Online Application and Admission

Applications can only be submitted online via the UZH Application Portal.For registrations to incoming mobility within Switzerland please use the links on the following page: Registration Mobility within Switzerland: Incoming

Please note the application periods. At the Bachelor's level, only certain degree programs allow you to start your studies in the spring semester.

On submission of an application you must pay an application fee of CHF 100.00, or CHF 400.00 in the case of a late application for a Bachelor's degree program (only possible if you have a Swiss university entrance qualification). The application fee will not be refunded or credited.

Only applications submitted by the deadline will be processed.

How to Prepare for and Proceed with an Online Application

The application process consists of eight steps:

1. Find out about admission requirements and select study programs

Find out about the UZH degree programs offered and the admission requirements. Put together your study program before you start to fill out the online application form.

Language of instruction

Also find out what the language of instruction is for your chosen study programs. If the language of instruction is not your first or main language, you may have to provide proof of adequate knowledge of the language of instruction. If you do not have proof at the time you apply, you can submit it at a later date (see Point 8).

Medicine

You can only apply for medical studies starting in the Fall Semester. Please note the restrictions on admission and the deadline for pre-registration for the aptitude test for the Bachelor's study program. If you're applying for the Bachelor's degree program in medicine, you can simultaneously apply online for an alternative Bachelor's degree program. In this case you must also pay the admission fee for the alternative degree program.

2. Prepare information and documentation

When you fill out the online application form you'll be asked to provide information on your educational background (upper secondary school, higher education institutions, etc.) and personal data, and to upload the documents necessary for your application to be assessed.

You'll find lists of the documents to be uploaded on the right. Certificates, proof of qualifications, etc., that you don't have at this point can be submitted later on (see Point 8).

Among other things, please have the following information and documents ready:

  • Information on your educational background; diplomas and certificates
  • Information on your place of residence at the time your upper secondary school-leaving certificate or university entry qualification was issued
  • Your AHV number if available (compulsory for applicants with a Swiss educational background)
  • Signed Declaration of Consent (PDF, 100 KB)
  • Officially certified translations of all documents that are not in German, English, French, or Italian (does not apply to applications for Bachelor's degree programs on the basis of a Swiss entry qualification)

3. Set up and activate user account

Open a user account in the Application Portal. You will immediately receive an e-mail from Student Services with a link to activate your account and your username. If you don't receive an e-mail, please check your spam folder.

Make sure you'll be reachable at the specified e-mail address during the entire admissions process, and keep a safe record of the username you have been sent. It cannot be changed.

Once you've activated your user account, you can log in and start filling out the online application form anytime.

Your user account can also be used for any subsequent applications.

4. Complete online application form and upload documents

You can apply via the online form as soon as the application period for the desired degree program has begun.

The application form is divided into several sections that you can work on independently of each other.

The first step is to choose your course of study. After that you can break off filling out the form any time, and continue later, provided you do so before the application deadline. All you have to do is save the information you've entered by clicking Save and Back at the bottom of the page, and then log in again another time with your username and password.

Please note that the information you have entered will never be saved automatically; to save it you need to click Save and Back (or the Continue button where you select the course of study).

The info buttons to the right of the input fields will give you more information on filling out the form.

Tips on filling out the form and uploading documents

  • Qualification for selected academic level:

Please specify whether you gained your university entry qualification at a school in Switzerland or abroad.

  • Study programs:

The degree programs that are displayed depend on the level or type of study and the faculty selected. The study programs, on the other hand, depend on the degree program selected and the type of program (e.g. major 90, etc.). If the study program of your choice is not shown, you may have to change the degree program or type of program.

  • Uploading documents:

Please do not use special characters in the document names (e.g. ä, ö, ü).

Details of major and minor study programs, doctoral programs, etc., are available at: www.degrees.uzh.ch

5. Pay application fee online and submit application

Once you've entered all the information and uploaded the relevant documents, please submit your application. To do so, please click Save and Pay. You will be taken to the payment page. You can no longer make any changes.

You must send your application by 12 midnight of the last day of the application period at the latest.

You can pay your application fee by Visa, Mastercard, or PostFinance Card.

You will be sent a confirmation by e-mail once UZH has received your application.

6. Check payment status

Please check your payment status in the Application Portal. If the payment for the application fee did not go through, please try again. Your application will only be processed once your payment has gone through.

You can check the information you have entered in the Application Portal (using the Preview button) and print out a summary if required.

7. Hand in any rejected or missing documents at a later date

If your application is incomplete or the files you have submitted do not meet the requisite quality standards, you will be sent (via application portal) a written request to supply the relevant information or files. Please upload these documents via the Application Portal.

8. Submit outstanding certificates/matriculate in person at UZH

Applicants with a Swiss educational background who have already been matriculated at a Swiss university or university of applied sciences can go through the whole application process online, provided all the necessary qualifications and certificates are available at the time they make their online application.

For all other applicants, the following guidelines on submitting certificates and matriculating in person apply.

Please also note the detailed information on the procedure and deadline contained in the letter you receive after your online application has been reviewed by the relevant unit at Student Services.

a). Application with a Swiss university entrance qualification, Bachelor's degree program

If certificates are missing because you have not yet done the relevant exams, you must supply the relevant documents (university entrance qualification, confirmation of withdrawal from university, university certificates) at a later date via the Applicant Portal in accordance with the information provided in the letter mentioned above.

If this is your first matriculation at a Swiss higher education institution, in addition to the copy of your university entrance qualification that you upload online, please submit the original (e.g. Swiss Matura, vocational school-leaving certificate with "Passarelle," an entrance examination certificate, or university of applied science diploma) by mail or at the Student Administration Office counter. Please also note the information provided in the letter mentioned above.

b). Application with a Swiss qualification, Master's or Doctoral degree program or the program for the teaching diploma for upper secondary education

If you cannot provide a diploma because you have not yet completed all exams, you must submit the originals of the relevant documents (university transcripts, confirmation of withdrawal from the university) at a later date by mail or at the desk of the Admissions Office. Please note the information provided in your admission letter.

Proof of competence in language of instruction:

If you have to subsequently provide a language certificate, this can be submitted along with your original documents. Please note the information in your admission letter and on the relevant web page.

c). Application with a foreign qualification, all degree programs:

You have to matriculate in person at the Admissions Office counter. Here you must present original versions of the relevant documents (upper secondary school-leaving certificate, university certificates, etc.). Please note the information on the procedure and deadline in your admission letter.

Proof of competence in language of instruction:

If a language certificate is required, you can hand over the original when you matriculate in person. Please note the information in your admission letter and on the relevant web page.

You can withdraw your application via the Application Portal at any time until admission to study is granted. If you withdraw your application, your application fee will not be refunded.

You can view the processing status of your application at any time in the Application Portal. Once you've submitted your application, the time it takes to process it can vary, and it may take as long as three months.

Messages and documents from UZH relating to your application and admission (with the exception of proof-of-matriculation vouchers) will be posted on the Application Portal for you to download. In each case you will be notified by e-mail.

Once the review of your application is complete, UZH will send you a letter of admission or rejection.

Paying Semester Fees, Issuing of UZH Card, Login Data for Online Services

Your invoice for the semester fees for your first semester will be made available for download on the Application Portal once you have been admitted; if you are a foreign applicant, the invoice will be made available once you have matriculated in person.

Once payment of your semester fee has been received and booked, you will be provided with the following documents issued by UZH:

The UZH Card and proof-of-matriculation vouchers will be sent to you separately by regular mail.

Please note that you can only book modules online once you have paid your semester fees and received your login data for online services.

Please check your UZH e-mail account regularly. Once you have received login data for your UZH e-mail account, the University will send e-mail messages only to your UZH e-mail account.

Matriculation becomes legally valid after payment of the semester fees has been received.

If you fail to pay your semester fees by the deadline, you will be removed from the list of students. In this case you will have to repeat the application process if you wish to apply to UZH at a later date.

Onlinebewerbung und Zulassung

Bewerbungen können ausschliesslich online über das Bewerbungsportal der UZH vorgenommen werden. Für Anmeldungen zur Incoming-Mobilität Schweiz benützen Sie bitte die Links auf der folgende Seite: Anmeldung Mobilität Schweiz: Incoming

Beachten Sie bitte die Bewerbungsfristen. Achtung: Auf Bachelorstufe ist ein Studienbeginn im Frühjahrssemester nur in ausgewählten Studienprogrammen möglich.

Das Einreichen einer Bewerbung verpflichtet Sie zur Bezahlung der Anmeldegebühr von CHF 100.00, resp. CHF 400.00 bei einer verspäteten Bewerbung auf einen Bachelorstudiengang (nur mit Schweizer Vorbildung möglich). Die Anmeldegebühr wird weder zurückerstattet noch angerechnet.

Nur fristgerecht eingereichte Bewerbungen werden bearbeitet.

Vorbereitung und Vorgehen Onlinebewerbung

Der Bewerbungsprozess besteht aus den folgenden acht Schritten:

1. Zulassungsbedingungen klären und Studienprogramme wählen

Informieren Sie sich über das Studienangebot der UZH und über die Zulassungsbedingungen. Stellen Sie sich Ihr Studienprogramm zusammen, bevor Sie mit dem Ausfüllen des Online-Bewerbungsformulars beginnen.

Unterrichtssprache

Informieren Sie sich auch über die Unterrichtssprache der gewählten Studienprogramme. Wenn Ihre Erst- oder Hauptsprache nicht der Unterrichtssprache entspricht, müssen Sie allenfalls einen Nachweis über ausreichende Kenntnisse der Unterrichtssprache erbringen. Liegt der Nachweis zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung noch nicht vor, kann er nachgereicht  werden (s. Pkt. 8).

Medizin

Sie können sich nur per Herbstsemester auf ein Medizinstudium bewerben. Bitte beachten Sie die Zulassungsbeschränkungen und die Voranmeldefrist für den Eignungstest zum Bachelorstudium. Zusätzlich zum Bachelorstudiengang Medizin können Sie sich online für einen alternativen Bachelor-Studiengang an der UZH bewerben. Die Anmeldegebühr muss auch für den alternativen Studiengang entrichtet werden.

2. Daten und Dokumente vorbereiten

Im Online-Bewerbungsformular werden Sie aufgefordert, Angaben zu Ihrer Vorbildung (Gymnasium, Hochschulen etc.) sowie zu persönlichen Daten zu machen und die für die Prüfung der Bewerbung benötigten Dokumente hochzuladen.

Listen der hochzuladenden Dokumente finden Sie rechts. Zeugnisse und Nachweise, die noch nicht vorliegen, können nachgereicht werden (s. Pkt. 8).

Bitte halten Sie u.a. folgende Daten und Dokumente bereit:

  • Informationen zu Ihrer Vorbildung; Diplome und Zeugnisse
  • Kenntnis Ihres Wohnsitzes zum Zeitpunkt der Ausstellung des Studienberechtigungs-/Gymnasialausweises
  • AHV-Nummer, falls vorhanden (für Bewerbende mit Schweizer Vorbildung zwingend)
  • Unterschriebende Einverständniserklärung (PDF, 100 KB)
  • Amtlich beglaubigte Übersetzungen aller Dokumente, die nicht in Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch oder Italienisch verfasst sind (gilt nicht für Bewerbungen auf Bachelorstudiengänge, mit Schweizer Vorbildung)

3. Benutzerkonto anlegen und aktivieren

Eröffnen Sie ein Benutzerkonto im Bewerbungsportal. Sie erhalten umgehend eine E-Mail der Abteilung Studierende mit dem Link zur Aktivierung des Kontos sowie Ihrem Benutzernamen. Überprüfen Sie bitte Ihren Spam-Ordner, falls Sie keine E-Mail erhalten.

Stellen Sie bitte sicher, dass Sie unter der angegebenen E-Mail-Adresse während des gesamten Zulassungsprozesses erreichbar sind und bewahren Sie den zugestellten Benutzernamen gut auf. Er kann nicht geändert werden.

Nach Aktivieren des Benutzerkontos können Sie sich jederzeit einloggen und mit dem Ausfüllen des Online-Bewerbungsformulars beginnen.

Das Benutzerkonto kann auch für zukünftige Bewerbungen verwendet werden.

4. Bewerbungsformular ausfüllen und Dokumente hochladen

Sobald die Bewerbungsfrist für den gewünschten Studiengang beginnt, können Sie sich über das Onlineformular bewerben.

Das Bewerbungsformular ist in mehrere Abschnitte unterteilt, die unabhängig voneinander bearbeitet werden können.

In einem ersten Schritt treffen Sie Ihre Studienwahl. Danach können Sie das Ausfüllen des Formulars jederzeit unterbrechen und zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt innerhalb der Bewerbungsfrist weiterfahren. Speichern Sie dazu die eingegebenen Daten, indem Sie auf „Speichern und Zurück“ unten an der Seite klicken und melden Sie sich später wieder mit Ihrem Benutzernamen und Passwort an.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die eingegebenen Daten nie automatisch, sondern nur durch Klick auf „Speichern und Zurück“ (resp. den Button „Übernehmen“ bei der Studienwahl) gespeichert werden.

Die Info-Buttons rechts der Eingabefelder liefern zusätzliche Informationen zum Ausfüllen des Formulars.

Hinweise zum Ausfüllen des Formulars und Hochladen der Dokumente

  • Vorbildungausweis:

Bitte geben Sie an, ob Sie den Vorbildungsausweis für Ihr Studium an einer Schweizer oder ausländischen Schule erlangt haben.

  • Studienprogramme:

Die angezeigten Studiengänge sind abhängig von der Wahl der Studienstufe/des Studientyps und der Fakultät. Die Studienprogramme wiederum sind abhängig vom gewählten Studiengang und dem Typ des Programms (z. B. Hauptfach 90 etc.). Steht das gewünschte Studienprogramm nicht zur Auswahl, müssen Sie allenfalls den Studiengang oder den Programmtyp ändern.

  • Hochladen der Dokumente:

Bitte verwenden Sie keine Sonderzeichen in den Dokumentennamen (zb. ä, ö, ü).

Details zu den Haupt- oder Nebenfachprogrammen, Doktoratsprogrammen etc. finden Sie unter: www.degrees.uzh.ch

5. Anmeldegebühr online bezahlen und Bewerbung einreichen

Sobald Sie alle Angaben gemacht und die Dokumente hochgeladen haben, reichen Sie die Bewerbung bitte ein. Klicken Sie dazu unten an der Seite auf „Speichern und Zahlen“. Sie werden zur Bezahlseite weitergeleitet. Änderungen sind nun nicht mehr möglich.

Die Bewerbung muss bis spätestens 23:59 Uhr des letzten Tages der Bewerbungsfrist abgesendet werden.

Sie können die Anmeldegebühr mit Visa, Mastercard oder PostFinance Card bezahlen.

Nach Eingang der Bewerbung bei der UZH erhalten Sie eine Bestätigung per E-Mail.

6. Überprüfen des Bezahlstatus

Bitte überprüfen Sie den Zahlungsstatus im Bewerbungsportal. Falls die Zahlung der Anmeldegebühr nicht erfolgreich war, veranlassen Sie sie bitte erneut. Die Bewerbung wird erst bearbeitet, wenn die Zahlung erfolgreich eingegangen ist.

Ihre Angaben können Sie im Bewerbungsportal überprüfen (Button „Vorschau“) und bei Bedarf eine Zusammenfassung ausdrucken.

7. Nachreichen zurückgewiesener oder fehlender Dokumente

Ist Ihre Bewerbung unvollständig oder sind die eingereichten Dateien qualitativ unzureichend, erhalten Sie im Bewerbungsportal eine schriftliche Aufforderung zur Nachreichung. Bitte laden Sie die Dokumente über das Bewerbungsportal hoch.

8. Einreichen von ausstehenden Zeugnissen / Persönliche Immatrikulation an der UZH

Bewerberinnen und Bewerber mit Schweizer Vorbildung, die bereits an einer Schweizer (Fach-)Hochschule immatrikuliert sind oder waren, können den ganzen Bewerbungsprozess online abwickeln, vorausgesetzt alle nötigen Zeugnisse und Nachweise liegen zum Zeitpunkt der Online-Bewerbung vor.

Für alle anderen Bewerberinnen und Bewerber gelten die nachfolgenden Hinweise zum Einreichen der Zeugnisse/Ausweise bzw. zur persönlichen Immatrikulation.

Beachten Sie auch die detaillierten Angaben zu Vorgehen und Termin im Schreiben, das Sie nach Prüfung Ihrer Onlinebewerbung von der zuständigen Stelle der Abteilung Studierende erhalten.

a). Bewerbung mit Schweizer Vorbildung, Bachelorstudiengang:

Bei fehlenden Zeugnissen/Ausweisen aufgrund ausstehender Prüfungen müssen die Dokumente (Studienberechtigungsausweis, Exmatrikulationsbestätigung, Hochschulzeugnisse) gemäss Angaben im o.e. Schreiben über das Bewerbungsportal nachgereicht werden.

Bei Erstimmatrikulation an einer Schweizer Hochschule reichen Sie bitte zusätzlich zur online hochgeladenen Kopie den Studienberechtigungsausweis im Original (z. B. Maturitätsausweis, Berufmaturitätsausweis mit Passarelle, Zeugnis Aufnahmeprüfung, Fachhochabschluss) per Post oder am Schalter der Kanzlei ein. Beachten Sie dazu ebenfalls die Angaben in o.e. Schreiben.

b). Bewerbung mit Schweizer Vorbildung, Master- oder  Doktoratsstudiengang, oder Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen:

Bei fehlendem Abschluss aufgrund ausstehender Prüfungen müssen die Dokumente (Hochschulzeugnisse, Exmatrikulationsbestätigung) im Original per Post oder am Schalter der Zulassungsstelle nachgereicht werden. Bitte beachten Sie dazu die Angaben im Zulassungsbrief.

Nachweis über ausreichende Kenntnisse der Unterrichtssprache:

Muss ein Sprachdiplom nachgereicht werden, kann dieses zusammen mit den Original-Dokumenten eingereicht werden. Beachten Sie bitte die Angaben im Zulassungsbrief sowie auf der entsprechenden Webseite.

c). Bewerbung mit ausländischer Vorbildung, alle Studiengänge:

Es ist eine persönliche Immatrikulation am Schalter der Zulassungsstelle nötig. Bei dieser Gelegenheit müssen die Original-Dokumente (Gymnasialabschluss, Hochschulzeugnisse etc.) präsentiert werden. Bitte beachten Sie die Angaben zu Vorgehen und Termin im Zulassungsbrief.

Nachweis über ausreichende Kenntnisse der Unterrichtssprache:

Wird ein Sprachdiplom benötigt, kann dieses bei der persönlichen Immatrikulation im Original präsentiert werden. Beachten Sie bitte die Angaben im Zulassungsbrief sowie auf der entsprechenden Webseite.

 

Bis zur Zulassung zum Studium können Sie Ihre Bewerbung über das Bewerbungsportal zurückziehen. Die Anmeldegebühr wird nicht zurückerstattet.

Den Bearbeitungsstatus Ihrer Bewerbung können Sie jederzeit im Bewerbungsportal einsehen. Die Bearbeitungszeit einer vollständig eingegangenen Bewerbung kann variieren und bis zu drei Monate betragen.

Mitteilungen und Dokumente der UZH, die Bewerbung und Zulassung betreffend, werden Ihnen im Bewerbungsportal zum Download zur Verfügung gestellt (ausser Studienbescheinigungen). Sie erhalten jeweils eine Meldung an Ihre E-Mail-Adresse.

Sie erhalten einen Zulassungs- oder Absagebrief der UZH, sobald Ihre Bewerbung abschliessend geprüft worden ist.

Bezahlung der Semestergebühren, Ausstellung der UZH Card, Zugangsdaten zu den Onlinediensten

Nach der Zulassung, resp. bei ausländischen Bewerbenden bei der persönlichen Immatrikulation wird die Rechnung über die Semestergebühren für das erste Semester im Bewerbungsportal zum Download bereitgestellt.

Nach Zahlungseingang und Verbuchung der Semestergebühren werden Ihnen folgende, von der UZH ausgestellten Dokumente zur Verfügung gestellt:

Die UZH Card und die Studienbescheinigungen werden separat in zwei Sendungen per Post versandt.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie Online-Modulbuchungen erst nach Bezahlung der Semestergebühren bzw. Erhalt der Zugangsdaten zu den Onlinediensten vornehmen können.

Bitte konsultieren Sie Ihr UZH E-Mail-Konto regelmässig. Nach Erhalt der Zugangsdaten zu Ihrem UZH E-Mail-Konto werden Mitteilungen, die von der Universität per Mail verschickt werden, ausschliesslich an Ihre UZH E-Mail-Adresse gesandt.

Mit der Bezahlung der Semestergebühren wird die Immatrikulation rechtsgültig.

Werden die Semestergebühren nicht fristgerecht bezahlt, erfolgt die Streichung aus der Liste der Studierenden. Der Bewerbungsprozess muss erneut durchlaufen werden, wenn Sie sich später wieder an der UZH bewerben möchten.