Leopold Ruzicka
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1939

Musk and Testosterone

Leopold Ruzicka’s research on odorous substances and sex hormones revealed chemical compounds that scientists did not believe could exist.

Leopold Ruzicka’s scholarly energies were devoted to natural odors and hormones. Originally from Croatia, Ruzicka investigated polymethylenes and terpenes, the chemical names for odorous substances produced by plants and animals. In his research, Ruzicka was able to identify the chemical structures of moscine and civetone, odors from the skin glands of musk deer and civet cats. Moreover, he succeeded in synthetically producing these substances in the lab, which piqued the interest of the Swiss perfume industry.

Ruzicka’s insights from the laboratory were nothing short of a scientific sensation: In his research on fragrances, he identified carbon compounds with rings of up to 17 members. Up to then, experts had questioned the existence of such large carbon rings.

At the start of his career, Leopold Ruzicka taught and researched simultaneously at ETH and the University of Zurich. In 1918 – the year in which he also became a Swiss citizen – he qualified as a Privatdozent at ETH, and, in1920, at the University, where he lectured until 1925. In 1929, he became the first Swiss citizen to be appointed to the chair for general chemistry at ETH.

Ruzicka was not only “Lord of the Carbon Rings”; in the 1930s, he was also at the forefront of hormone research. He succeeded in defining the structure of the male sex hormones androsterone and testosterone, and was able to synthesize these important messenger substances in the laboratory. In 1939, just after the outbreak of World War II, Leopold Ruzicka was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in recognition of his work.

Leopold Ruzicka
Nobelpreis für Chemie 1939

Moschus und Testosteron

Leopold Ruzicka erforschte natürliche Duftstoffe und Sexualhormone. Er fand dabei chemische Verbindungen, die die Wissenschaft nicht für möglich gehalten hatte.

Leopold Ruzickas wissenschaftliche Neugier gehörte den Duftstoffen und den Hormonen. Der aus Kroatien stammende Chemiker erforschte Polymethylene und Terpene. Hinter den  chemischen Namen verbergen sich Riechstoffe, die in der Natur von Pflanzen und Tieren produziert werden. So gelang es Ruzicka etwa, die chemische Struktur von Moscin und Zibetin aufzuklären, den Hautgeruchsstoffen des Moschushirschen und der Zibetkatze. Und er konnte diese Stoffe, an denen die Schweizer Parfümindustrie sehr interessiert war, im Labor synthetisch herstellen.

Ruzickas Erkenntnisse aus dem Labor waren eine wissenschaftliche Sensation. Denn bei seiner Erforschung von Duftstoffen stiess der Chemiker auf Kohlenstoffverbindungen mit Ringen von bis zu 17 Gliedern. Die Existenz solcher grosser Kohlenstoffringe wurde vorher in der Fachwelt für unmöglich gehalten.

Leopold Ruzicka lehrte und forschte in seinen jüngeren Jahren gleichzeitig an der ETH und an der Universität Zürich. Seit 1918 – dem Jahr, in dem er auch Schweizer Staatsbürger wurde – war er an der ETH habilitiert, seit 1920 zusätzlich an der Universität, wo er bis 1925 eine Privatdozentenstelle inne hatte. 1929 wurde er schliesslich als erster Schweizer überhaupt auf den ETH-Lehrstuhl für Allgemeine Chemie berufen.

Ruzicka war nicht nur ein «Herr der Kohlenstoffringe», auch in der Hormonforschung stand er in den 1930er-Jahren an vorderster Front. So gelang es ihm, die Struktur der männlichen Sexualhormone Androsteron und Testosteron zu bestimmen und er konnte diese wichtigen Botenstoffe auch im Labor synthetisieren. 1939, der Zweite Weltkrieg hatte gerade begonnen, wurde Leopold Ruzicka für seine Leistungen der Nobelpreis für Chemie zugesprochen.