Admission to the Master’s Program

The University of Zurich offers numerous Master’s degree and study programs. Depending on the faculty and subject area, within a specific degree program you undertake only one study program (a single-major study program), or combine two study programs (one major and one minor study program).

The content of consecutive Master’s study programs builds on the preceding Bachelor’s study program. Specialized Master’s study programs often focus on a special topic, have an interdisciplinary approach, or are run in cooperation with partner universities in Switzerland or abroad. The vast majority of Master’s study programs at the University of Zurich are consecutive.

Besides meeting the formal admission requirements, you must also fulfill the relevant academic admission requirements to be admitted to a Master’s degree program. Once you have submitted a complete application dossier, it generally takes up to three months to check that you meet these requirements.

Application Process
Application Process
Application Process

If you are admitted, you can only start your chosen Master’s program once you have met the relevant language requirements.

Please note that we are unable to conduct individual assessments of qualifications in advance over the telephone, at the counter, or by e-mail, if you have not submitted an application with all of the required application documents.

Formal Admission Requirements

  • Bachelor’s diploma or a degree that is at least equivalent from a state-accredited university.

  • Credits for any transferred coursework must also have been acquired at a state-accredited university.

  • The degree program must last at least three years (of regular full-time study: 180 ECTS credits or equivalent workload).

  • The diploma must be state-accredited (no equivalency certificates or university-internal confirmations of the successful completion of interim sections).

  • The diploma must grant entitlement to undertake a consecutive Master’s program at a state-accredited university in the relevant country.

The Bachelor’s diploma does not necessarily have to be available at the time of application. If you are admitted, it may be submitted at a later date (by 30 September at the latest for admissions for the Fall Semester, by 15 March at the latest for admissions for the Spring Semester).
 
Depending on the study program, admission is also possible with a degree from a university of applied sciences or teacher education, provided that
  • the university in question is accredited by a signatory state to the Lisbon Convention and

  • the Bachelor’s degree was earned with an overall grade of at least 5 (unrounded) in accordance with the Swiss grading system or an equivalent overall grade in accordance with a foreign grading system as per the conversion formula.

Academic Admission Requirements

  • You must fulfill the requirements of the Master’s study program in question; in other words, you must have the knowledge and skills required for the Master’s study program. These requirements are set on the basis of the quality, content and scope of, and the level of skills imparted in, one or more Bachelor’s degree programs at the University of Zurich.

  • If these requirements are not fully met, restrictions and/or conditions (in the form of Bachelor’s modules) may be imposed.

  • Conditions must be met in a preparatory phase within the framework of your Master’s studies. In the preparatory phase students cannot book Master’s modules. Additional requirements may be fulfilled during the preparatory phase or in parallel with Master's modules.

  • Admission will not be granted if the coursework to be completed as restrictions and/or conditions for all Master’s study programs of a Master’s degree program comes to more than 60 ECTS credits.

  • Faculties may impose additional requirements for admission to specialized Master’s study programs, for example a minimum overall grade for the Bachelor's degree and/or minimum grades for individual modules, a letter of motivation, or additional qualifications relevant to the studies in question.

  • Admission to a Master’s study program is generally not possible if you have previously completed studies with equivalent academic content.

  • Anyone who has been definitively expelled or barred from one or more study programs at the University of Zurich or another higher education institution is excluded from admission to the study program in question, and all study programs deemed similar by the faculty concerned, at all academic levels.

You will find the relevant requirements on the faculty websites:
Faculty of Theology
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
Faculty of Science

Please note: If restrictions or conditions can no longer be fully met because of failed coursework (failed attempts), or if a deadline imposed at the time of admission is not adhered to, you will be definitively excluded from the Master’s study program in question. Such exclusion results in a ban from the study program in question and for all study programs deemed similar by the faculty at all academic levels.

Language Requirement

The main languages of instruction for Master's study programs are German, English, French, Italian, and Spanish.

Foreign-language applicants must prove that they have the necessary language skills of at least level C1 according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages scale (CEFR) for their chosen study programs.

Evidence of the necessary language skills must be supplied prior to matriculation at the latest, in the form of a language certificate recognized by the University of Zurich, unless the applicant is exempted under the Regulations on Language Requirements from proving their language proficiency. It is advisable to submit the relevant language certificate or certificates with the application.

Important Information on Applying

  • Before you apply, please find out about the application procedure and documents to be submitted. Please be sure to note the application deadlines.

  • As a rule, only one application per person per semester will be assessed. For this reason we would ask you to please decide on one Master’s degree program, including a study program or programs, and submit only one application at a time.

  • Students currently matriculated at Bachelor’s level at the University of Zurich must request a change of degree program to the Master’s degree program under “My Requests” in the student portal and must not submit an application.

  • Those interested in a specialized Master’s program listed below must apply in two stages:

  1. Pre-registration with the department in question:
    Master of Science UZH ETH in Quantitative Finance

    Master’s in History of the Contemporary World/Zeitgeschichte
    Master’s in Wirtschaftsgeschichte
    Specialized Master’s study programs at the Faculty of Science
    Please note the pre-registration deadlines!

  2. Student Services will notify you of the next steps once you have received a provisional confirmation of admission from the department.

  • If you combine a major with a minor study program in your chosen Master’s degree program, it may be that there is a different main language of instruction for each of these two study programs. This means that if you are admitted, you will have to demonstrate adequate language skills in both of these languages (e.g. English as the main language of instruction of the major study program and German as the main language of instruction of the minor study program). You will find a list of study programs by main language of instruction on our language requirements website.

  • Please note that if you choose a minor study program for which you cannot present any previous academic achievements, restrictions totaling 60 ECTS credits may be imposed. If this is the case, any additional restriction for the chosen major study program will lead to your application being rejected (see above under “Academic Admission Requirements”).

  • You will find information on the admission restrictions, admission requirements, and application procedure for a Master’s program in medicine on our website under Master’s level medicine (in German).

Zulassung zum Masterstudium

An der Universität Zürich werden zahlreiche Masterstudiengänge und -programme angeboten. Je nach Fakultät und Fachbereich studieren Sie innerhalb eines bestimmten Studiengangs ein einziges Studienprogramm (Mono-Studienprogramm) oder kombinieren zwei Studienprogramme (ein Major- und ein Minor-Studienprogramm).

Konsekutive Masterstudienprogramme bauen inhaltlich auf einem vorangehenden Bachelorstudium auf. Spezialisierte Masterstudienprogramme fokussieren häufig auf ein Spezialthema, sind interdisziplinär ausgerichtet oder basieren auf Kooperationen mit schweizerischen oder ausländischen Partnerhochschulen. Die grosse Mehrheit der Masterstudienprogramme der Universität Zürich ist konsekutiv.

Die Zulassung zu einem Masterstudiengang setzt neben der Erfüllung der formalen Zulassungsvoraussetzungen die Erfüllung der fachwissenschaftlichen Zulassungsvoraussetzungen voraus. Die Prüfung dieser Voraussetzungen im Rahmen einer Bewerbung dauert ab Vollständigkeit des Dossiers in der Regel bis zu 3 Monate.

Bewerbungsprozess
Bewerbungsprozess
Bewerbungsprozess

Das gewünschte Masterstudium kann im Falle einer Zulassung zudem nur dann aufgenommen werden, wenn die sprachlichen Anforderungen erfüllt sind.

Formale Zulassungsvoraussetzungen

  • Bachelordiplom oder mind. gleichwertiger Abschluss einer staatlich anerkannten Universität.

  • Allenfalls angerechnete Studienleistungen wurden ebenfalls an einer staatlich anerkannten Universität erworben.

  • Der Studiengang umfasst mindestens drei Jahre (gemäss Regelstudienplan eines Vollzeitstudiums: 180 ECTS Credits oder äquivalenter Arbeitsaufwand).

  • Das Diplom ist staatlich anerkannt (keine Äquivalenzbescheinigungen oder universitätsinterne Bestätigungen über das erfolgreiche Absolvieren von Zwischenabschnitten).

  • Das Diplom berechtigt im betreffenden Staat an einer staatlich anerkannten Universität zum konsekutiven Masterstudium.

Das Bachelordiplom muss zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung noch nicht zwingend vorliegen. Es kann im Falle einer Zulassung nachgereicht werden (bei Zulassungen zum Herbstsemester spätestens bis zum 30. September, bei Zulassungen zum Frühjahrssemester spätestens bis zum 15. März).

Je nach Studienprogramm ist auch eine Zulassung mit einem Abschluss einer Fachhochschule oder Pädagogischen Hochschule möglich, sofern

  • die betreffende Hochschule über eine Anerkennung eines Signatarstaates der Lissabonner Konvention verfügt und

  • mit dem Bachelorabschluss mindestens die Gesamtnote 5 (ungerundet) gemäss dem schweizerischen Notensystem bzw. eine entsprechende Gesamtnote eines ausländischen Notensystems gemäss Umrechnungsformel vorliegt.

Fachwissenschaftliche Zulassungsvoraussetzungen

  • Erfüllung des Anforderungsprofils des jeweiligen Masterstudienprogramms: Das Anforderungsprofil umschreibt die für das Masterstudienprogramm erforderlichen Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten. Es orientiert sich an der Qualität und am Inhalt, Umfang sowie am vermittelten Fähigkeitsniveau eines oder mehrerer Bachelorstudienprogramme der Universität Zürich.

  • Wenn das Anforderungsprofil nicht vollumfänglich erfüllt ist, können Auflagen und/oder Bedingungen (bestehend aus Bachelormodulen) auferlegt werden.

  • Bedingungen sind im Rahmen des Masterstudiums in einer Vorbereitungsphase zu erfüllen. In der Vorbereitungsphase können Studierende keine Mastermodule buchen.

  • Umfassen die für alle Masterstudienprogramme eines Masterstudiengangs als Bedingungen und Auflagen zu erbringenden Studienleistungen mehr als 60 ECTS Credits, wird keine Zulassung erteilt.

  • Für die Zulassung zu spezialisierten Masterstudienprogrammen können die Fakultäten zusätzliche Anforderungen vorsehen wie z.B. eine Mindestgesamtnote des Bachelorabschlusses und/oder Mindestnoten einzelner Module, ein Motivationsschreiben oder studienrelevante Zusatzqualifikationen.

  • Die Zulassung zu einem Masterstudienprogramm ist in der Regel nicht möglich, wenn zuvor ein fachinhaltlich äquivalentes Studium abgeschlossen wurde.

  • Für Personen, die an der UZH oder einer anderen Hochschule von einem oder mehreren Studienprogrammen endgültig abgewiesen bzw. gesperrt wurden, ist eine Zulassung zum betreffenden bzw. zu allen nach Massgabe der jeweiligen Fakultät ähnlichen Studienprogrammen auf allen Studienstufen ausgeschlossen.

Die jeweiligen Anforderungsprofile finden Sie auf den Webseiten der Fakultäten:
Theologische Fakultät
Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät
Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät
Philosophische Fakultät
Mathematisch-naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät

Achtung: Können Auflagen oder Bedingungen wegen nicht bestandener Leistungsnachweise (Fehlversuche) nicht mehr vollständig erfüllt werden oder wird eine mit der Zulassung verfügte Frist nicht eingehalten, erfolgt eine endgültige Abweisung vom jeweiligen Masterstudienprogramm. Eine solche Abweisung bewirkt eine Sperre für das betreffende Studienprogramm sowie für alle nach Massgabe der Fakultät ähnlichen Studienprogramme auf allen Studienstufen.

Sprachliche Anforderungen

Fremdsprachige Bewerberinnen und Bewerber müssen nachweisen, dass Sie für die gewählten Studienprogramme über Sprachkenntnisse auf mindestens Niveau C1 gemäss der Skalierung des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens (GER) verfügen.

Die erforderlichen Sprachkenntnisse müssen spätestens vor der Immatrikulation durch ein von der Universität Zürich anerkanntes Sprachzertifikat nachgewiesen werden. Es wird empfohlen, das Sprachzertifikat bzw. die Sprachzertifikate bereits bei der Bewerbung einzureichen.

Wichtige Hinweise zur Bewerbung

  • Bitte informieren Sie sich vor einer Bewerbung über den Bewerbungsablauf sowie die einzureichenden Unterlagen und bewerben Sie sich über die Onlinebewerbung. Beachten Sie bitte unbedingt die Bewerbungsfristen.

  • Beachten Sie bitte, dass pro Person und Semester in der Regel nur eine Bewerbung geprüft wird. Wir bitten Sie daher, sich für einen Masterstudiengang inkl. Studienprogramm bzw. Studienprogramme zu entscheiden und jeweils nur eine Bewerbung abzusenden.

  • An der Universität Zürich derzeit auf Bachelorstufe immatrikulierte Studierende haben den Studiengangswechsel zum Masterstudium zwingend über «Meine Anträge» im Studierendenportal zu beantragen und keine Bewerbung einzureichen.

  • Bei Studieninteressierten für ein spezialisiertes Masterstudium der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät, der Philosophischen Fakultät und der Mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät erfolgt die Bewerbung in zwei Stufen:

  1. ​​​Voranmeldung beim entsprechenden Institut:
    Master of Science UZH ETH in Quantitative Finance

    Master «History of the Contemporary World/Zeitgeschichte»
    Master «Wirtschaftsgeschichte/Economic History»
    Spezialisierte Masterstudienprogramme der Mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät
    Bitte beachten Sie die Voranmeldefristen!

  2. Wenn Sie im Besitz der provisorischen Aufnahmebestätigung des Instituts sind, werden Sie von der Abteilung Studierende über das weitere Vorgehen informiert.

  • Falls Sie im gewünschten Masterstudiengang ein Major-Studienprogramm mit einem Minor-Studienprogramm kombinieren, kann es vorkommen, dass die Hauptunterrichtssprache dieser beiden Studienprogramme unterschiedlich ist. Im Falle einer Zulassung müssten Sie also ausreichende Sprachkenntnisse in diesen beiden Sprachen nachweisen können (Beispiel: Major-Studienprogramm mit Hauptunterrichtssprache Englisch und Minor-Studienprogramm mit Hauptunterrichtssprache Deutsch). Eine Liste der Studienprogramme nach Hauptunterrichtssprache finden Sie auf unserer Webseite zu den sprachlichen Anforderungen.

  • Informationen über die Zulassungsbeschränkungen, die Zulassungsvoraussetzungen und den Bewerbungsablauf für ein Masterstudium in Medizin finden Sie auf unserer Webseite zum Masterstudium Medizin.