Paul Karrer
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1937

The Nature of Vitamins

Paul Karrer unraveled the chemical structure of plant dyes and vitamins, and showed how beta carotene is used by the body to produce vitamin A.

Zurich was Paul Karrer’s stomping ground. After studying at the Department of Chemistry at the University of Zurich under Nobel laureate Alfred Werner, he then taught and researched for 40 years at the same institution. Colorful flowers occupied a prominent place in Karrer’s laboratory. Plant dyes had interested Karrer from an early stage, and he worked on them throughout his career. He achieved particular success with the carotenoids – chemical compounds that give fruit and vegetables such as carrots, tomatoes, saffron, and bell peppers, their colors of yellow, orange, or red.

Karrer was able to use chemical analysis to establish the structure and composition of many such carotenoid compounds. Moreover, he identified a link to the vitamins essential to the human body. In the early 1930s, he was able to demonstrate that vitamin A, partially responsible for physical growth and also for the development of rhodopsin in the eye, was generated by the body from the red carrot pigment, beta carotene, by splitting the molecule. He was also the first scientist to determine the structure of this important vitamin. It was in part for these achievements that Karrer was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1937.

Paul Karrer had an astonishing sense for research topics that were both scientifically important and commercially interesting, as shown by the 78 patents he registered during his career. His research findings are not only milestones in basic chemical and biological research; they also helped lay the foundations for the success of the chemical industry in Switzerland.

Paul Karrer
Nobelpreis für Chemie 1937

Das Wesen der Vitamine

Paul Karrer enträtselte die chemische Struktur von Pflanzenfarbstoffen und Vitaminen. Und er zeigte, wie im Körper aus dem Karottenfarbstoff Beta-Carotin Vitamin A entsteht.

Zürich war Paul Karrers Stadt. Hier studierte er bei Nobelpreisträger Alfred Werner am Chemischen Institut der Universität. Später hat er an diesem Institut 40 Jahre lang gelehrt und geforscht. Bunte Blüten spielten in Karrers Labor eine wichtige Rolle. Pflanzenfarbstoffe waren ein Thema, das den Chemiker schon früh interessierte und mit dem er sich seine ganze wissenschaftliche Laufbahn hindurch beschäftigte. Mit besonderem Erfolg tat er dies bei den Carotinoiden – chemischen Verbindungen, die unter anderem Karotten, Tomaten, Safran, Paprika gelb, orange oder rot färben.

Karrer konnte mittels chemischer Analyse den Aufbau und die Zusammensetzung vieler solcher Carotin-Verbindungen klären. Und er stellte einen Zusammenhang zu den für unseren Körper lebenswichtigen Vitaminen fest. So gelang es ihm in den frühen 1930er-Jahren zu zeigen, dass im Körper aus dem roten Karottenfarbstoff Beta-Carotin durch Aufspaltung des Moleküls Vitamin A entsteht, das etwa für das körperliche Wachstum, aber auch für den Aufbau des Sehpurpurs in unseren Augen mitverantwortlich ist. Und er konnte als erster Wissenschaftler die Struktur dieses wichtigen Vitamins bestimmen. Unter anderem für diese Leistungen erhielt Karrer 1937 den Nobelpreis für Chemie.

Paul Karrer hatte ein ausgezeichnetes Gespür für wissenschaftlich wichtige und auch wirtschaftlich interessante Forschungsthemen. Davon zeugen allein die 78 Patente, die er während seiner Karriere einreichte. Seine Forschungsergebnisse sind nicht nur Meilensteine in der chemischen und biologischen Grundlagenforschung, sondern waren auch ein Grundstein für den Erfolg der chemischen Industrie in der Schweiz.