Navigation auf



News 2020


  • Congratulations to Alison Mitchell

    Alison Mitchell was awarded the HESS prize for numerous contributions to the H.E.S.S. experiment, on both technical and scientific aspects.


  • Laura Baudis

    Laura Baudis - Breaking the Wall with Dark Matter

    Laura Baudis is a finalist  for the Falling Walls Science Breakthroughs of the Year of the Berlin Science festival.

  • Highly Cited Scientists 2020

    Laura Baudis und Titus Neupert sind auf der Liste der Highly Cited Scientists 2020 - ihre Publikationen gehören zu den 1% mit den meisten Zitierungen im jeweiligen Forschungsgebiet in the Web of Science™. Herzlichen Glückwunsch!

  • In Memoriam: Prof. Dr. Günter Scharf, Emeritierter Professor für theoretische Physik

    Verstorben am 16. August 2020 im 82sten Lebensjahr

    Günter Robert Scharf war von 1970 bis 2006 ordentlicher Professor für theoretische Physik an der Universität Zürich. Insbesondere war er eine Kapazität der mathematischen Physik.

  • Tetraquark

    LHCb discovers a new type of tetraquark

    The LHCb collaboration has observed a type of four-quark particle never seen before. It is the  first observation of a so called tetraquark with four heavy quarks of the same type, specifically two charm quarks and two charm antiquarks


    Überraschendes Signal im XENON1T Detektor

    Daten von XENON1T (mit der Forschungsgruppe von Laura Baudis)  zeigen einen überraschenden Signalüberschuss.

  • Carlos

    Congratulations to Carlos Abellan Beteta

    Carlos Abellan Beteta (Group Nico Serra) was awarded the LHCb Early Career Scientist Award for his leading contributions to the Upstream Tracker project.


  • Natterer

    New Publication Group Natterer

    Lessons from a traveling salesperson improve scanning tunneling microscopy

  • Annual Report

    SPG Thesis Award for Frank Schindler

    Congratulations to Frank Schindler who is awarded the SPG thesis price 2020 for his work on "Higher-order topological insulators"


  • ML Workshop

    Machine Learning Workshop, postponed

    The workshop aims at showcasing the work of researchers at the University of Zürich that intend to use Machine Learning (ML) to enhance results of their research, while also providing a hands-on session as an example of how advanced ML tools are practically used.

  • Annual Report

    Jahresbericht 2019

    Der Jahresbericht 2019 ist veröffentlicht:

  • LHCb

    LHCb: new angular analysis confirms old puzzle

    The LHCb collaboration presented in a CERN seminar the update of a full angular analysis of the B0→K*μμ decay. The tension previously seen between the LHCb results and the Standard Model predictions persists.

  • Chang

    Two-flavor superconductivity

    Members of group Chang have provided new insight into the intricate competing relationship between charge density waves and high-temperature superconductivity in the cuprates.

  • PT

    Peter Truöl, emeritierter Professor für Elementarteilchenphysik, ist verstorben

    Wir trauern um unseren Kollegen, Freund und Mentor Peter Truöl, der am 22. März nach kurzer schwerer Krankheit im Alter von 80 Jahren verstorben ist.

    Peter Truöl war von 1971-2006 Professor für Elementarteilchenphysik am Physik-Institut und initierte hier den Übergang der experimentellen Forschung von der Mittelenergie- zur Hochenergiephysik. Mit seiner Arbeitsgruppe beteiligte er sich an Experimenten am PSI, DESY und CERN aber auch in Berkeley, Los Alamos, Brookhaven.

  • Open Day

    Gewinner des Posterpreises 2019

    Claudia Cornella, Julie Pagès (Gruppe Isidori)
    Lisa Grad, Mart Taskin, Roberta Totani, Jan Beckord (Gruppe Osterwalder )
    Frederic Girard (Gruppe Baudis)