Board of the University

The Board of the University is the highest governing body of the University. The Board is responsible for strategic decisions and the direct oversight of the University. (University Act (in German)  § 29)

Silvia Steiner, President

Silvia Steiner

"The University of Zurich is a beacon in national and international higher education, and our canton can be proud of the University’s practiced excellence. As President of the Board of the University and as Minister of Education, I am committed to further strengthening Zurich as a place of higher learning. Research and scholarship provide the foundation for innovation. Or, phrased differently: Our society and economy rely on impulses from universities in order to develop positively and to find the best answers to today’s pressing questions."
CV

Peter E. Bodmer

Peter E. Bodmer

“In the age of digitalization – where almost all knowledge is available online – it is all the more important that we promote ‘out-of-the-box thinking’ and interdisciplinary cooperation to not only maintain but increase the Zurich economic region’s innovative power and the international edge that comes with it.

My vision for the University of Zurich is for it to help shape a space of interconnected knowledge. A space where transdisciplinary work lets borders blur. A space where people come together and ideas thrive. The focus should always be on the matter that is being analyzed and investigated, never on external claims – wherever or whomever they may come from. This is what I’m committed to.”
CV

Beat Hotz-Hart

Beat Hotz-Hart

"The University of Zurich’s political autonomy allows it to achieve excellence in research-based teaching as well as in research and the transfer of knowledge – and thus to maintain its position as an internationally leading university. The University motivates its students, PhD candidates, and staff to think and act responsibly and critically, while giving them space to develop creative solutions. In addition, the University contributes to mastering pressing social challenges, to improving the quality of life, and to safeguarding our natural resources. As such, UZH contributes positively to the development of the greater Zurich area and fulfills its responsibility in strengthening society and the economy in Switzerland."
CV

Ulrich Jakob Looser

Ulrich Jakob Looser

"The University of Zurich with its international reputation for excellence in research and teaching makes a major contribution to enhancing Switzerland’s appeal as a place to live and work. UZH can rely on its strengths in research and teaching; in accordance with its organizational structure, the University takes advantage of creative freedoms to work toward the future, heightening the University of Zurich’s standing in global competition as a top institution for researchers, teachers and students."
CV

Antonio Loprieno

Antonio Loprieno

"Switzerland’s higher education institutions are typologically and content-wise more diverse than those of its neighboring countries, yet they are also more coherent in terms of academics and the programs offered. The University of Zurich plays a pioneering role in this landscape because it has the most diverse range of studies in the whole of Switzerland, but also due to its internationally leading position in numerous areas of research. As such, the Board of the University is confronted with a dual challenge: Our overarching aim is to ensure the outstanding quality of scholarship at the University of Zurich, thus contributing to the international reputation of Switzerland’s higher education system on the whole."
CV

Petra S. Hüppi

Petra S. Hüppi

“Education, knowledge transfer and research in medicine are the cornerstone of all medical care. Without these activities, we would not be able to meet the needs of a society that is constantly developing. The role of a university is to ensure the availability of specialist knowledge about health and diseases. In many areas of medicine, the underlying scientific principles are incomplete, and it is paramount that we investigate them. With the University Medicine Zurich initiative, the University of Zurich has built an environment that focuses on innovation and cooperation in the medical arena. It has thus created an unprecedented education and research cluster of excellence in the life sciences.”
CV

Urs Oberholzer

Urs Oberholzer

"Being involved in the development of one of the best educational institutions is a fascinating task. I see one of the main challenges in optimizing the conditions for top performance while keeping regulatory provisions at a minimum. This includes protecting researchers, instructors, and students from politically or economically induced reprobation. Scholars and researchers at UZH must be able to pursue their passion without constraint, to ponder past findings, produce new results, teach future generations – and to relentlessly ask questions. Only when we free ourselves from the myth of irrevocable facts can the never-ending adventure of learning, teaching, and research commence, thus engendering the greatest achievements of the human mind."
CV

Franziska Widmer Müller

Franziska Widmer Müller

“The University of Zurich is one of the largest successful comprehensive universities that carry out exceptional work both on the national and international stage. Its main strength lies in its wide range of programs, at the Bachelor’s, Master’s as well as the PhD level. The seven faculties at UZH also train future teachers, who in turn make sure that their students – thoroughly prepared and equipped with the necessary skills – can dive into their preferred area of study. This recipe for success must continue to be strengthened and promoted for the benefit of Switzerland as a center of first-class education.”
CV

Members without the Right to Vote

Executive Board of the University

  • Prof. Dr. Michael Schaepman, President
  • Prof. Dr. Gabriele Siegert,Vice President Education and Student Affairs
  • Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Stark, Vice President Research
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Schwarzenegger, Vice President Faculty Affairs and Scientific Information
  • Prof. Dr. Beatrice Beck Schimmer, Vice President Medicine
  • Dipl. Ing. Stefan Schnyder, Director of Finances and Human Resources
  • Dipl. Bauing. François Chapuis, Director of Real Estate and Facility Management

Representatives of the Professorial Staff

  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Clauss
  • Dep. Prof. Dr. Ulrich Eigler

Representative of the Students

Polina Pokrovskaya

Representative of the Junior Researchers

Fanny Georgi

Representative of the Senior Researchers and Teaching Staff

Prof. Dr. Caroline Maake

Representative of the Administrative and Technical Staff

Laura Beccarelli

Representative of the Department of Health

Dr. iur. Christian Schuhmacher, Deputy Secretary General of the Department of Health

Representative of the Hospital Advisory Board USZ

Martin Waser, Chair of the Hospital Advisory Board USZ

Universitätsrat

Der Universitätsrat ist das oberste Organ der Universität. Er ist für strategische Festlegungen zuständig und übt die unmittelbare Aufsicht über die Universität aus. (Universitätsgesetz  § 29)

Silvia Steiner, Präsidentin

Silvia Steiner

«Die Universität Zürich ist ein Leuchtturm in der nationalen und internationalen Hochschullandschaft, auf den unser Kanton stolz sein kann. Als Präsidentin des Universitätsrats und Bildungsdirektorin setze ich mich dafür ein, den Hochschulstandort Zürich weiter zu stärken. Forschung und Wissenschaft bilden die Grundlage für Innovationen. Oder anders gesagt: Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft sind auf die Impulse der Hochschulen angewiesen, um sich weiter zu entwickeln und auf neue Fragen zeitgemässe Antworten zu finden.»
Kurzportrait

Peter E. Bodmer

Peter Bodmer

«Im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung - wo fast alles Wissen online zur Verfügung steht – ist die Förderung von «kritischen Querdenkern» und interdisziplinären Kooperationen umso wichtiger damit die Innovationskraft des Wirtschaftsraums Zürichs und der damit verbundene internationale Standortvorteil nicht nur beibehalten sondern ausgebaut werden kann.

Meine Vision für die Universität Zürich ist es, ein Ort des vernetzten Wissens mitzugestalten. Ein Ort wo Grenzen durch transdisziplinäres Arbeiten verschwimmen. Ein Ort der Begegnung und Migration von Menschen und Gedanken. Dabei geht es immer um die Sache, die reflektiert und weiter durchdrungen werden soll. Nie um externe Ansprüche, von wem oder von wo sie auch immer kommen mögen. Für das möchte ich mich einsetzen.»

Kurzportrait

Beat Hotz-Hart

Beat Hotz-Hart

«Die Universität nutzt die ihr gewährte Autonomie für forschungsbasierte Lehre, Forschung und Wissenstransfer von höchster Qualität und behauptet sich durch ihre Exzellenz im internationalen Hochschul-Wettbewerb. Sie motiviert ihre Studierenden, Doktorierenden und Mitarbeitenden zu eigenverantwortlichem und selbstkritischem Denken und Handeln und gewährt Freiräume für kreative Arbeiten. Sie trägt zur Bewältigung drängender gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen, zur Steigerung der Lebensqualität und den langfristigen Erhalt unserer Lebensgrundlagen bei. Damit nimmt sie ihre Mitverantwortung zur Stärkung von Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft am Standort Schweiz wahr und strahlt positiv auf den Grossraum Zürich aus.»

Kurzportrait

Petra S. Hüppi

Petra Hueppi

«Ausbildung, Wissensvermittlung und Forschung in Medizin stellen die Basis für jede medizinische Versorgung ohne dies die Medizin den Ansprüchen der sich ständig entwickelnden menschlichen Gesellschaft nicht mehr gerecht würde. Es ist die Aufgabe der Universität den Zugang zu qualifizierten Informationen („Wissen“) über Gesundheit und Krankheit sicherzustellen. In vielen Bereichen der Medizin sind die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen unvollständig; ihre Erforschung ist dringend. Die Universität Zürich hat mit der Universitären Medizin ein Umfeld geschaffen, das Innovation und Zusammenarbeit im Bereich Medizin ins Zentrum stellt. Sie schafft damit in Ausbildung und Forschung eine nie dagewesene Ballung von Excellenz in Life science.»

Kurzportrait

Ulrich Jakob Looser

Ulrich Jakob Looser

«Die Universität Zürich leistet durch ihre internationale Ausstrahlung dank anerkannter Exzellenz in Forschung und Lehre einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Stärkung des Lebens- und Wirtschafts-Raums Schweiz. Sie vertraut auf ihre Stärken in Forschung und Lehre und schöpft im Rahmen ihrer Autonomie ihre gestalterischen Freiräume zukunftsgerichtet aus. Damit ist die Universität Zürich im globalen Wettbewerb eine attraktive Institution für Forschende, Lehrende und Lernende.»

Kurzportrait

Antonio Loprieno

Antonio Loprieno

«Unsere Universitätslandschaft ist einerseits inhaltlich und typologisch vielfältiger, andererseits wissenschaftlich und programmatisch kohärenter als jene unserer Nachbarländer. Im schweizerischen akademischen Geflecht spielt die Universität Zürich eine wegweisende Rolle, weil sie über das breiteste fachliche Angebot verfügt und in mehreren Forschungsbereichen eine Führungsrolle auf Weltebene übernimmt. Somit stellt der Dienst im Universitätsrat eine doppelte Herausforderung dar: Man will sein Bestes tun, um zur Sicherung der ausserordentlichen wissenschaftlichen Qualität der Universität Zürich und dadurch auch zur globalen Stellung der schweizerischen Hochschulwesens insgesamt beizutragen.»
Kurzportrait

Urs Oberholzer

Urs Oberholzer

«Es ist eine faszinierende Aufgabe, in die Entwicklung eines der besten Bildungsinstitute involviert zu sein. Eine der zentralen Herausforderungen sehe ich darin, mit einem Minimum an regulatorischen Eingriffen die Rahmenbedingungen für Spitzenleistungen zu optimieren. Dazu gehört auch, den Forschenden, Lehrenden und Lernenden den Rücken frei zu halten von politisch oder ökonomisch induzierten Verwerfungen. Sie sollen möglichst unbelastet ihre Leidenschaft leben können, Erkenntnisse aufzunehmen, neue zu generieren, weiterzugeben und immer wieder schonungslos zu hinterfragen. Erst wenn wir uns verabschieden vom Mythos des ein für allemal gesicherten Wissens entstehen aus dem nie endenden Abenteuer von Studium, Lehre und Forschung die grössten Leistungen des menschlichen Geistes.»
Kurzportrait

Franziska Widmer Müller

Urs Oberholzer

«Die Universität gehört zu den grossen erfolgreichen Volluniversitäten, die sowohl national wie international Aussergewöhnliches leisten. Ihre Stärke liegt massgeblich in der Vielfalt ihres Angebots sowohl auf Bachelor- wie auf Master- und Doktorandenstufe. Ihre sieben Fakultäten bilden zudem auch die künftigen Gymnasiallehrpersonen aus, die wiederum dafür sorgen, dass die Studierenden - optimal vorbereitet und mit den erforderlichen Kompetenzen ausgestattet - ihre Wunschstudienrichtung in Angriff nehmen können. Dieses Erfolgsrezept gilt es weiterhin zu stärken und für den Bildungsstandort Schweiz gewinnbringend zu fördern.»

Kurzportrait

Mitglieder ohne Stimmrecht

Mitglieder der Universitätsleitung

  • Prof. Dr. Michael O. Hengartner, Rektor
  • Prof. Dr. Gabriele Siegert, Vize-Rektorin und Prorektorin Lehre und Studium
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Schaepman, Prorektor Forschung
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Schwarzenegger, Prorektor Professuren und wissenschaftliche Information
  • Prof. Dr. Beatrice Beck Schimmer, Direktorin Universitäre Medizin
  • Dipl. Ing. Stefan Schnyder, Direktor Finanzen und Personal
  • Dipl. Bauing. François Chapuis, Direktor Immobilien und Betrieb

Vertretung Professorenschaft

  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Clauss
  • Stv. Prof. Dr. Ulrich Eigler

Vertretung Privatdozierende

Prof. Dr. Caroline Maake

Vertretung Mittelbau

lic. phil. Georg Winterberger

Vertretung Studierende

Luisa Lichtenberger

Vertretung Gesundheitsdirektion

lic. iur Martin Brunnschweiler, Generalsekretär Gesundheitsdirektion

Vertretung Spitalrat USZ

Martin Waser, Präsident des Spitalrats USZ