Bachelor's Degree Program in Medicine for Prospective Students

Restrictions on admission apply for all degree programs in medicine (human medicine, chiropractic, dentistry, and veterinary medicine). All students have to apply for a place (see pre-registration with swissuniversities) and fulfill all other admission requirements of the University of Zurich (UZH). Please note that the language of instruction is German.

Pre-registration with swissuniversities

To apply for a place to study medicine, prospective students must pre-register with swissuniversities. All information concerning the procedure is published on the website of swissuniversities (in German and French only). The UZH Admissions Office will also contact first-year students with foreign qualifications after pre-registration and inform them about the next steps.

The following schedule and deadlines apply:

  • Pre-registration with swissuniversities: 15 February (online and by registered letter, date of postmark)
  • In April: Dispatch of the registration documents and information on the aptitude test by swissuniversities
  • 23 May 2017: swissuniversities deadline for registration for the aptitude test (by paying the test fee) and applications for change of discipline, change of university with admission restrictions and change of track
  • 7 July 2017: Date of aptitude test for academic year 2017/2018

Late pre-registrations and applications for change of discipline (e.g. dentistry to human medicine), change to another university with admission restrition and change of track (i.g. Lucerne track to St. Gallen track) will not be considered. If the test fee is not paid on due date, candidates cannot attend the test.

Information on the Test Result and Acceptance of the Place

Based on the results of the aptitude test, swissuniversities will allocate the places to each discipline and each university according to the number of places available. Students may therefore be placed in an other Swiss university or to another track. At the beginning of August we will inform the applicants who applied for a place at UZH on the test results. Successfull candidates have to accept the place in writing within 10 days after receiving the information, otherwise the place will be reallocated.

Alternative Degree Program

At the time the results of the aptitude test are announced, an application for an alternative degree program is not possible anymore. We therefore recommend prospective students to apply for another degree program at UZH within the standard application period. Enrolled UZH students must enroll for the semester in their current degree program.

Bachelorstudium Medizin für Studienanfängerinnen und -anfänger

Für alle medizinischen Studiengänge (Humanmedizin, Chiropraktik, Zahnmedizin und Veterinärmedizin) gelten Zulassungsbeschränkungen.

Studieninteressierte müssen sich um einen Studienplatz bewerben (s. Voranmeldung bei swissuniversities) und auch alle weiteren Zulassungsvoraussetzungen der Universität Zürich erfüllen.

Voranmeldung bei swissuniversities

Die Studienplatzvergabe erfolgt über swissuniversities. Auf der Homepage von swissuniversities sind die Details zum Verfahren beschrieben. Studieninteressierte mit ausländischer Vorbildung werden zudem nach der Voranmeldung bei swissuniversities von der Zulassungsstelle der Universität zum weiteren Vorgehen direkt kontaktiert.

Es gilt der folgende Zeitplan mit den aufgeführten Fristen:

  • Voranmeldefrist bei swissuniversities: 15. Februar (online und per Einschreiben, Datum des Poststempels)
  • Im April: Versand der Anmeldeunterlagen und Informationen zum Eignungstest durch swissuniversities
  • 23. Mai 2017: Frist bei swissuniversities für Anmeldung zum Eignungstest (durch Zahlung der Testgebühr) und Antrag auf Disziplinenwechsel, Wechsel zwischen Universitäten mit Zulassungsbeschränkung und Wechsel der Tracks
  • 7. Juli 2017: Datum des Eignungstests für das Studienjahr 2017/18

Nicht fristgerecht eingereichte Voranmeldungen und Anträge auf Disziplinenwechsel (z.B. von Zahnmedizin zu Humanmedizin), Wechsel zu einer anderen Universität mit Zulassungsbeschränkung und Wechsel des Tracks  (z.B. Luzerner Track zu St. Galler Track) können nicht berücksichtigt werden. Wer die Testgebühr nicht fristgerecht bezahlt, kann nicht am Eignungstest teilnehmen.

Bekanntgabe des Testresultats und Annahme des Studienplatzes

Aufgrund des am Eignungstest erzielten Testergebnisses werden die Studienplätze von swissuniversities pro Disziplin gemäss den zur Verfügung stehenden Plätzen auf die Universitäten und Tracks verteilt. Es kann deshalb sein, dass Umleitungen an andere Universitäten und auf andere Tracks erfolgen. Anfang August informieren wir die Bewerberinnen und Bewerber, die sich für ein Studium an der UZH beworben haben, über das Testresultat. Erfolgreiche Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten müssen der UZH innert 10 Tagen schriftlich mitteilen, ob sie den Studienplatz annehmen, sonst wird der Platz neu zugeteilt.

Alternativstudium

Nach Bekanntgabe der Eignungstestresultate Anfang August ist leider keine Anmeldung für ein Alternativstudium mehr möglich. Wir empfehlen deshalb Studieninteressierten, zusätzlich zur Voranmeldung bei swissuniversities eine Bewerbung für einen anderen Studiengang bei der Universität Zürich einzureichen.

Beachten Sie die Bewerbungsfristen.

Bereits immatrikulierte Studierende nehmen die  Semestereinschreibung im bisherigen Studiengang vor.