Leadership and Management Principles

The English translation is provided for convenience purposes only. The original German text fully prevails.

Preambel

The University of Zurich (UZH) is a knowledge organization, which in-dependently regulates its academic and organizational business with the relevant management structures. It aims to achieve a high degree of self- organization and to ensure joint responsibility on the part of its members. This requires a leadership and management culture that strikes a balance between the liberty that is necessary for engaging in research and teaching on the one hand, and the economic requirements with regard to administrative matters on the other. Led well, UZH creates ideal conditions for research and teaching as well as for the provision of services, and thus offers its entire staff an inspiring working environment.

At UZH, leaders and managers are supported appropriately to allow them to develop a clear understanding of their role in terms of the strategic posi-tioning, organization, and management of their unit and staff, and conditions are created to enable them to fulfil this leadership role. The following principles have been developed on the basis of UZH’s mission statement and strategic goals to achieve a common understanding of leading at the UZH. They are aimed at all members of UZH’s academic or administrative staff who hold a leadership position or management function.

Leadership and Management Principles at UZH

  1. Leaders and managers are aware of their role as a leader at UZH and of the fact that they thus serve as a role model for others. They always represent the values of UZH within as well as outside the University.
  2. Leaders and managers reflect upon their role and are prepared to acquire the management and leadership skills required for their tasks. UZH provides the relevant leadership tools and training for them to do so.
  3. UZH leaders and managers encourage and support their employees by empowering them to perform well as well as recognizing their readiness to take on responsibility and shape their area of responsibility, and by giving them the opportunity to do so. They foster their employees’ development and include them in the decision-making process as appro-priate at the various levels.
  4. Leaders and managers communicate and act in a transparent, appreciative, and solution-oriented way as appropriate at the various levels. They manage actively and express what they expect of their employees in terms of performance and behavior in tangible terms. They evaluate their employees and give timely, clear, and objective feedback.
  5. Leaders and managers assume the duty of good faith that UZH as an employer has towards its staff.
  6. Leaders and managers know the relevant legal provisions as well as their tasks, competencies, and areas of responsibility (A/K/V). This applies to permanent as well as temporary or lateral leadership and management relationships.
  7. Leaders and managers set goals for their area of responsibility on the basis of the strategic goals of UZH and of their unit. They develop measures to achieve these goals and ensure that the employees know and are able to implement them. They create clear, functional organizational and management structures, plan the use of resources sustainably, and shape the organizational, personnel, and cultural changes in their area of responsibility.
  8. All leaders and managers at UZH are jointly responsible for successfully shaping and developing the University: Professors are leaders and managers in their work units. UZH’s ability to organize itself is made possible by the professors, who take on specific leadership and manage-ment functions on a temporary basis. The leaders and managers in the offices and departments make their expertise and services available for the benefit of UZH and its members.

Explanatory note

“Leadership and management” is used in four contexts in the leadership and management principles and the relevant leadership training courses:

  • Self-leadership and self-management in the sense of requirements for leaders and managers with regard to perception, recognition, and ability to reflect on their own role and behavior, work organization and priori-tization, as well as required internal and external communications
  • Leading and managing employees in the sense of a targeted interpersonal influence on employees to achieve the organization’s goals together
  • Management of organizational units of UZH (including their positioning)
  • Specific leadership and management situations (temporary and lateral leadership and management relationships, intercultural management, bottom-up leadership, etc.)

“Leaders and managers” within the context of these leadership and mana-gement principles means:

  • Persons with operational and financial responsibility for organizational units of UZH
  • Persons who are solid or dotted line managers of one or more employees
  • Persons who have temporary leadership and management functions or de facto or lateral leadership roles, for example in specific projects.

Führungsgrundsätze

Präambel

Die Universität Zürich ist eine Wissensorganisation, die ihre akademischen und organisatorischen Angelegenheiten selbstständig und mit den entsprechenden Führungsstrukturen regelt. Sie strebt dabei ein hohes Mass an Selbstorganisation und Sicherstellung von Mit-Verantwortung ihrer Angehörigen an. Dies erfordert eine Führungskultur, die den Freiheitsanspruch von Forschung und Lehre einerseits und die betriebswirtschaftlichen Anforderungen auf Verwaltungsebene andererseits miteinander in Einklang bringt. Eine gut geführte UZH schafft optimale Bedingungen für Forschung und Lehre sowie die Erbringung von Dienstleistungen und bietet damit ein inspirierendes Arbeitsumfeld für alle Mitarbeitenden.

An der UZH werden Führungskräfte stufengerecht gefördert, damit sie ein klares Rollenverständnis für die strategische Positionierung, Organisation und Führung ihrer Einheit und ihrer Mitarbeitenden entwickeln, und es werden Rahmenbedingungen geschaffen, damit sie diese Führungsrolle auch wahrnehmen können. Zur Schaffung des dazugehörigen gemeinsamen Verständnisses von Führung wurden Grundsätze entwickelt, die sich am Leitbild und an den strategischen Zielen der UZH orientieren. Sie richten sich an alle, die in der Akademie oder der Verwaltung der UZH eine Führungsfunktion innehaben.

Führungsgrundsätze

  1. Führungskräfte sind sich ihrer Rolle als Führungskraft der UZH und ihrer entsprechenden Vorbildwirkung bewusst. Sie vertreten immer auch die Werte der UZH nach innen und nach aussen.
  2. Führungskräfte reflektieren ihre Rolle und sind bereit, die notwendigen Führungs- und Management-Kompetenzen für ihre Tätigkeit zu erwerben. Die UZH stellt dazu entsprechende Führungsinstrumente und Weiterbildungsangebote bereit.
  3. Führungskräfte der UZH fordern und fördern ihre Mitarbeitenden, indem sie die Leistungsorientierung sowie die Möglichkeit und die Bereitschaft ihrer Mitarbeitenden zur Übernahme von Mit-Verantwortung und Mit-Gestaltung ihres Verantwortungsbereichs stärken. Sie unterstützen die Weiterentwicklung ihrer Mitarbeitenden und binden diese stufengerecht in die Entscheidungsfindung ein.
  4. Führungskräfte kommunizieren und agieren stufengerecht, transparent, wertschätzend und lösungsorientiert. Sie führen aktiv und formulieren konkrete Erwartungen an ihre Mitarbeitenden in Bezug auf Leistung und Verhalten. Sie beurteilen diese und geben zeitgerecht klares und sachliches Feedback.
  5. Führungskräfte nehmen die Fürsorgepflicht der UZH als Arbeitgeberin gegenüber ihren Mitarbeitenden wahr.
  6. Führungskräfte kennen die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen sowie ihre Aufgaben, Kompetenzen und Verantwortungsbereiche (A/K/V). Dies gilt für permanente ebenso wie für temporäre oder laterale Führungsbeziehungen.
  7. Führungskräfte setzen Ziele für ihren Verantwortungsbereich, die sich an den strategischen Zielen der UZH und ihrer Einheiten orientieren. Sie entwickeln Massnahmen zur Zielerreichung und stellen sicher, dass die Mitarbeitenden diese kennen und umsetzen können. Sie schaffen klare, funktionale Organisations- und Führungsstrukturen, planen ihren Ressourceneinsatz nachhaltig und gestalten die organisatorischen, personellen und kulturellen Veränderungen ihrer Verantwortungsbereiche.
  8. Alle Führungskräfte der UZH sind gemeinsam für deren erfolgreiche Gestaltung und Weiterentwicklung verantwortlich: Professorinnen und Professoren sind Führungskräfte in ihren Arbeitseinheiten. Die Selbstorganisation der UZH wird durch Professorinnen und Professoren ermöglicht, die spezifische Führungsfunktionen auf Zeit übernehmen. Die Führungskräfte der Fachabteilungen stellen ihre Expertise und ihre Dienstleistungen in den Nutzen der Organisation und ihrer Angehörigen.

Erläuterung

«Führung» wird in den Führungsgrundsätzen und in den entsprechenden Weiterbildungsangeboten in vier Kontexten angesprochen:

  • Selbstführung im Sinne von Anforderungen an Führungskräfte hinsichtlich Wahrnehmung, Anerkennung und Selbstreflexion der eigenen Führungsrolle und des Führungsverhaltens, der Arbeitsorganisation und -priorisierung sowie der erforderlichen internen und externen Kommunikation
  • Mitarbeitendenführung im Sinne eines zielgerichteten interpersonalen Einflusses auf Mitarbeitende, um die Organisationsziele gemeinsam zu erreichen
  • Führung von organisatorischen Einheiten der UZH (inklusive deren Positionierung)
  • Spezifische Führungssituationen (temporäre und laterale Führungsbeziehungen, interkulturelle Führung, «Führung von unten» etc.)

Als «Führungskräfte» im Sinne dieser Führungsgrundsätze werden angesehen:

  • Personen mit betrieblicher und finanzieller Verantwortung für organisatorische Einheiten der UZH
  • Personen, die einen oder mehrere disziplinarische oder fachlich unterstellte Mitarbeitenden haben
  • Personen, die temporäre Vorgesetztenbeziehungen zu Mitarbeitenden innehaben oder diese auch «lateral» führen, z.B. in Projekten