit in Forschung und Lehre und erbringt Dienstleistungen zugunsten der Öffentlichkeit. Das Leitbild formuliert Identität, Ziele und Rolle der Universität in der Academia und in der Gesellschaft.
Zum Leitbild

Strategische Ziele

Die Universität Zürich leistet zusammen mit der ETH Zürich und der Zürcher Fachhochschule einen wichtigen Beitrag an die kulturelle, gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Kantons Zürich. Gleichzeitig ist der Kanton Zürich als Trägerkanton der grösste Geldgeber der Universität. Die Strategie der Universität soll der wechselseitigen Bedingtheit Rechnung tragen.
Zu den strategische Zielen

Nachhaltigkeit

Die Universität Zürich hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, ihren Beitrag zur regionalen und globalen Nachhaltigkeit systematisch auszubauen.
Informationen zur Nachhaltigkeit an der UZH

Internationalisierungsstrategie

Die Universität Zürich bewegt sich als exzellente und international ausgerichtete Forschungs- und Bildungsinstitution in einem dynamischen Umfeld. Die Internationalisierungsstrategie der UZH 2014-2020 formuliert entsprechend institutionelle Ziele für die weitere Internationalisierung in den Bereichen Forschung und Lehre sowie für die UZH insgesamt.

Zur Internationalisierungsstrategie

Verhaltenskodex Gender Policy

Die Chancengleichheit von Frauen und Männern ist der Universität Zürich ein wichtiges Anliegen. Am 20. März 2006 hat die Universitätsleitung die Implementierung des Verhaltenskodex Gender Policy beschlossen.
Zum Verhaltenskodex Gender Policy

Disability Statement

Die Universität Zürich strebt im Umgang mit ihren Angehörigen, darunter auch Menschen mit einer Behinderung, die Chancengleichheit auf allen Stufen an.
Zum Disability Statement

Qualitätsstrategie

Die Qualitätsstrategie legt fest, wie die Qualität an der UZH gesichert und weiter- entwickelt werden soll. Sie definiert die relevanten Ziele, Prozesse und Instrumente.

Qualitätsstrategie (PDF, 109 KB)