Board of the University

The Board of the University is the highest governing body of the University. The Board is responsible for strategic decisions and the direct oversight of the University. (University Act (in German)  § 29)

Silvia Steiner, President

Silvia Steiner

"The University of Zurich is a beacon in national and international higher education, and our canton can be proud of the University’s practiced excellence. As President of the Board of the University and as Minister of Education, I am committed to further strengthening Zurich as a place of higher learning. Research and scholarship provide the foundation for innovation. Or, phrased differently: Our society and economy rely on impulses from universities in order to develop positively and to find the best answers to today’s pressing questions."
CV

Barbara Basting

Barbara Basting

"The University of Zurich is doing very well at the moment – this, thanks to the University’s international character and the convenient structures existing in research and teaching. Further development depends on how well the University can deal with the consequences of the Bologna reform: Education for what and for whom? This is one of the core challenges facing UZH, and the solution must not be reduced solely to the economic benefits of education or a merely statistical figure. Now more than ever, the factor of responsibility for society as a whole has become essential." CV

Markus Graf

Markus Graf

“The University of Zurich has grown significantly over the past few years thanks to its quality and focus. The university district in Zurich needs to be adapted accordingly on an ongoing basis. After all, the university’s competitive edge at both a national and international level will also be reflected in its infrastructure. This creates the right framework for success and enhances the university’s charm and appeal. The complex issue of real estate development will become extremely important over the next few years if we are to meet the future challenges and needs of a growing university.”
CV

Beat Hotz-Hart

Beat Hotz-Hart

"The University of Zurich’s political autonomy allows it to achieve excellence in research-based teaching as well as in research and the transfer of knowledge – and thus to maintain its position as an internationally leading university. The University motivates its students, PhD candidates, and staff to think and act responsibly and critically, while giving them space to develop creative solutions. In addition, the University contributes to mastering pressing social challenges, to improving the quality of life, and to safeguarding our natural resources. As such, UZH contributes positively to the development of the greater Zurich area and fulfills its responsibility in strengthening society and the economy in Switzerland."
CV

Ulrich Jakob Looser

Ulrich Jakob Looser

"The University of Zurich with its international reputation for excellence in research and teaching makes a major contribution to enhancing Switzerland’s appeal as a place to live and work. UZH can rely on its strengths in research and teaching; in accordance with its organizational structure, the University takes advantage of creative freedoms to work toward the future, heightening the University of Zurich’s standing in global competition as a top institution for researchers, teachers and students."
CV

Antonio Loprieno

Antonio Loprieno

"Switzerland’s higher education institutions are typologically and content-wise more diverse than those of its neighboring countries, yet they are also more coherent in terms of academics and the programs offered. The University of Zurich plays a pioneering role in this landscape because it has the most diverse range of studies in the whole of Switzerland, but also due to its internationally leading position in numerous areas of research. As such, the Board of the University is confronted with a dual challenge: Our overarching aim is to ensure the outstanding quality of scholarlship at the University of Zurich, thus contributing to the international reputation of Switzerland’s higher education system on the whole."
CV

Hans-Rudolf Lüscher

Hans-Rudolf Lüscher

"Certain performance indicators dominate academic rankings and evaluations, and serve as feedback for decision makers. The certitude that these figures transmit, however, detracts from values and content; the current practices in academic ranking favor research and teaching in their paradigmatic setting and, as a result, hinder new advances. A modern university with an obligation to the evolution of knowledge and scholarship must also find the courage to make decisions that are based on trust and instinct. It is precisely this trust – together with values and content – that lays the foundation for the freedom necessary to guarantee innovative research and teaching in the long term."
CV

Urs Oberholzer

Urs Oberholzer

"Being involved in the development of one of the best educational institutions is a fascinating task. I see one of the main challenges in optimizing the conditions for top performance while keeping regulatory provisions at a minimum. This includes protecting researchers, instructors, and students from politically or economically induced reprobation. Scholars and researchers at UZH must be able to pursue their passion without constraint, to ponder past findings, produce new results, teach future generations – and to relentlessly ask questions. Only when we free ourselves from the myth of irrevocable facts can the never-ending adventure of learning, teaching, and research commence, thus engendering the greatest achievements of the human mind."
CV

Universitätsrat

Der Universitätsrat ist das oberste Organ der Universität. Er ist für strategische Festlegungen zuständig und übt die unmittelbare Aufsicht über die Universität aus. (Universitätsgesetz  § 29)

Silvia Steiner, Präsidentin

Silvia Steiner

«Die Universität Zürich ist ein Leuchtturm in der nationalen und internationalen Hochschullandschaft, auf den unser Kanton stolz sein kann. Als Präsidentin des Universitätsrats und Bildungsdirektorin setze ich mich dafür ein, den Hochschulstandort Zürich weiter zu stärken. Forschung und Wissenschaft bilden die Grundlage für Innovationen. Oder anders gesagt: Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft sind auf die Impulse der Hochschulen angewiesen, um sich weiter zu entwickeln und auf neue Fragen zeitgemässe Antworten zu finden.»
Kurzportrait

Barbara Basting

Barbara Basting

«Die Universität Zürich steht derzeit sehr gut da. Dies verdankt sie ihrer Internationalität und den vergleichsweise günstigen Rahmenbedingungen, die sie für Forschung und Lehre bietet. Für ihre weitere Entwicklung wird es entscheidend sein, wie klug sie mit den Folgen der Bologna-Reform umgeht. Bildung wozu und für wen, das ist dabei eine der Kernfragen. Die Antwort darf sich nicht auf die direkte wirtschaftliche Verwertbarkeit und den statistisch messbaren Nutzen reduzieren; sie sollte mehr denn je auch die Dimension der Verantwortung für die Gesellschaft mit einschliessen.»
Kurzportrait

Markus Graf

Markus Graf

«Die Universität Zürich ist in den letzten Jahren dank ihrer Qualität und Ausrichtung stark gewachsen. Das Hochschulgebiet in Zürich muss dementsprechend laufend angepasst werden, denn nationale und internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit dokumentiert sich ja auch in der universitären Infrastruktur. Sie schafft erfolgsrelevante Rahmenbedingungen und trägt ihrerseits zur Attraktivität und Ausstrahlung bei. Um den zukünftigen Herausforderungen und Bedürfnissen einer sich entwickelnden Universität gerecht zu werden, kommt der komplexen Immobilienentwicklung in den nächsten Jahren eine wichtige Bedeutung zu.» Kurzportrait

Beat Hotz-Hart

Beat Hotz-Hart

«Die Universität nutzt die ihr gewährte Autonomie für forschungsbasierte Lehre, Forschung und Wissenstransfer von höchster Qualität und behauptet sich durch ihre Exzellenz im internationalen Hochschul-Wettbewerb. Sie motiviert ihre Studierenden, Doktorierenden und Mitarbeitenden zu eigenverantwortlichem und selbstkritischem Denken und Handeln und gewährt Freiräume für kreative Arbeiten. Sie trägt zur Bewältigung drängender gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen, zur Steigerung der Lebensqualität und den langfristigen Erhalt unserer Lebensgrundlagen bei. Damit nimmt sie ihre Mitverantwortung zur Stärkung von Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft am Standort Schweiz wahr und strahlt positiv auf den Grossraum Zürich aus.»
Kurzportrait

Ulrich Jakob Looser

Ulrich Jakob Looser

«Die Universität Zürich leistet durch ihre internationale Ausstrahlung dank anerkannter Exzellenz in Forschung und Lehre einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Stärkung des Lebens- und Wirtschafts-Raums Schweiz. Sie vertraut auf ihre Stärken in Forschung und Lehre und schöpft im Rahmen ihrer Autonomie ihre gestalterischen Freiräume zukunftsgerichtet aus. Damit ist die Universität Zürich im globalen Wettbewerb eine attraktive Institution für Forschende, Lehrende und Lernende.»
Kurzportrait

Antonio Loprieno

Antonio Loprieno

«Unsere Universitätslandschaft ist einerseits inhaltlich und typologisch vielfältiger, andererseits wissenschaftlich und programmatisch kohärenter als jene unserer Nachbarländer. Im schweizerischen akademischen Geflecht spielt die Universität Zürich eine wegweisende Rolle, weil sie über das breiteste fachliche Angebot verfügt und in mehreren Forschungsbereichen eine Führungsrolle auf Weltebene übernimmt. Somit stellt der Dienst im Universitätsrat eine doppelte Herausforderung dar: Man will sein Bestes tun, um zur Sicherung der ausserordentlichen wissenschaftlichen Qualität der Universität Zürich und dadurch auch zur globalen Stellung der schweizerischen Hochschulwesens insgesamt beizutragen.» Kurzportrait

Hans-Rudolf Lüscher

Hans-Rudolf Lüscher

«Kennzahlen dominieren akademische «Rankings» und Evaluationen und dienen als Feedback für Entscheidungsträger. Die von Zahlen ausgehenden Gewissheiten lenken ab von Inhalten und Werten und favorisieren Forschung und Lehre im heute gültigen paradigmatischen Rahmen und erschweren den Aufbruch in Neuland. Eine moderne Universität, die der Wissensevolution verpflichtet ist, muss den Mut aufbringen Entscheide auch auf Vertrauen zu basieren. Abgestützt auf dieses Vertrauen, auf Inhalte und Werte muss die Universität die für eine kreative Forschung und Lehre notwendigen Freiräume bereitstellen und langfristig garantieren.»
Kurzportrait

Urs Oberholzer

Urs Oberholzer

«Es ist eine faszinierende Aufgabe, in die Entwicklung eines der besten Bildungsinstitute involviert zu sein. Eine der zentralen Herausforderungen sehe ich darin, mit einem Minimum an regulatorischen Eingriffen die Rahmenbedingungen für Spitzenleistungen zu optimieren. Dazu gehört auch, den Forschenden, Lehrenden und Lernenden den Rücken frei zu halten von politisch oder ökonomisch induzierten Verwerfungen. Sie sollen möglichst unbelastet ihre Leidenschaft leben können, Erkenntnisse aufzunehmen, neue zu generieren, weiterzugeben und immer wieder schonungslos zu hinterfragen. Erst wenn wir uns verabschieden vom Mythos des ein für allemal gesicherten Wissens entstehen aus dem nie endenden Abenteuer von Studium, Lehre und Forschung die grössten Leistungen des menschlichen Geistes.»
Kurzportrait