Rolf Zinkernagel
Nobel Prize in Physiology/Medicine 1996

Unmasked Viruses

Rolf Zinkernagel and Peter Doherty discovered how the immune system recognizes cells infected with viruses – and entered new scientific territory.

Rolf Zinkernagel, from Basel, first came to the University of Zurich in 1970 for a continuing education course in experimental medicine. He was one of ten students from the whole of Switzerland selected for this prestigious course. The program offered Zinkernagel, then a young physician, insights into the new and fascinating possibilities of immunological research as well as the opportunity to make important contacts. But at the time he still had no idea that, nine years later, he would return to the University of Zurich as an associate professor.

In the intervening period, Zinkernagel conducted research at the Australian National University in Canberra. Together with Peter Doherty, an Australian veterinarian, he investigated how the immune system of mice responds to a virus that causes meningitis. What they discovered in doing so wrote medical history – and was ultimately rewarded with the 1996 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

Zinkernagel and Doherty discovered how the immune system recognizes body cells that have become infected with viruses. It was immediately clear to both researchers that they had entered new scientific territory. News of the discovery spread very rapidly after publication in the scientific journal Nature. Zinkernagel remained modest, however: “The mix for my subsequent Nobel Prize was 50 percent luck, 49.5 percent hard work and 0.5 percent inspiration.”

In 1979, Zinkernagel returned to Zurich with his family as associate professor of experimental pathology at the University of Zurich; he became a full professor in 1988. At the University Hospital, he and his colleague Hans Hengartner, a professor at both the University and the ETH, established the Institute of Experimental Immunology, which they led together for almost thirty years

Rolf Zinkernagel
Nobelpreis für Physiologie/Medizin 1996

Enttarnte Viren

Rolf Zinkernagel und Peter Doherty fanden heraus, wie das Immunsystem von Viren befallene Körperzellen erkennt und betraten damit wissenschaftliches Neuland.

Der Basler Rolf Zinkernagel kam 1970 erstmals an die Universität Zürich, für einen Weiterbildungskurs in Experimenteller Medizin. Er war einer von zehn Studierenden aus der ganzen Schweiz, die für diesen renommierten Kurs ausgewählt wurden. Der Kurs bot dem jungen Mediziner Einblicke in die neuen, faszinierenden Möglichkeiten immunologischer Forschung und er knüpfte wichtige Kontakte. Noch ahnte er nicht, dass er neun Jahre später als Extraordinarius an die Universität Zürich zurückkehren sollte.

Dazwischen lag Zinkernagels Forschungsaufenthalt an der Australian National University in Canberra, wo er gemeinsam mit dem australischen Veterinärmediziner Peter Doherty erforschte, wie das Immunsystem von Mäusen auf ein Virus reagiert, das Hirnhautentzündung auslöst. Was sie dabei entdeckten, schrieb Medizingeschichte und wurde schliesslich 1996 mit dem Nobelpreis für Physiologie oder Medizin ausgezeichnet.

Zinkernagel und Doherty fanden heraus, auf welche Weise von Viren befallene Körperzellen vom Immunsystem erkannt werden. Beiden Forschern war sofort klar, dass sie damit wissenschaftliches Neuland betreten hatten. Die Entdeckung verbreitete sich durch die Publikation in der Wissenschaftszeitschrift «Nature» in Windeseile. Zinkernagel blieb jedoch bescheiden: «Die Erfolgsmixtur für meinen späteren Nobelpreis war 50 Prozent Glück, 49,5 Prozent Fleiss und 0,5 Prozent Idee.»

1979 kehrte Zinkernagel mit seiner Familie nach Zürich zurück, als Extraordinarius für Experimentelle Immunologie an der Universität Zürich, 1988 wurde er schliesslich zum Ordinarius berufen. Am Universitätsspital baute er zusammen mit Hans Hengartner, der Professor an der Universität und der ETH war, das Institut für Experimentelle Immunologie auf, das sie fast dreissig Jahre lang gemeinsam leiteten.