Cotutelle de Thèse

What is a Cotutelle?

Cotutelle de thèse refers to a doctorate in which doctoral students are enrolled at two universities (in Switzerland and abroad). Cotutelle candidates pursue a doctorate according to the respective applicable regulations of both partner universities, but submit only one dissertation for joint assessment. The doctoral students spend a substantial part of their dissertation time at the host university, thereby expanding their personal academic network and engaging deeply with the different research cultures and academic systems. The dissertation project is conducted under the supervision of two dissertation supervisors from both partner universities. There is only one defense in which both participating universities are involved. It is noted on the diploma that the dissertation was developed within the framework of a cotutelle de thèse.

Requirements for a Cotutelle

  • Candidates must already be admitted to at least one of the desired partner universities and fulfill the admission requirements for a doctorate at the second partner university.
  • Doctoral candidates must present sufficient reason based on the content of their thesis as to why two institutions are necessary to complete the doctoral study. The added value compared to a regular co-supervision should be recognizable.
  • The planned research stays at the partner universities must be balanced. The doctoral candidate spends one third or at least 12 months of the doctorate at the partner university, the rest at the home university. The home university is the university where the doctoral candidate first enrolled. 
  • The doctorate was not started (enrollment date) at either university later than 12 months ago.The cooperation agreement can only be concluded in the first year of the doctorate.

Principles

  • UZH is generally open to contracts with recognized foreign universities. However, there is no legal claim to a cotutelle de thèse with the participation of UZH.
  • For each cotutelle, a cooperation agreement is concluded between the two universities, which regulates the modalities of the joint supervision.
  • Doctoral candidates have to comply with the requirements for doctoral studies of both institutions according to their respective regulation in force.
  • Doctoral candidates are generally enrolled at both partner institutions, whereby fees are only paid at one university.
  • A joint examination (defense) takes place at one of the universities. The partner institutions must pay for expenses incurred in connection with the defense (e.g. travel and accommodation); in case of UZH these costs are born by the institute in question.
  • Upon completion, each of the two universities awards the degree of doctor, stating that the degree was awarded following a jointly supervised dissertation.

Cotutelle de Thèse

Was ist eine Cotutelle?

Unter einer Cotutelle de thèse versteht man ein Doktorat, bei dem die Doktorierenden an zwei Universitäten (in der Schweiz und im Ausland) eingeschrieben sind. Die Cotutelle-Doktorierenden promovieren nach den jeweils geltenden Bestimmungen der beiden Partneruniversitäten, reichen aber nur eine Dissertation zur gemeinsamen Beurteilung ein. Die Doktorierenden verbringen einen wesentlichen Teil ihrer Dissertationszeit an der Partneruniversität, wodurch sie ihr persönliches akademisches Netzwerk erweitern und sich intensiv mit den unterschiedlichen Forschungskulturen und akademischen Systemen auseinandersetzen. Das Dissertationsprojekt wird von zwei Betreuungspersonen der beiden Partneruniversitäten betreut. Es gibt nur eine Promotionsprüfung, an der beide Universitäten beteiligt sind. Auf dem Abschlusszeugnis wird vermerkt, dass die Dissertation im Rahmen einer Cotutelle de thèse entstanden ist.

Voraussetzungen für eine Cotutelle

  • Die Doktorierenden müssen bereits an mindestens einer der gewünschten Partneruniversitäten zugelassen sein und an der zweiten Partneruniversität die Zulassungsbedingungen für ein Doktorat erfüllen.
  • Die Doktorierenden müssen hinreichend begründen, warum zwei Institutionen für den Abschluss des Doktoratsstudiums notwendig sind. Der Mehrwert gegenüber einer regulären Ko-Betreuung muss erkennbar sein.
  • Die geplanten Forschungsaufenthalte an den Partneruniversitäten müssen ausgewogen sein. Die Doktorierenden verbringen einen Drittel oder mindestens 12 Monate des Doktorats an der Partneruniversität, den Rest an der Heimatuniversität. Die Heimatuniversität ist die Universität, an der sich die Doktorierenden zuerst eingeschrieben haben. 
  • Der Beginn der Promotion (Datum der Immatrikulation) darf an keiner der beiden Universitäten länger als 12 Monate zurückliegen und die Kooperationsvereinbarung kann nur im ersten Jahr der Promotion abgeschlossen werden.

Grundsätze

  • Die UZH ist grundsätzlich offen für Verträge mit anerkannten ausländischen Universitäten. Es besteht jedoch kein Rechtsanspruch auf eine Cotutelle de thèse mit Beteiligung der UZH.
  • Für jede Cotutelle wird ein Kooperationsvertrag zwischen den beiden Universitäten abgeschlossen, der die Modalitäten der gemeinsamen Betreuung regelt.
  • Die Doktorierenden müssen die Vorgaben beider Institutionen gemäss der jeweils geltenden Promotionverordnungen erfüllen.
  • Die Doktoranden sind in der Regel an beiden Partnerinstitutionen immatrikuliert, wobei die Gebühren nur an einer Universität gezahlt werden.
  • Eine gemeinsame Prüfung (Verteidigung) findet an einer der beiden Universitäten statt. Die Partnerinstitutionen müssen für die Kosten der Verteidigung (z.B. Reise und Unterkunft) aufkommen; im Falle der UZH werden diese Kosten vom jeweiligen Institut getragen.
  • Nach Abschluss der Arbeit verleiht jede der beiden Universitäten den Doktortitel mit dem Vermerk, dass der Titel aufgrund einer gemeinsam betreuten Dissertation verliehen wurde.