Faculties of the University of Zurich

Faculty of Theology

The Faculty of Theology traces its origins back to the "Schola Tigurina" founded in the 16th century, a "superior school" for training theologians of the Swiss Reformed Church. Today, it focuses on the analysis of religious phenomena throughout history and in the contemporary world. The Faculty offers courses in theology and religious studies.
www.theologie.uzh.ch
Study programs

Faculty of Law

Jurisprudence is largely concerned with applicable law. A scholarly approach enhances the analysis of the fundamentals of law and the scrutiny of current legal practice. The study of jurisprudence provides the foundational knowledge that is required for legal professions and allows students to gain first insights into legal practice.
Contact
www.ius.uzh.ch
Study programs

Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics

Economics, business administration and information technology offer fascinating intellectual challenges and open up diverse professional perspectives. The faculty pursues scholarly research into new theories and methods in economics, business administration, banking and finance, and informatics. At the same time, it prepares students for entry-level and management positions in academia, business, politics, and the the private sector - and to compete with graduates from the top-ranking universities worldwide. Methodical thinking and independent work skills are promoted by means of diversified teaching methods and supported by eLearning systems.
Contact
www.oec.uzh.ch
Study programs

Faculty of Medicine

The Faculty of Medicine is made up of institutes for preclinical science and clinical departments. The former conduct research into the structures and functions of the human body, thus imparting foundational knowledge for the diagnosis of disorders, for insights into their etiology, and for a rational basis of therapy. The Faculty of Medicine trains students to become physicians or dentists. The study of medicine leads to a Swiss federal examination.
Contact
www.med.uzh.ch
Study programs

Vetsuisse Faculty

The Vetsuisse Faculty consists of eleven institutes and three clinics (small animals, horses and livestock). Together, they run the Veterinary Teaching Hospital. Veterinary students are trained to execute the wide range of tasks of veterinary medicine.
Contact
www.vet.uzh.ch
Study programs

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

With 11,000 students, the Faculty of Arts accounts for the largest group of students within the University’s total of some 26,000 enrolled students. This reflects the significance the humanities and social sciences hold for a great number of students. The faculty is distinguished by its wide range of subjects, and it conducts research program into contemporary issues while considering history and tradition.
Contact
www.phil.uzh.ch
Study programs

Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Science at the University of Zurich covers a wide range of scientific disciplines, including mathematics and all major sciences such as physics, chemistry, biochemistry, biology (from molecular and cellular biology to evolution biology of plants, animals and man), physiology, neuroinformatics, anthropology, paleontology, geography, earth, and environmental sciences.
Contact
www.mnf.uzh.ch
Study programs

Die Fakultäten der Universität Zürich

Theologische Fakultät

DieTheologische Fakultät geht auf die im 16. Jahrhundert gegründete «Schola Tigurina» zurück, eine «Hohe Schule» für die Ausbildung von reformierten Theologen. Heute beschäftigt sich die Fakultät mit der wissenschaftlichen Reflexion religiöser Phänomene in Geschichte und Gegenwart. Sie bietet die Studiengänge Theologie und Religionswissenschaft an.
www.theologie.uzh.ch
Studienangebot

Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät

Die Rechtswissenschaft befasst sich grösstenteils mit dem geltenden Recht. Wissenschaftliche Methodik ermöglicht die Aufarbeitung der Grundlagen und die Auseinandersetzung mit der aktuellen Rechtsprechung. Das Studium der Rechtswissenschaft dient dem Erwerb von Grundlagenwissen, das für alle juristischen Berufe unentbehrlich ist.
Kontakt
www.ius.uzh.ch
Studienangebot

Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät

Die Wirtschaftswissenschaften und die Informatik bieten faszinierende intellektuelle Herausforderungen und eröffnen vielfältige berufliche Perspektiven. Die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät erforscht neue wissenschaftliche Theorien und Methoden in der Volks- und Betriebswirtschaft, in Banking und Finance sowie in der Informatik. Gleichzeitig bereitet sie die Studierenden für Nachwuchs- und Führungsaufgaben in Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Industrie und Politik im Wettbewerb mit den Absolventinnen und Absolventen der weltweit führenden Universitäten vor. Das methodische Denken und selbständige Arbeiten wird in vielfältigen Lehrformen gefördert und durch E-Learning unterstützt.
Kontakt
www.oec.uzh.ch
Studienangebot

Medizinische Fakultät

Die Medizinische Fakultät umfasst Institute der medizinischen Grundlagenfächer und Kliniken. In den Grundlagenfächern werden die Strukturen und Funktionen des menschlichen Organismus erforscht. Diese Kenntnisse sind erforderlich für die Diagnose von Krankheiten, für das bessere Verständnis ihrer Entstehung und für eine rationale Grundlage ihrer Behandlung. An der Medizinischen Fakultät studieren angehende Ärztinnen und Ärzte sowie Zahnärztinnen und Zahnärzte und schliessen mit einer eidgenössischen Fachprüfung ab.
Kontakt
www.med.uzh.ch
Studienangebot

Vetsuisse-Fakultät

Seit dem 1. September 2006 ist die Vetsuisse-Fakultät eine gemeinsame Fakultät der beiden Universitäten Zürich und Bern. Sie besteht aus elf Instituten und drei Kliniken (Kleintiere, Pferde und Nutztiere), die zusammen das Tierspital betreiben. Sie vermittelt Studierenden alle notwendigen wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen für das Verständnis veterinärmedizinischer Zusammenhänge. Die Vetsuisse-Fakultät betreibt Forschung mit dem Ziel, wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen sowie diese anzuwenden und zu verbreiten, um die Tiergesundheit zu fördern, Prävention, Diagnose und Behandlung von Krankheiten zu verbessern und die Ausbreitung von Tierkrankheiten zu verhindern.
Kontakt
www.vet.uzh.ch
Studienangebot

Philosophische Fakultät

Mit 11000 Studierenden nimmt die Philosophische Fakultät den grössten Teil der rund 24 000 Studierenden der Universität Zürich auf. Dies zeigt, dass die Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften für viele Studierende sehr attraktiv sind. Die Fakultät zeichnet sich durch eine grosse Fächervielfalt aus, wobei sowohl aktuelle Gegenwartsfragen wie auch das Verständnis von Geschichte und Tradition im Mittelpunkt der Forschung stehen.
Kontakt
www.phil.uzh.ch
Studienangebot

Mathematisch-naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät

Die Mathematisch-naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät der Universität Zürich hat ein breites wissenschaftliches Profil. Sie deckt ein Fächerspektrum ab, welches die Mathematik und alle bedeutenden Naturwissenschaften umfasst: Physik, Chemie, Biochemie, Biologie (von der Molekular- und Zellbiologie bis zur Evolutionsbiologie von Pflanzen, Tieren und des Menschen), Physiologie, Neuroinformatik, Anthropologie, Paläontologie, Geographie, Erd- und Umweltwissenschaften.
Kontakt
www.mnf.uzh.ch
Studienangebot