Vice President Medicine

Prof. Dr. med. Beatrice Beck Schimmer

Prof. Dr. Beatrice Beck Schimmer

Curriculum Vitae

Prof. Dr. Beatrice Beck Schimmer studied human medicine at the University of Bern and gained her habilitation at the University of Zurich in 2003. From 2005 to 2018, she was Chief of Service at the Department of Anesthesiology at the UniversityHospital Zurich. She has been a full professor of anesthesiology since 2009, performing pure, translational as well as clinical research.

Her research areas include organ protection through the application of volatile anesthetics and topics of nanomedicine, and she has secured competitive third-party funding for both of these areas on numerous occasions. From 2012 to 2018, she was a member of the Research Council of the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) and from 2016 onwards President of the specialized committee on careers as well as a member on the SNSF’s Presiding Board. In addition, she held the role of Vice Dean for Academic Career Development and Equal Opportunities at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Zurich from 2017 until mid-2018. Beatrice Beck Schimmer has played an active part in promoting academic career development, particularly when it comes to career planning for women (mentoring program and the Filling the Gap career support program of the Faculty of Medicine).

As Vice President Medicine Zurich , she is in charge of the leadership and management of the Faculty of Medicine together with the dean and deputy dean. She is responsible for the strategic development of university medicine in cooperation with the University of Zurich, ETH Zurich and the University’s hospitals. The goal is to optimally coordinate the three areas of research, teaching and healthcare in Zurich.

Direktorin Universitäre Medizin Zürich

Prof. Dr. med. Beatrice Beck Schimmer

Prof. Dr. Beatrice Beck Schimmer

Curriculum Vitae

Prof. Dr. Beatrice Beck Schimmer studierte Humanmedizin an der Universität Bern und habilitierte im Jahr 2003 an der Universität Zürich. Von 2005 bis 2018 arbeitete sie als Leitende Ärztin am Institut für Anästhesiologie am Universitätsspital Zürich. Seit 2009 ist sie ordentliche Professorin für Anästhesiologie, wo sie in der Grundlagen-, translationalen und in der klinischen Forschung tätig ist.

Ihr Forschungsgebiet umfasst einerseits das Thema der Organprotektion über die Anwendung von volatilen Anästhetika, andererseits Gebiete der Nanomedizin. Für beide Forschungsrichtungen hat sie zahlreiche kompetitive Drittmittel eingeholt. Von 2012 bis 2018 war sie Forschungsratsmitglied des Schweizer Nationalfonds (SNF), ab 2016 als Präsidentin des Fachausschusses Karrieren mit Einsitz im Präsidium des SNF. Ebenso nahm sie von 2017 bis Mitte 2018 in der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Zürich die Position als Prodekanin Akademische Nachwuchsförderung und Chancengleichheit ein. Seit 2011 setzt sie sich aktiv für die Nachwuchsförderung ein, vor allem für die Karriereplanung von Frauen (Mentoringprogramm und Laufbahnförderprogramm 'Filling the Gap' der Medizinischen Fakultät).

Als Direktorin Universitäre Medizin Zürich (UMZH) leitet sie zusammen mit dem Dekan und stv. Dekan die Medizinische Fakultät. Sie ist verantwortlich für die strategische Weiterentwicklung der Universitären Medizin im Verbund von Universität, ETH und den vier universitären Spitälern. Ziel ist die optimale Koordination der Tripartität von Forschung, Lehre und Versorgung am Standort Zürich.